We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You Get what you pay for.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Jardin de Chevrise

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St Maarten-St Martin
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Jardin de Chevrise
Mont Vernon 1, 97150, St Maarten-St Martin   |  
Hotel amenities
mountain west USA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“You Get what you pay for.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2007

We stayed at the Jardins De Chevrise, on our first night in SXM.
We were glad that we didn't have to stay for more than one night.
The room was small and the colors nice, but the room was european for sure. The power used a converter and the air conditioner leaked water all over the floor and on top of a outlet.
The king size bed was actually 2 twins and they were pushed together. on a tile floor. need i say more? The bath room was small but useable. we won't stay again, but for the money it was adequate.

  • Liked — the price
  • Disliked — the beds and air conditioner
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    9
    6
    3
    3
    1
See reviews for
1
8
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Oakville, ON
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2007

My husband and I just spent a relaxing week in St. Martin (March 3 - 10, 2007). We stayed at the Jardin de Chevrise. We made our choice based on the reviews from this site and they were bang on. The hotel is very quiet and void of the antics of an all inclusive type of place. The employees seemed genuinely happy to have us and respond to our needs. One thing to note is that we had a car, a must for the island in my opinion. We opted not to buy the breakfast but instead had coffed and pastries at the boulangerie at the bottom of the hill. Later in the week I ventured down to the pool where the breakfast at the Chevrise was being served and asked if i could buy a cup of coffee. She charged me 1.50 US and I recieved a full pot of great coffee. I would suggest this as an option for anyone who like me, needs a bit of a kick start in the morning.

As noted by other members, the beds were really hard but we were either worn out each night or we got used to them because we didn't have much of a problem sleeping. The shower is really not great but for us it was more humourous than anything. The rooms were very clean and we recieved maid service twice in our week long stay. This means keep your bath towels as you may not get them replaced right away although if you went to the front desk I'm quite sure they would exchange them for you. Also we paid 15.00 US to purchase a beach towel service that allowed us to exchange our beach towels everyday.

One thing to keep in mind about htis place is that the hotel does not offer a 24 hour on call service - the reception is open from 8 - 12 and 2 - 6, so if you need anything then you have to ask during these hours. Really not an issue outside of planning ahead.

If you're waivering on staying at this hotel becuase it's a 2 star I would suggest going for it. We thought the same thing but are really happy we chose this place. It was very personable and quiet. If you are a family then I would suggest staying at the sister hotel, Orient Beach. It is basically the same but with more room. If you're only a couple, then save the few hundred bucks to go shopping in Marigot and stay at the Chevrise.

I hope this review helps and enjoy your stay!

  • Liked — Quiet and personable.
  • Disliked — Hard bed and bad shower
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2006

Stayed here from 3/17 to 3/23/06 - We had a great time.

It was out 2nd trip to SXM - the 1st time we stayed at the Pelican Resort and we wanted to try the French side this time... This is NOT a resort - Not realls social - RENT A CAR!!!!!! I don't think you can stay at a place like this and really get a feel for the island without a car and the driving is real easy.

A few things - The beach I would say is 1/4 mile down a path - Maybe the last reviewer didn't find the right path but, it's not that far and easily walkable.
Before I left i couldn't find a good map or couldn't place the hotel - If you look on any may or picture - the Jardin is North right behing Mount Vernon Hotel on Mt Vernon.

The review of the room was Dead On - Small, CLEAN, OK Beds and Shower - But, the people are friendly.

What was also good about the hotel was the location - Being on the French side we experienced more late nights on that side at Grand Case (2 minutes away) which is great for water side food ( Le'Escapade was Great) and the Orient area which is fun at night....We Loved Cote Plages as well as La Chapelle...

As far as the hotel - you get what you pay for - I felt like I was at a Red Roof Inn in Disney and people are comparing it to a Disney resort complaining that the monorail doesn't pick them up....

Everything is CLEAN - Pool is clean - Oh yeah and skip the breakfast - That French pasty place on the main road back down Mt Vernon is a much better deal and probably the same pastries...

Also - There's a good market / Wine store on the way to the hotel in Grand Case where you can get some real good Cheese to go with the Bread....

One IMPORTANT note - Bring Cash for the Fench side - ATM's are on the Dutch side and for some reason, the restaurants on the French side offer 1$ = 1 Euro if you pay cash which saves you 20%!!!!!!

Also there's some much better wine deals on the Dutch side near Simpson Bay for the Yachts.... Even French Wine is cheaper..

ENJOY!!!!

