We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Hotel - Highly recommended!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marquis Boutique Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Marquis Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Marquis Boutique Hotel
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Pigeon Pea Hill | Anse Marcel, 97150, St Maarten-St Martin   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing Hotel - Highly recommended!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

The hotel is so beautiful, very very clean - in a very nice location up in the hill- with an amazing view to Anse Marcel. Very close to Grand case to have dinner at night (5 min car drive). The best part of this hotel is the attention provided by the employees, really really makes the difference, they are very helpful, always ready to provide the best recommendations - they are super NICE- I really cannot recall a similar experience at any other hotel - they make you feel part of their family. Do not miss the breakfast which is also outstanding quality! This hotel is perfect for an amazing stay at St Marteen.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    65
    7
    6
    3
See reviews for
25
151
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
new york
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Je t'aime The Marquis Boutique Hotel & Spa!

I have been home for 11 long cold and lonely days.....and oh how I miss the Marquis. The hotel is a tiny gem set up high in the mountains...high enough to have a super view of the cove below, high enough to feel that you are away from the world, but only a ten minute ride from exquisite beaches like Pinel or Orient.

The view is magnificent! The pool is soooo restful; with only 17 rooms, you feel like you have the place to yourself. The staff is beyond comparison too. Upon arrival, you will receive big smiles and a kiss on each cheek (the french way)! Moira, the sales manager makes you feel welcome, as if she is welcoming you into her home. Sybille and Francesca will make your stay amazing. They will shuttle you to the local beaches, making sure you do not forget to take a towel with you. If you are hungry, they will bring you room service from the most amazing pizza place sown at the bottom of the hill too. If you forget to eat, Sybille may even call you to remind you to eat, and that she is going to the restaurant!

And of course, lets not forget Madame Zazou who serves gorgeous fruit and warm pain au chocolate in the mornings, along with a strong cup of coffee and freshly squeezed orange juice!

If you are looking to be kissed by the sun and a warm friendly hotel with people that care, visit the Marquis...you will be THRILLED!!!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

We just spent four days at Marquis to celebrate our 10th Anniversary. It was a pleasure to spend time there. The room (Mustique) was perfect for us. Moira and the team are absolutely wonderful and take care of every need. We enjoyed the experience and would definitely go back. I was concerned about the road based on reviews I had read, but it is not a problem at all. I can't imagine staying any other place on the island. The team was extremely helpful with restaurant reservations and made great recommendations. Great four days!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

For context, my wife and I are retired and travel a lot. Often in the winter we want to get away from the cold monotony and just bask in the sun. We've been to several Caribbean destinations. but this was first to Saint Martin. This was a seven night trip. We did not rent a car. We really didn't have much interest in exploring the island and tend to prefer boutique hotels for intimacy and service. We booked a Great View room that includes a balcony. The Marquis was great for our objectives.The good things: The Marquis arranged a driver who met us at the airport (E45). We were warmly greeted and always well served. Everything was relaxing. The room was spacious with high timbered ceilings and the furnishings were adequate. The view was spectacular though we stayed in room 118, which was at the end of the line of rooms with the great view (ask for a room closer to the beach/north). Breakfast was on the central patio by the small pool (nice setting but no view), continental style, and reasonable for these parts (E10). Service was very personal, amiable, and prompt. Marquis provides beach towels and drive you down to the Anse Marcel beach (2 min) and pick you up immediately when you call (ask any server to call) - very quick service. The beach was not crowded, lots of comfortable, padded chaises with functional umbrellas (free) and beach bars and beach boy service - expensive as you would expect; direct bill to your room if you want. They will also drop you at the pier to go to Pinel Island - we did that once but preferred Anse Marcel. We ate most of our meals in the Anse Marcel locations - Le Calypso, La LoConda (transportation provided by the Marquis) - good enough because we snacked so much on the beach (everything from deserts to grilled lobster). One night we took a taxi to Grand Case (E20 each way) to eat at L'Auberge Gourmande - outstanding. We took room service twice on our balcony (room service is catered from a nearby restuarant and takes time but the food is good). The bad: Room furnishings were not to the standard of the rooms themselves - very basic, not much decoration, not luxurious. This place deserves better: with better furnishings and decor we would rate the Marquis at 5. Isolated: if you want to move around the island, rent a car. Pool was nice, clean but small, but who wants a pool when you have chauffer service to the beach? We didn't use the spa service.

