We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Time to SXM” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Princess Heights Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Princess Heights Hotel to your Saves list
Princess Heights Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Oyster Pond Road #156 | Dawn Beach, St Maarten-St Martin   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book Direct = Free Car!
Manitoba
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
“First Time to SXM”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

Booked a 2 bed, 2 bath room, for a week in July. Check-in was smooth, but access to the parking lot was a bit convoluted, as it involved a gate to drive through. We were in the new building with the elevator. Rooms were huge. Very generous on the square footage, larger than our house. Everything inside was well-,maintained, and daily housekeeping was great too. Kitchens were moderately equipped, and the dishwasher was great. Some kitchen items are getting worn and could be replaced (pans, etc...) but we didn't mind.

Couple downsides:
1.) Pool are was only ok. Nothing fancy, would have been nicer to have some better landscaping around it. It was also quite a hoke to access it. It involved a lot of stairs, and walking.
2.) Fitness facilities could be better. Never used it as the temperature didn't seem to be regulated in there, and I wish it had a treadmill.
3.) Seemed like a sketchy area. Not much night-time traffic around there, didn't really feel safe out at night. On the flip side, it's very quiet if you want a peace and relaxation.
4.) Lots of driving. Not a lot in the area either.

The Great Things:
1.) The staff. Super helpful in making arrangements for activities, giving directions, or recommending restaurants.
2.) The view was amazing. You could see St. Barth's, Dawn Beach, etc...
3.) Everything else, including the rooms. The value for the dollar was phenomenal.

This is a condo-hotel, though I didn't see anyone ever trying to sell us anything.

Bottom line: I wouldn't hesitate about staying here again; but only if I had a car. When I go back to SXM, I might stay elsewhere, just to better explore the island, but Princess Heights would be on my short list.

Room Tip: All are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrontOfficePH, Manager at Princess Heights Hotel, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear guest, thanks for reviewing our property and sharing your experience with the tripadvisor's community. We are happy to know that you enjoyed the property and felt well taken care of by our staff.

Your comments will definitely help other travelers make their minds about coming to St. Maarten and make the right choice by staying Princess Heights.

As per your comments on the pool and the gym, the are being progressively renovated, so hopefully next time you come back, you will experience the updated gym and pool!

Thank you once again for taking the time to share your nice comments!

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    283
    109
    15
    8
    7
See reviews for
80
241
12
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

My wife and I had an incredible experience at Princess Heights in St. Maarten. About a thirty minute drive from St. Juliana Airport (SXM), the hotel is nestled in the hills overlooking Dawn Beach on the east side of the island. The studio suite we stayed in was immaculate, comfortable, and had a spectacular view of the beach, with St. Barts off in the distance. We stayed in the second building on the 6th floor, so we had the highest balcony view Princess Heights had to offer. Dawn Beach was one of my favorite beaches on the entire island, so it was nice that it was only a ten minute walk down the hill from the hotel.
The staff was very helpful with directions to all the major cities and ports, as well as advice on various activities and restaurants that previous visitors recommended. They were quick to solve any problems that arose (and those were minimal), and always provided polite, gracious service.
The restaurants around the area were quite good; we enjoyed lunch at Mr. Busby's, and dinner at Mama's Pizza and Captain Oliver's. Other noteworthy places were Pineapple Pete's in Simpson Bay, the Tree Lounge at Loterie Farm, and the beach tents at Mullet Bay. We didn't have a single bad meal the entire week, and used the studio's kitchen to prepare breakfast every day.
Our favorite activity was the Lambada day trip to Prickly Pear and Anguilla. The tour allows you to snorkel, swim, and cruise around some of the area's finest beaches. The crew was very entertaining, the bar was open the entire day (try the rum punch), and the lunch on Prickly Pear was just as good as any restaurant on St. Maarten. All in all, it was the highlight of our trip, and it was originally recommended to us by one of Princess Heights' staff.
Our honeymoon could not have been better, and we owe the vast majority of our amazing vacation to Princess Heights. We can't wait to return!

Room Tip: The suites on the 6th floor of the second building offer the highest views Princess Heights offers!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrontOfficePH, Manager at Princess Heights Hotel, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Guest, We hare very happy to know that Princess Heights was the right place to enjoy your Honeymoon. We need to thank you for such good and descriptive review that certainly will help other guests make their mind.

We appreciate your nice comments on the staff. They really work hard and do their best to please all guests.

It is also very goo to know you could enjoy Dawn beach and many restaurants and activities nearby..

We look forward to welcoming to again in the near future.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Almere-Stad, Flevoland, Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

We stayed here for two weeks and had an amazing time. The staff is really helpful, rooms are simply wonderful (we had the one bedroom suite) and the location is ok imo. It's a relaxed and quiet area which is a pro in my book.

Rent a car and go explore the entire island. We found out that a rental car is actually cheaper then the taxi. And this way you can also meet the lovely dog at the parking lot. We named him buddy because he became a good friend of ours during our stay. We fed him everyday and the reaction you get for that is priceless. So people, don't be shy. Gain his trust and give him some food, you will get a buddy for life!

All in all we would highly recommend Princess Heights if you're looking for a nice, peaceful home away from home!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrontOfficePH, General Manager at Princess Heights Hotel, responded to this review, August 16, 2014
Dear guest, first and foremost thanks for choosing Princess Heights! it is motivating to know that you had a great stay and could enjoy the confort and luxury of our rooms!

Thanks for your suggestions on the rental car for future guests. Definitely, the most advisable way way to explore the complete island and enjoy all the natural beaty and great places that St. Maarten has to offer.

Thank you once again for your feedback.

We do hope to welcome you back soon!