  • Stayed March 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
US
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2006

The Good:
The best part about this hotel is that it is clean. It is small and quaint with a European feel. A small pool is set in a courtyard surrounded by the two-story hotel buildings. Breakfast is available by the pool if ordered ahead. Rooms have kitchenette facilities with a good refrigerator. Small private patios in each unit have straight chairs and table for dining (not lounging). The location is very quiet.

The Bad:
We are familiar with the island so we were not surprised to find that hotel a good 15 minute hike to the closest beach. The marketing implies it is close to the beach but only as the crow flies. Most people use this hotel as a place to sleep and head out each day by car.

The Ugly:
The hand-held shower in the corner of the bathroom was a bit below most American standards. The king bed was actually two (rock hard) twins pushed together.

Overall:
You get what you pay for and for a budget hotel at least this place is very clean.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2006

Jardins de Chevrise was a pleasant surprise. We reserved a couple of months ahead of time for a stay in early January. Because it was their high season, at a certain point our room became prepaid with no refund. At the last minute, we had to cancel two of the three nights we had planned to stay there. I e-mailed Jardins de Chevrise, and they couldn't have been more accommodating. They immediately offered to change our reservation and charged us for only one night. We were greeted graciously when we arrived, and there were tropical drinks waiting for us in our room. We would have liked to stay longer, but we had booked a cruise which left the next day.

The inn consists of several buildings around a pool and patio area. Orient Beach is a short walk through the gardens and along a trail. Each room has a kitchenette with stove and refrigerator. Our room also had a balcony complete with table and chairs. We found a small bakery nearby and a more complete grocery store up the hill along the main road. If you wish, you can have an enjoyable breakfast on the patio near the pool.

Jardins de Chevrise is on the French side, on the other side of the island from the main airport. We arrived by shared taxi van. The half-hour ride was enjoyable and scenic. The next day, the inn called the taxi service and the same van and driver arrived to pick us up and take us to the cruise port!

This is a great place to stay for rest and relaxation. The rates are reasonable and the staff is friendly and helpful. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern New Jersey
1 review
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2006

This was our first trip to St. Martin, so we stayed only four nights, to get the flavor of the place. We will be back next winter for a longer stay. St. Martin is a delightful place and the locals are all so very friendly.

Jardins de Chevrise is located in the Mount Vernon section of the French side of the island. I had not seen good directions anywhere on how to get to the hotel, so here goes. Coming from Philipsburg you will pass the several entrances to Orient Bay on your right. After the last Orient Bay entrance you will ascend a hill and there will be a right turn to “Cul de Sac” Turn right and take the next right onto Rue Mont Vernon. Go straight and you can’t miss it. Coming from Marigot and Grand Case… just outside Grand Case you will see a left turn for “Aeroport de Grand Case”, the small local airport. The next left after the airport turnoff is the road for “Cul de Sac”. Turn left and take the next right onto Rue Mont Vernon.

Jardins de Chevrise is great value for the price. The hotel is clean and well-maintained. The staff are friendly and helpful. Our philosophy is that we only sleep and shower in our room. As long as it is quiet and clean we are satisfied. We were very satisfied. The rooms are studios with small kitchens. The floors are tile, décor spare, but functional. A nice touch was the fresh cut flowers left by the staff. Each room has an air-conditioner operated by a remote control. The water pressure was a bit weak, but since St. Martin has to produce all their water through a desalinization plant, maybe it is a conservation measure. Anyhow, there is water enough to take a shower and get clean. There is a small color TV that gets only HBO on its one channel, but if you’re planning on going to St. Martin and watching TV, I pity you!! The beds are made up for you each day. We felt the mattress was a bit hard, but not uncomfortably so. Fresh towels are set up each day. The hotel will give you beach towels if you ask. If you are interested in cooking you can rent the dishes, etc. Breakfast is by the pool which is located in a lovely plant filled courtyard. It is extra, 7 euros per person per day; a little steep, but very nice and convenient. There is a bakery nearby, within walking distance if you’d like to get your own rolls or croissants. The hotel breakfast is a nice way to meet some of your fellow guests. There were lots of Europeans at the hotel when we were there – mostly French, a Canadian group that was departing just after we had arrived, and a nice German couple that I practiced my high school German on.

