We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful in all the right ways!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marquis Boutique Hotel

Save Saved
You added Marquis Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Marquis Boutique Hotel
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Pigeon Pea Hill | Anse Marcel, 97150, St Maarten-St Martin   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
40% off - all room rates
Fairfax, VA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful in all the right ways!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Marquis in March and had a lovely time. We booked a package deal on Expedia because I found a great deal for this hotel but also because I had been looking at this hotel separately as well. The hotel has fantastic views of the Anse Marcel Bay (yes, the drive is steep but we didn't mind it albeit we rented a jeep due to the climb).

The rooms were comfortable and roomy. We wanted a slightly better view than the not bad view we had with the original room they assigned us so we asked if they had a room further up available and they did. Moira offered us a discount on the upgrade which was nice and they made sure our new balcony had a lounge chair in addition to the table and chairs. The room had a coffee maker and a small fridge, however, we couldn't figure out how to operate the coffee maker properly (maybe it wasn't working properly or it could have been user error) and the fridge was fully stocked with "mini bar" items you would be charged for using. It would have been nice if it were half empty to stock with your own items...we ended up having to take half their stock out to make room for items we bought at the local market.

The hotel staff were impeccable! Fabio, Electra and Moira (and everyone else we encountered) were truly warm and welcoming and had great ideas about where to eat and what to do. You may not have the pleasure of meeting Fabio or Electra since they are Swiss students studying tourism working at the hotel as an internship but I understand that Moira employs students from their school regularly so I should imagine you will have the opportunity to meet some other wonderfully polite students who are learning and exploring the island with you. In fact, we kept running into Fabio everywhere we went :)

The breakfasts were good but we didn't realize they weren't included in our package so, again, Moira offered us a discount on them when we checked out.

We thought this hotel was a gem of a find for the price and we also liked the clientelle there, feeling like they were mellow and "our kind" of people. We became fast vaca pals with another couple from France even though we had communication issues since we didn't speak the same language :) and we went on a Catamaran cruise with them and another young couple of American students on spring break.

We would highly recommend this hotel for a quiet retreat on the French side. It's a short drive to Grand Case in the evenings for a great meal in their many restaurants or you can walk down to Anse Marcel where there are a few restaurants and a private beach. For beaches, we really loved Pinel Island (recommended by the hotel staff) and Baie Rouge and the beaches on Anguilla (which we visited on our Catamaran trip) were amazing!

Room Tip: Higher rooms have better views. If you can afford it, request a suite. We asked for an upgrade and t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    135
    61
    7
    6
    4
See reviews for
25
145
9
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bologne, Italie
Top Contributor
232 reviews 232 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 105 cities Reviews in 105 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

it's really marvellous to find out a small piece of quite in a busy and crowded island as St Martin-St Maarten is! the beaches are overcrowded except the Anse Marcel, where only two big hotels are on the beach and few nice resort are betterly located on the top of the hill overlooking the beach and the bay. the staff is very kind and it's really nice to spend few days over there. a car is absolutely necessary to move around, to visit few interesting points of the island (the butterfly farm, Pinel Island) and to taste some restaurants in different places. if you are not interested in busy area, casino, unpolite and unkind local people...avoid to go to St.Martin, but for any reason you go there take your time and relax at the Marquis Boutique Hotel!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

Decided on St. Martin because there was a direct flight and booked Marquis because they had a special and the photos looked amazing. The hotel staff was amazing and the hotel itself and the view was beautiful, but the furniture and the bedding looked outdated. What we liked the least was that there are steep hills driving up to the hotel which I found bit unnerving. Though we loved the spectacular view, we wished it was easier for us to come and go from the hotel.

Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

You could not find any other hotel where the staff is that helpful, great advice for restaurants and any activities! Spacious rooms, very relaxing hotel. Amazing breakfast. Congratulations!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

Having arrived from London after a very long flight, we felt at home at the Marquis straight away. The staff was very helpful and friendly. We would especially like to thank the charming, efficient and very patient Fabio - he was always there to help us with a winning smile! The room was pleasant and clean and the view from the balcony overlooking the harbour was breathtaking, even more so looking at it from the hammock. The delicious continental breakfast on the terrace was a treat each morning and the view was amazing. The drive up to the hotel is very steep and not for the nervous driver, but there are many taxis available and at very reasonable charges. If you do take a taxi, ask for Marlene - she was the best. All in all a great resort and one that we would definitely come back to. The Marquis is a wonderful place if you want peace and quiet and to get away from it all but a short drive to some fantastic beaches and terrific restaurants in Grande Case.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

Yes the view was great, and the seclusion that came along with being tucked up in the hills away from the tourists wearing cowbells was nice (although a 1 minute shuttle and you can get your fill), but it was all about the staff. My 4 year old daughter still calls out Fabio's name (I think my wife and other daughter were jealous), and Electra was the bigger sister both my daughters wanted to have. Breakfast staff (Rosa Maria and Yvette) was fun and watching one of them mix a late night drink at the bar from a recipe book was a hoot as well. What impressed me the most was the lack of pushy sales pitch to sign up for excursions or renting a car from them...all available to you but without the pressure. Yes you need to rent a car or you will get caught up in the beach for sun, hotel for sleep circular trap. I truly think the location is the most beautiful spot on the island as far as hotels go. The traditional doll keychains were cute too. If I went to the island again, we would end up there.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

This was our first trip to St. Martin, and we were lucky enough to have found the perfect place. Anse Marcel is secluded and beautiful, and the Marquis is just a gem. It's on top of a hill with fantastic views, the rooms are very clean and comfortable, and the staff is incredibly friendly and helpful. There's a gorgeous beach with great snorkeling (and showers!) right at the bottom of the hill, and the phenomenal restaurants of Grand Case are minutes away. We've found our new favorite island, and our new favorite hotel.

Room Tip: The rooms in the building further away from reception have better views, but they're all really...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Marquis Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marquis Boutique Hotel

Address: Pigeon Pea Hill | Anse Marcel, 97150, St Maarten-St Martin
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St Maarten-St Martin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in St Maarten-St Martin
#3 Spa Hotel in St Maarten-St Martin
#3 Top resorts Hotel in St Maarten-St Martin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marquis Boutique Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marquis is an intimate and exclusive 4star boutique hotel located in Anse Marcel Cove on St Martin's French side. The 17 spacious room & suite accommodations have private terraces and a dramatic view of the ocean. Breakfast & restaurant services can be enjoyed in your room or around the pool. A full service at the beach is provided for hotel guests and a shuttle is at their disposal anytime. Also, guests will benefit from the sport center and the "Zen" area which offers aesthetic treatments and massages. This secluded paradise's reputed personal service adds to its appeal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Splendia, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Marquis Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marquis Boutique Hotel And Spa
Marquis Boutique Hotel St Maarten-St Martin, Caribbean
Hotel Marquis

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marquis Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.