Room Tip: For deluxe views, ask for a room closer to the north end (?) - in any case closest to the Anse Marce...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We recently stayed a long weekend at the Marquis. We were very pleasantly surprised when we arrived at the warmth of the staff and the great vibes around the hotel. Everyone was very nice and so helpful. Our only regret is that we were not able to spend more time there, as it was so relaxing. In one way, the location of the hotel is a bit far from many of the more touristy destinations...but as we found out, it was really nice to be up on the mountain where we could relax and enjoy the scenery without all the noise. So, in the end, it worked out for the better, and we would recommend this very nice and enjoyable hotel to others. Again - its the great staff that makes the difference. they were all so nice and helpful. just wonderful!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Situated on the top of a verdant hill, the Marquis offers spectacular views of the ocean. Our great view room was capacious, comfortable, and well-appointed. By car, you're but ten minutes in one direction to the world-famous Orient Beach, or ten minutes in the other to Grand Case, the culinary capitol of the Caribbean. A mere two minutes will take you to the nearby Radisson Hotel of Anse Marcel. There, you will find a nice beach and several good restaurants, including Calypso, which I highly recommend.

Best of all, however, is the service. The hotel's warm and professional staff will give you give great advice on the best restaurants, beaches, bars, boat excursions, etc.--all in multiple languages. Continental breakfast of fresh fruits, croissants, etc., was delicious. Throughout our stay,we felt like an old friend, not merely another number on a credit card. That's why it's a place I would eagerly return to again and again!

Merci mille fois, Moira!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Our stay was from December 25-28 and upon arrival were greeted by the hotel manager. She was very friendly and provided a quick tour of the property, the room and the services they provide. They also have a deal/partnership with another hotel that is located further down the hill and closer to the Anse Marcel beach area which allows for free use of beach chairs and a sports center. We were also given a nice welcoming gift with a personalized hand-written welcome note.

The hotel is located on a hill and offers great views of the Anse Marcel bay. Our room had a balcony with a table where we had breakfast a few mornings with the bay and mountains as our backdrop. The breakfast was simple: Croissants with butter and jams, chocolate croissants, baguette, fresh fruit, fresh squeezed orange juice, coffee and tea. Inquire about the price of breakfast beforehand as you may find it to be expensive.

The room itself is very spacious and clean with the typical European style shower/tub with no curtain. The bed was big but a little soft and there were no luggage racks which would have been helpful. There is adequate closet and drawer space and two safes.

The hotel is in an ideal location - just up from Anse Marcel beach, a couple minutes drive to the dock from which you can take boats to Pinel, and a short drive from Grand Case, where there are many dining options. We loved it!

The staff was extremely friendly, helpful and knowledgeable. Every suggestion was spot on (from restaurants and bars to beaches). Upon returning to the hotel from our outings we were always asked how our day/trip went. Beach towels are provided for your trips to the beach and parking is free with plenty of parking spots.

We were very happy to call this hotel our home during our stay in St. Martin. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marquis Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marquis Boutique Hotel

Address: Pigeon Pea Hill | Anse Marcel, 97150, St Maarten-St Martin
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St Maarten-St Martin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in St Maarten-St Martin
#3 Spa Hotel in St Maarten-St Martin
#3 Top resorts Hotel in St Maarten-St Martin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marquis Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marquis is an intimate and exclusive 4star boutique hotel located in Anse Marcel Cove on St Martin's French side. The 17 spacious room & suite accommodations have private terraces and a dramatic view of the ocean. Breakfast & restaurant services can be enjoyed in your room or around the pool. A full service at the beach is provided for hotel guests and a shuttle is at their disposal anytime. Also, guests will benefit from the sport center and the "Zen" area which offers aesthetic treatments and massages. This secluded paradise's reputed personal service adds to its appeal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, Booking.com, Orbitz, Splendia, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Marquis Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marquis Boutique Hotel St Maarten-St Martin, Caribbean
Marquis Boutique Hotel And Spa
Hotel Marquis

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marquis Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.