Orient Bay, the island’s premier beach is a short distance away. It is better to drive to it than to walk, we found. Ten minutes brings you to the public access to the beach. Leave Rue Mont Vernon. Make a left at the end of the road onto the Cul de Sac Road to go back to the main road. At the main road make another left in the direction of Quartier d’Orleans, and Baie Orientale. You will pass three entrances on the left to Orient Bay. The third and last has a sign that says “Galion” Take this left. Don’t be intimidated by the pot-holed dirt road. Up this road for about 100 yards, then make the first left – still a dirt road, but more a washboard road instead of pot-holed. At the fork where the Club Orient Security box is, make a left to the “Public Access” Parking is available for $3.00, but if you get there early enough, say between 9:00 and 10:00 am, you can pass the parking area, make a right towards the beach and park free along the masonry wall.

The beach has all sorts of water sports available, shops for beach wear, eating places, and drinking places as well – all right on the sand. We had our mid-afternoon Margaritas (substantial in a plastic cup for $6.00) at the Tex-Mex bar right on the sand. Say hello to Michel the bartender if you go. Right where you park is the dividing line between the regular beach and the Club Orient beach. The entire beach is a public beach, so if you are interested in skinny dipping, or nude sunbathing, just walk up on the right and join the guests of Club Orient. You can rent beach chairs and umbrellas from Club Orient for $6.00 each item. Two chairs and an umbrella cost $18.00. Alternatively, you can skip the public access road at the fork and drive straight into Club Orient. $20.00 gets you two chairs and an umbrella (an $18.00 value) parking all day, and use of the toilets and showers of the Club. There is a beachside snack-bar, also. If the nude beach is not your style, you can turn left onto the beach and you can also rent chairs and umbrellas for comparable prices, and be near the shops and food.

Visits to Grand Case and Marigot are a must. Grand Case – just ten minutes from the hotel – has lots of great restaurants. The souvenir shops in Grand Case are much too pricy. You can buy comparable souvenirs down in Philipsburg for a third the cost. Marigot surrounds a lovely harbor and is the site of one of the ferry terminals if you want to visit some of the nearby islands.

The Dutch side is much more congested and traffic is miserable. Philipsburg has night life and casinos if that is your interest.

The people are very friendly and my only bad experience was getting gas for our rental car on the Dutch side as I approached the airport. We were ripped off on the price of gas. On the Dutch side they do not post gas process and, I suppose, they feel they can charge you outrageous prices. On the French side all the prices are posted prominently – I guess to avoid that. The gas prices were (on the French side) 0.79 to 0.83 euros per liter. Say about $1.00 per liter (about 4 liters to a gallon roughly – so about $4.00 per gallon. We had a Toyota Corolla that needed about a third of a tank of fuel. I was guessing around 4 gallons, so it would have cost about $16.00. We were charged $21.50.

All the native French speakers that we ran into in service jobs spoke English fairly to very well. It doesn’t hurt to have a few phrases of French to be polite in their language. In addition, many of the residents there come from countries such as Jamaica, or some of the smaller islands like the British Virgins, Anguilla, Antigua, or Trinidad and English is their native tongue.

The dollar is accepted everywhere. Most prices are quoted in dollars. At restaurants we got the bill in Euros and the dollar equivalent was written on the bill. The exchange rate was roughly the official one of $1.20 per Euro. Credit cards are accepted, but they like the tips in cash, so make sure you carry lots of cash for that, also for bars, souvenirs, etc.

St. Martin is a delight and Jardins de Chevrise the perfect quiet spot for your headquarters as you explore this island.

Enjoy your trip to St. Martin.

  • Stayed January 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2006

We loved our recent stay on the first floor with a wonderful terrace overlooking the bay. We compliment the staff on the cleanliness and the flexibility on our check out time.

We walked daily to the local boulangerie for our bagettes for lunch. We drove to Grand Case for the supermarket and stocked our refrigerator for a great daily breakfast.This hotel is small and in a neighborhood so you feel a part of the area. We had rented a car and preferred walking most. The trek to Orient Beach is just that a 10 minute at most walk but we preferred the walk to Club Orient each day and it takes about 25 minutes.
Our favorite restaurant after eating in Marigot and in Grand Case was the one right near our hotel called Luna du Soleil. We ate there twice in our short 6 day stay. i miss the island already. we were there from 1/4-1/20/06 and we'll come back again.
we are a couple in love so we enjoyed the quite life on the french side. Au Revoir mes amis

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Jardin de Chevrise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jardin de Chevrise

Address: Mont Vernon 1, 97150, St Maarten-St Martin
Location: Caribbean > St Maarten-St Martin
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 50 Specialty lodging in St Maarten-St Martin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Also Known As:
Jardin De Chevrise St Maarten-St Martin, Caribbean

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jardin de Chevrise, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Jardin de Chevrise to your Saves list