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

We had the choice between going to the Westin or having the 1 bedroom here and boy were we glad we chose this option. Dawn beach just happened to be our favorite beach/bay on the whole island which we were lucky as well. The room was fully equipped with a nice kitchen and full bathtub (which we used often). The bed was extremely comfortable and there was a table outside on the balcony for us to enjoy breakfast and dinner every day. Also the free laundry was also a big plus but keep in mind you do need to buy detergent and softeners.

The views from the room were excellent and all the staff were extremely accommodating (we had Tim). Keep in mind that Wi-Fi only seems to work in some sections of the room and is not as strong as we wanted it to be. But it was good enough to get work done.

The housekeepers were extremely well trained and thorough during their cleanings and the little extras such as the advice on things to do made this a 5 star resort. We were also given a free bottle of wine on entry which was a nice touch :)

For those who complained about the hike up and down to the beach please give me a break. We must have done it 4 times in one day and had no issues. Just develop that beach body people! :).

Anyway don't pass this resort up as you will not regret it. We will gladly stay again in the future.

Room Tip: We had 1004-B which was in the second building on the 4th floor which was great! The higher you are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrontOfficePH, Manager at Princess Heights Hotel, responded to this review, August 16, 2014
Dear guest, We are also happy that you made the right choice! Thank you very much for your great comments on the hotel and for sharing your great experience in St. Maarten. It is good to know that you were able to make the best out of your vacation in our property and spent great times at Dawn Beach, one of the most relaxing beaches in St. Maarten.

Our housekeeping and front office staff appreciates your comments on their service.

Your are more than welcome to come back! Remember to contact us directly so you are entitled to extra discounts and perks!

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

We arrived on Wed and checked out on Sun. It is far from the airport (30-40 min drive) but definitely worth the trip! We stayed in a Studio Suite. Breathtaking views, beautiful rooms with the comforts of home. We were in the upper tower and on the 10th floor. My only complaint is the towels need to be updated. It is unacceptable to receive bath towels/wash cloths with holes in them. Outside of this, the staff was courteous and it was perfect for a couples getaway.

Room Tip: request upper tower/building 2.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrontOfficePH, Manager at Princess Heights Hotel, responded to this review, August 16, 2014
Dear guest, Thanks for your positive feedback on the hotel. As per your constructive remarks, about the towels your received has brought immediately to management. This is not typical in our property and we are working on revising our sorting and update procedure so that this does not happen again. Thanks very much for letting us know.

We appreciate the great comments about the rest of the property and fell proud we could meet your expectations.

Feel free to contact us directly when planning to come back so you are entitled to extra discounts as a returning guest.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

What a luxurious place to stay! The service was very helpful and cheerful about catering to our needs. Our room had multiple rooms in it, including a fully stocked kitchen. The upper tower where we stayed is a bit of a trek from the pool but the extra exercise is worth it. The gorgeous 24/7 pool overlooks the best views and is big enough to hold multiple families without feeling uncomfortable. The only downside is the location- it is a bit of a distance from most attractions. St Martin wasn't really my cup of tea so coming home to this pool made that portion of the vacation far more enjoyable.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrontOfficePH, Manager at Princess Heights Hotel, responded to this review, August 16, 2014
Dear guest, we truly appreciate your feedback about your stay at Princess Heights. We are happy we could help make your vacation more enjoyable with our accommodation and our services.

This kind of feedback motivates us to keep and improve our quality and service standards.

We look forward to welcoming you back some time in future.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Stayed a week at the Princess Heights, it is condo hotel away from the hustle and bustle. Front desk staff is efficient and helpful. Stay in building two, it has an elevator, one does not.

Pros
Great staff
Kitchen
Wifi (although spotty)
Large room with small kitchenette
Nice view of Dawn Beach (although not on the beach but a 5-10 min walk)
Quiet
Go to Dinghy Dock for brew food.

Cons
Need a car, so get around.
You can get locked out on lanei if you are not careful. Staff warned me but I still managed to lock myself out. On 6th floor so had to hang until I could yell at someone to call the front desk. My fault, but need to change locking mechanisms.
Beware, car theft is common. Do not leave anything in the car period. Car broken into, nothing in car so nothing stolen. But on the hook for the car repair.

Room Tip: Building 2 upper floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrontOfficePH, Manager at Princess Heights Hotel, responded to this review, August 16, 2014
Dear guest, we are happy to know we could meet your expectations at Princess Heights. Thanks for your the time you took to share your thoughts with the rest of the tripadvisor visitors.

Your suggestions for future guests are very valuable and we're sure will help them make a right decision by choosing Princess Heights.

Also, we are sorry that you were locked out in your balcony even when warned about it. We'll take your suggestion into consideration, however, the door system is set like that for security purposes and privacy on lower floors.

We do hope to have you back again at Princess Heights! Do not hesitate to contact us directly so you are entitled to returning guest discounts!

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Princess Heights Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Princess Heights Hotel

Address: Oyster Pond Road #156 | Dawn Beach, St Maarten-St Martin
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St Maarten-St Martin
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in St Maarten-St Martin
#4 On the Beach Hotel in St Maarten-St Martin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Princess Heights Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a hillside overlooking dawn beach and recently awarded 2014 Tripadvisor's Excellence Award (fourth in a row), this affordable Luxury Boutique Condo Hotel offers Studios, One & Two bedroom Suites with fully equipped gourmet kitchens and balconies with majestic ocean views. On site hotel amenities include a freshwater pool, free internet, free parking, free daily newspaper, daily maid service, gym room and concierge service. Additional services include: Car rental, Cell phone rental, Beach chair & umbrella rental. 5 Restaurants close by. It's 10 min to Philipsburg, 15 min to Orient Bay and a 4-minute walk to Dawn Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Princess Heights Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Princess Heights Hotel St Maarten-St Martin, Caribbean
Princess Heights St Maarten Martin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Princess Heights Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.