We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Beach Views” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cupecoy Bay / Beach

Cupecoy Bay / Beach
St Maarten-St Martin
Improve this listing
Type: Beaches, Outdoors
Activities: Sunbathing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: If you're looking for a beach that's quiet but not totally secluded, Cupecoy is a good choice. Its white sands are backed by low sandstone cliffs that have been eroded in such a way that they provide a run of small semiprivate coves.
Cherry Hill, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful Beach Views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

This beach is truly a Gem. Get ready to walk down some rocky steps when you arrive and hold onto the rope. This beach is smaller then size of a football field wedged right in between to rocky cliffs. It is so beautiful. Very calm waters and picaresque views, but do not bring your camera on the beach, or you might snap a pic of a naked 40 plus adult. If you like naked this is the beach for you!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    18
    13
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Doylestown, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful Beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

This beach is absolutely beautiful but you better be ready to take off the swimsuit or clothes you are wearing. My wife and I went to see this beach and found it filled with about 40 people, all fully naked, all playing games on the beach. It was uncomfortable to say the least when we did not intend to go naked. The ads for this beach say secluded and clothing optional but there did not seem to be an option. We saw no one with clothes or swimsuits on. Maybe it was just the day we were there, maybe not. Most of the beach goers should not have been naked or even topless, but that is normal for the islands.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kernersville, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Crashing Waves At Cupecoy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Stopped at the "baby" part of this beach because we were staying close by in Maho...and there was NO ONE on the beach! Great place to watch a sunset without a crowd of folks at one of the usual places.

The beach is always a question mark because of the changing sands: sometimes there, sometimes not. There was enough sand this trip to actually climb out on the rock croppings under Ocean Club Villas and get some great shots of the crashing waves!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Not For The Clothed Bather”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013 via mobile

We ventured from Orient Bay where we had no problem with the clothing optional bathing to seek out a quiet, interesting beach our friends visited on their Honeymoon years ago. But it was very disappointing. All the land has been cleared leaving no trees. There is a staircase taking you to a very small beach where almost everyone is naked. And not good naked if you know what I mean. There are a few chairs to rent that are inches apart and no food, drink, or toilet facilities. We departed quickly and found Mullet Bay Beach to be just wonderfull. Take my advise, head to Mullet Bay first.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Ontario
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Great Beach across from the Blue Mall”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

I really liked this beach, very comfortable beach with great sun. I would return to this beach. Be aware though, that depending on the tides, there may not be a beach when you arrive. Both times I went, there was a beach area to sit, and it was very nice. This is a clothing optional beach. First set of stairs is primarily open to everyone, the second set of stairs to the beach is primarily for the LGBT community.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cupecoy Bay / Beach also viewed

St Maarten-St Martin, Caribbean
St Maarten-St Martin, Caribbean
 
St Maarten-St Martin, Caribbean
Saint-Martin, St Maarten-St Martin
 

Been to Cupecoy Bay / Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cupecoy Bay / Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.