We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst ferry ride ever” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Great Bay Express

Great Bay Express
Bobby's Marina Village, St Maarten-St Martin
(+599) 542 0032
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
$84*
and up
Attraction details
New Carlisle, Ohio
Level Contributor
28 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Worst ferry ride ever”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

This was by far the worst ferry ride I have ever been on. I felt like we were going to tip over the entire 40 minutes. I took dramamine and still felt like i was going to get sick. There was a section on the ferry that we were told not to sit in because we could get wet. Unfortunately wherever you sat you got wet! St Barts is so beautiful it is worth the trip. Next time I will spend the extra $$ to take the 15 minute flight!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    12
    8
    5
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
77 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“The ferry is fine but it is not a smooth ride”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

The ferry ride takes about 45 minutes... if you get at all seasick then get ready for an unpleasant ride. The ferry itself was pretty nice. It had an air conditioned inner cabin that seats a ton of people. I would not recommend sitting in the open part in the back of the ship... unless you want to get soaked. We sat in the top open part on the ride back and that was fine. There was only a little spray. St Barths is definitely worth the trip if you havent been before. It is soooo different from St. Martin. It feels like Europe in miniature

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caribbean
Level Contributor
79 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great Bay Express: Yes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

Good service, punctuality, friendly staff, I would definitely recommend this form of transportation from St Maarten to St Barth

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neptune, New Jersey
Level Contributor
57 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Good Experience with Great Bay Express”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

We had a good experience sailing with Great Bay Express to St. Barths. We had the hotel we stayed at (L'Hoste) call the day before, so we had a reservation set. When we arrived at the Marina, it was a quick process to pay the balance and get the boarding passes. Everything was handled well by the staff.
Perhaps it was just the day we sailed over in March, but we had no issues with a rough passage or seasickness. It didn't seem like anybody else on board did either. We made it to Gustavia in about 45 minutes.
I would definitely use this business again for a day trip from St. Martin.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great ride but take motion sickness pills or patches!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

St. Barts' is a "can't miss" attraction, but the ride over is VERY ROUGH. We had motion sickness patches, so were fine, but those who were less fortunate made ample use of the "breakfast reliever pails?. The ride is only 50 minl it is costly but worth the $$ to see the adult Disneyland of the rich and famous.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Great Bay Express also viewed

St Maarten-St Martin, Caribbean
Marigot, Saint-Martin
 
Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
St Maarten-St Martin, Caribbean
 

Been to Great Bay Express? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Great Bay Express, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.