We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really Great Beach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Baie Rouge

Baie Rouge
French St Maarten, St Maarten-St Martin
Improve this listing
Visit Baie Rouge like an insider
Special Offer
$98*
and up
St Maarten Shore Excursion: Rock 'n Roll Snorkel...
Attraction details
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Really Great Beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

Baie Rouge is our favorite beach in St Martin. The sand is soft and pink/golden. It is never crowded, and you can walk almost a mile to the end. We stayed at Beau Rivage Villa and had a great time. The villa is right on the beach and very private. I enjoyed walking the beach early each morning, or at mid day to get a burger at the beach bar at the far end of the beach (almost 1/2 mile!).

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    124
    76
    30
    12
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful & Peaceful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

We visited several beaches on the island, and this was our favorite. The day we were there, the water was like glass.... And warm, clear, very little current. There are chairs with umbrellas available for rent, but we laid out our blanket far to the left once we entered the beach, away from the chairs and little bar, and it was so quiet and peaceful. There weren't many people on this beach, which made it even better.

Our 2nd choice beach is Baie Longue- another peaceful, quiet beach with almost no people. The water here was more rough with waves, but still beautiful.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Our favorite beach on the island”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

Gus's beach bar is great and convenient, there are no crowds during low season, and the beach is beautiful.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gill, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
70 attraction reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Eat at Chez Raymond”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

This beach definitely seems run down, but it was worth the stop for a couple of hours. You can rent an umbrella and 2 chairs for fifteen dollars. The beach bar, Chez Raymond, is definitely run down, but the food was very good and the lemonade was the best I've ever had. This is one of the few beaches that you could actually see fish when snorkling on thre right side of the beach.. I would go back.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kinnelon, New Jersey
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful beach- don't let the beach boys get to you”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Fantastic beach- only drawback are the local kids- they won't bother you but the beach boys can be a trifle obstinate- Gus beach bar is very good for island fare

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Baie Rouge also viewed

St Maarten-St Martin, Caribbean
St Maarten-St Martin, Caribbean
 
St Maarten-St Martin, Caribbean
St Maarten-St Martin, Caribbean
 

Been to Baie Rouge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Baie Rouge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.