We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best beach around St Marteen” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tintamarre Island

Tintamarre Island
Tintamarre, Collectivity of Saint Martin, Saint Martin, St. Maarten-St. Martin
17026485873
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Recommended
$129*
and up
St Maarten Sailing and Snorkeling Tour...
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Known as the "flat island"
san diego.california
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Best beach around St Marteen”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Loved swimming there. Loved the beach and if you are going to do one beach in St marteen dont waste your time anywhere else go to Tintamare.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank bijouSanDiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
chicago
Level Contributor
224 reviews
92 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
“Just ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

If you are looking for great snorkeling... St Maarten is not the place. However this island is the most likely place where you will find some underwater sea life. The water here is fairly calm and clear (on most days). So it does make for a nice snorkeling day... just don't expect to see huge numbers and variety of fish.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank ChgoGal2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great Snorkeling”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Went to Tintamarre as part of Captain Alan's 4 hour Snorkeling trip, and the snorkeling was excellent -- great fish, great reefs, sea urchins, etc., etc. As I understand it, the island is a nature preserve and so you are not allowed to take anything, and I'm not sure if you're even allowed to land to explore the islan -- we did not, we stayed in the water -- but the snorkeling was great fun.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank SoloNYer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
193 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Beautiful spot to relax on the beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Took a private yacht charter to visit for 1/2 day. Beautiful white sand beach with nice contrasting red rock and green trees. Not too crowded as you can only get there by boat. Snorkeling is not that great but we are from Florida where we measure things against the snorkeling in the Keys. No facilities on the island at all so be prepared. Great place to hang on the beach for a day. Highly recommend if that is what you are looking for.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Hisfriend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“amazing snorkeling”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We visited Tintamarre Island with Francois from Captain Alan's, and while we didn't go on the island, we saw some of the most amazing creatures snorkeling just off the shore there - sea turtles and even a barracuda in the deep water! A must for natural beauty and great snorkeling!!!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank unhinged17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tintamarre Island also viewed

Saint-Martin, St. Maarten-St. Martin
St. Maarten-St. Martin, Caribbean
 
St. Maarten-St. Martin, Caribbean
Orient Bay, Saint-Martin
 

Been to Tintamarre Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing