We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and not to crowded” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Baie Rouge

Baie Rouge
French St Maarten, St Maarten-St Martin
Update attraction details
Type: Beaches
Attraction Details
Sault Ste. Marie
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful and not to crowded”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

This was a fun beach on the French side just south of Marigot. Parking is limited but the beach wasn't as busy as some of the other beaches that are closer to the hotels and restaurants. There are a few small restaurants/bbq stands to order food and beverages from. There are chairs and umbrella's available for rent for $15/pair. The sand is a coarse, coral sand and the waves can get pretty big.. It was fun to body surf as the big waves came in.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    59
    21
    10
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Burke, Virginia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
“Very nice beach, but”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

My wife and I visited eight beaches in seven days on St. Martin. The reason we went to eight instead of seven was our visit to Baie Rouge. When we got to the parking lot for Baie Rouge, we looked for a place to change into bathing suits. The only place was an outhouse that was more than a bit grungy. I am not picky, but this wasn't to our liking. Also, if you are going to stay at a beach for a day, it is good to have a reasonable restroom to visit.

We did look around the beach before we left. You can read the rest of the reviews for Baie Rouge. The beach is truly beautiful. It is small, but that can be a plus. At the time we were there, there was renovation to the places to eat, and as others pointed out, the chairs and umbrellas being rented were the worst on the island.

A really interesting point about Baie Rouge is that it is in the island's richest neighborhood, Terres Basses, which has houses, or rather estates costing in the many tens of millions. However, they are all gated, and you can't see them from the streets. However, by taking a short walk on the beach, you can see a few of them. This is the unique thing about the beach at Baie Rouge.

There are many things that need fixing on St. Martin. The streets and roads need street signs so you can tell where you are on the map. The massive pot holes are everywhere and they need to be filled. The island's vast population of poor folks offer a way to get this done rather inexpensively. Signs need to be erected on the exits from each of the many roundabouts to let you know where each is leading to. And the facilities on Baie Rouge need to be brought up to minimal standards. To find that Baie Rouge, which exists in the richest neighborhood on St. Martin, has such poor facilities was a real surprise. However, the fact that it is beautiful, and small, and not so crowded, still render it worth visiting. Just wear your bathing suit to the beach, or be willing to change into it in your car.

Please note that this review is not a complaint. It is a comment. We thoroughly enjoyed our week on the island, and we are looking forward to returning. Putting up with some easily fixable negative aspects of the island is not a reason to stay away.

By the way, you need a rental car if you really want to see the island in a week. But as others have pointed out, some of the rental car agencies are problematic. This has been written about quite often. They point out small scratches or other things which you didn't think were big enough to note on when you did your inspection of the car. When this happens, there is really no way out. You need to get to the airport, so you just pay it, and you learn a lesson. Luckily, there is a way to avoid this. Check into the rental agencies ahead of time. We rented from Hertz. There were no problems with our rental at Hertz. I figure that I may have paid a bit more for a relatively nice car from a reputable organization than by renting a "Rent A Wreck" from a LOLO, but it was money well spent.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York, United States
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Serene, beautiful beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

A long sandy, gorgeous beach with calm aqua water. There are two beach bars and a lolo at the beach and chairs and umbrellas for rent. For the more adventurous, wander farther down the beach for areas where nude and topless sunbathing is acceptable. A long walk down the beach allows you to see the waterfront entrances to a few amazing beach mansions in the area.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great beach, HUGE waves”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

This is a great beach, that really feels like a tropical paradise. Watch your electronics and keep them away from the ground. Rent beach chairs and hang your bag on a hook under your umbrella. A huge wave washed up and totally destroyed my Kindle.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Our favorite beach in St. Martin”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Beaches are not crowded, inexpensive food and drinks, great snorkeling! What more could you ask for? You can rent snorkeling equipment for about 10 dollars.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Baie Rouge also viewed

St Maarten-St Martin, Caribbean
St Maarten-St Martin, Caribbean
 
Anse Marcel, Saint-Martin
Saint-Martin, St Maarten-St Martin
 

Been to Baie Rouge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Baie Rouge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.