We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent staff but badly needs renovation” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Marquis Boutique Hotel

Save Saved
You added Marquis Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Marquis Boutique Hotel
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Pigeon Pea Hill | Anse Marcel, 97150, St Maarten-St Martin   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
40% off - all room rates
London
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Excellent staff but badly needs renovation”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2011

I thought long and hard before giving this hotel 3 stars, and that is solely because of the staff members working here. They were very friendly and tried to do everything they could to make our stay pleasant. However, we were incredibly disappointed with the quality of the hotel compared to what we saw on the website. The website describes it as a luxury boutique hotel, but I would not agree with this at all. The furniture in the room was old and outdated, the quality of the bedding was poor and worn, the bathroom was old and peeling paint, chipped tiles, barely working shower head.

In short, I would not recommend the hotel, but I do understand the current staff and management are doing everything they can to help their guests. But the owner of the hotel should not expect to continue charging those prices unless they change the hotel to match the pictures on the website.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    135
    61
    7
    6
    4
See reviews for
25
145
9
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tortola
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2011

I work in the hotel industry, and wanted a few days away after a hectic Christmas & New Year and also to celebrate my birthday.
The resort was recommend to us from friends and from our first dealings with Laure, the assitant manager I knew we would be well looked after, she arranged a pick up from the airport, and a hire car to be waiting for us once we arrived at the hotel, nothing seemed to be to much trouble, the rooms are large and spacious, with a lovely balcony where we watched the sun set, and I chilled out and read a book, there was even a bottle of champagne waiting for us on my birthday!
The beach that you can use is nice, with loungers,and you can use the restaurant and bar and charge it to the resort. I would recommend hiring a car, if you want to eat at Grand case, or visit other areas of the island. We didn't plan anything, but spend some time in Margiot a lovely town, grand case to eat, we had a 4 night break, and came back relaxed and refreshed.
Thanks to Laure and all the staff.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2010

Nice affordable boutique hotel. The room was spacious and the bed sleeps great. The real draw here is the view. Perched high on the mountain each on the few rooms has an incredible view of Anse Marcel. The included breakfast was another real treat with bread and fruit every morning on the patio or in your room.

The walk to the beach is quite steep down hill and we ended up taking a car after the first day. The staff is very friendly but speak French as their first language so there can be a few things lost in translation.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leiden, The Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2010

We booked a last minute vacation to St Martin and some friends advised the Marquis. We had a magnificent stay. Of course the island is beautiful (the french part especially) but Laure, the girl who works at the Marquis made it all even more beautiful. She was so enthusiastic, gave tips about the best places to eat/ go, arranged our trip to St Barths (were we stayed at Tom's beach also great) and so on: superb
A few comments: the swimmingpool was disappointing. We had access to the beach of the Raddisson, but there was no arrangement to stay at their pool (we got send away). The beach is a long/steep walk away, so rent a car.

But... the view is great up on the hill

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manalapan, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2010

My wife and daughter (14 months) stayed for 7 days the first week of September. Even though the island was just hit with a small hurricane, the staff was on top of everything and wonderful. We knew going into this that this was not the ideal hotel for a 14 month old, but the staff went far out of their way to accommodate us and many of the staff went out of their way to interact with my daughter.

This is a wonderful spot for young couples or people coming to St Martin looking for a very quiet secluded spot to relax and enjoy amazing views. One word of warning though. You have to rent a car. There is no way to affordably get around without one. Luckily, the hotel will arrange a car rental for you and have it brought to the hotel for you when you arrive.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duxbury, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2010

This was just the relaxing vacation we were looking for. The Hotel Marquis is just great. Its size is just right and the service is very good. We enjoyed a lovely breakfast by the pool each morning before heading to the beach (Orient). We had a delicious dinner on our balcony one evening, with that gorgeous view down to the beach and marina at the Radisson below.
It was low season, so it was quite hot, but our a/c and ceiling fan in our spacious room were a welcome relief.
It's a good idea to rent a car and explore the island.
There are a couple of things I would make a point to bring next time: my own hair dryer (the one in the room was tough on my hair and didn't really dry it!) and a small flashlight.
We lost power one night late & it would have been helpful. However, I found out the next morning they have candles & matches for the occasional outages. Note: outlets are 220v
so bring an adapter.
This was our first visit to St. Martin and we would definitely return to the Marquis.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anguilla
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2010

The view, upgraded (free of charge) suite, the staff just doesn't get much better than this friendly boutique hotel in St. Martin. No, not many Americans know about it yet, but they will soon with the on-target marketing that is being done. There is always a breeze while you sit on your terrace sipping a drink from the mini bar or a reasonably priced Bordeaux brought over from the Marquis' vineyard while overlooking the marina by the Radison. A/C is needed only after the sun goes down. You will be able to take advantage of their decent beach and Brown Jordan chairs and also the health club facility next to the Marquis. It is too far to walk to the Radison and the other resort next to it in my opinion, but the gracious staff will give you a lift if you haven't yet rented a car which you should do. Nathalie is training her two Swiss protogees, Giada and Allessia, very well. They are compentent and a delight along with being more than happy to help with recommendations and any kind of assistance you may require. There are a number of local restarauants such as Hercule (great conch Creole and a happy go lucky owner) and surprisingly good food at Pinel Island at the middle restaurant which is managed by an Italian family from Brooklyn. Grand Case is only a 10 minute drive from the Marquis for superior cuisine of all types. Don't miss the Butterfly Farm which is also close by. I do have one very minor complaint and that would be the bathroom. The bathroom is not airconditioned which may make it a challenge for some to get ready for dinner and the hand held shower attachments, while quite acceptable in Europe, are not up to the standards most American travelers would expect.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Marquis Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marquis Boutique Hotel

Address: Pigeon Pea Hill | Anse Marcel, 97150, St Maarten-St Martin
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St Maarten-St Martin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in St Maarten-St Martin
#3 Spa Hotel in St Maarten-St Martin
#3 Top resorts Hotel in St Maarten-St Martin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marquis Boutique Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marquis is an intimate and exclusive 4star boutique hotel located in Anse Marcel Cove on St Martin's French side. The 17 spacious room & suite accommodations have private terraces and a dramatic view of the ocean. Breakfast & restaurant services can be enjoyed in your room or around the pool. A full service at the beach is provided for hotel guests and a shuttle is at their disposal anytime. Also, guests will benefit from the sport center and the "Zen" area which offers aesthetic treatments and massages. This secluded paradise's reputed personal service adds to its appeal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Splendia, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Marquis Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marquis Boutique Hotel And Spa
Marquis Boutique Hotel St Maarten-St Martin, Caribbean
Hotel Marquis

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marquis Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.