We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best beach around St Marteen” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tintamarre Island

Tintamarre Island
Tintamarre, Collectivity of Saint Martin, Saint Martin, St Maarten-St Martin
Improve this listing
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas, Islands, Beaches
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Known as the "flat island"
san diego.california
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Best beach around St Marteen”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Loved swimming there. Loved the beach and if you are going to do one beach in St marteen dont waste your time anywhere else go to Tintamare.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    30
    7
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
chicago
Top Contributor
173 reviews 173 reviews
77 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
“Just ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

If you are looking for great snorkeling... St Maarten is not the place. However this island is the most likely place where you will find some underwater sea life. The water here is fairly calm and clear (on most days). So it does make for a nice snorkeling day... just don't expect to see huge numbers and variety of fish.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Snorkeling”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Went to Tintamarre as part of Captain Alan's 4 hour Snorkeling trip, and the snorkeling was excellent -- great fish, great reefs, sea urchins, etc., etc. As I understand it, the island is a nature preserve and so you are not allowed to take anything, and I'm not sure if you're even allowed to land to explore the islan -- we did not, we stayed in the water -- but the snorkeling was great fun.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Beautiful spot to relax on the beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Took a private yacht charter to visit for 1/2 day. Beautiful white sand beach with nice contrasting red rock and green trees. Not too crowded as you can only get there by boat. Snorkeling is not that great but we are from Florida where we measure things against the snorkeling in the Keys. No facilities on the island at all so be prepared. Great place to hang on the beach for a day. Highly recommend if that is what you are looking for.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“amazing snorkeling”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We visited Tintamarre Island with Francois from Captain Alan's, and while we didn't go on the island, we saw some of the most amazing creatures snorkeling just off the shore there - sea turtles and even a barracuda in the deep water! A must for natural beauty and great snorkeling!!!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tintamarre Island also viewed

St Maarten-St Martin, Caribbean
St Maarten-St Martin, Caribbean
 
Marigot, Saint-Martin
St Maarten-St Martin, Caribbean
 

Been to Tintamarre Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tintamarre Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Tintamarre Island to your Saves list