We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Big Rooms & Cold AC” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Princess Heights Hotel

Save Saved
You added Princess Heights Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Princess Heights Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Oyster Pond Road #156 | Dawn Beach, St Maarten-St Martin   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free Rental Car Deals!
Mobile, Alabama
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Nice Big Rooms & Cold AC”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

I really like this property! The rooms were extra big, AC was very cold, nice staff and pretty views. The only down side, you have to walk down a very steep hill to the beach.

Great value and in my opinion much better than the average small hotel room!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

407 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    272
    105
    14
    9
    7
See reviews for
76
232
11
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zagreb, Croatia
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

This is a very nice hotel located at the Oyster pond. The beach is just 5 min walk from the hotel. The rooms are spacious and very clean with nice balcony. The location is just half way to both Marigot and Phillipsburg. The price is unbeatable comparing to other nearby hotels with same service. Ofcourse you need a car.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

We rented this from an individual Rick Wells. He is a fantastic owner to deal with. The unit #402 was clean and beautiful. The office staff fantastic at explaining directions and having them readily available. The pool area was nice. The location is great your on the border of dutch/french. Renting a car is a must to get around. We will definetely stay here again if we go back to St. Maarten.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cumberland,RI
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Chose this hotel based solely on the reviews provided here. Modern, clean and spacious room (studio for us). Nice balcony with great view. Bed was incredibly soft and the air conditioning worked very well. The staff was super friendly and very helpful in helping us plan our day, not to mention providing great tips on restaurants. They even left a bottle of wine in our room when they found out it was my birthday! Dawn Beach is a short walk from the hotel, however a car really is a requirement if you plan to leave the immediate area. Public transportation there is not really an option

Room Tip: Had a room on the 4th floor and had no issue with mosquitoes and the view was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mehrhoog, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

We stayed in the Princess Heights for 12 nights and it was one of the best accomodations we´ve been so far. Our room was perfectly furnished, very stylish and spacious (1206B) with an breathtaking view over the ocean. The kitchenette was fully equipped and has everything in which is needed to prepare a diner if you don´t want to go to a restaurant in the evening after spending a long day at one of the 37 perfect caribean beaches. The staff is very friendly, competent and helpful whenever you need something. Many thanks at this point especially to Dominique, Maarten, Thijs, Nina and Madeleine.
Due to the exposed position at the hill it was very quite even if you like to sleep with open windows. The road upwards ist guarded at the beginning and is quite steep. But this is no problem at all once you get used to drive on it. You have to have a car anyway to explore the island, the beaches and the restaurants. After 13 days being there i must say that the choice to stay on the Dutch side was the right one. The hotel is not far away from Philipsburg where you can get everything you need. The harbour, the boardwalk, the frontstreet...all of them are good for dining, shopping and relaxing. The best beaches are on the eastern French side but because of the fact that the hotel ist more or less directly located at the eastern border it takes you only a few minutes to reach those beaches.
We will definitely come back to this island and especially to this perfect accomodation. It is the perfect starting point for unforgettable vacations.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

We just came back from St. Maarten for the first time on June 8th after being on the island for 8 days and decided to try Princess Heights because of the reviews we read on this site... We were happy we did. Everyone was extremely nice and helpful, the room was very modern, spacious and CLEAN (a clean room/bed/bathroom is kinda big for me). The hotel is located on a hill, so your views will be of the ocean, the mountain side, as well as the roof of the Westin below you. I thought I would have a problem looking at the roof of a hotel, but waking up everyday to the sound of the waves and the spectacular view [you can see St. Barths on a clear day] made up for that!. Plus you don't need a converter for your electronics. This hotel is on the Dutch side and uses 110 watts just like the U.S.

I hear that the island has public transportation,but get a rental car to explore the island yourself. It's a good way to scope out the areas you want to return to. The island is only 37 square miles, so you won't get lost. Just pay attention to the road signs. I recommend Mr. Busby's (for breakfast and dinner) at Oyster Bay, Sunset Bar and Grill at Maho Beach for you airplane enthusiasts (get the ribs plate w/ fries... yum!), and Orient Beach, which has a "clothing optional" side. Order the BBC drink at the "clothing optional" side (Baileys, banana liqueur, rum, and coconut cream... delicious!). Happy hour starts at 2:30, which means 2 for 1 folks. Try and buy groceries on the Dutch side - the French side is a little expensive and hard to read (haha). There is a good grocery store in Phillipsburg at the end of front street close to where the cruise ships dock.

Look into doing the Farewell Tour. It's an all-day tour around the island on a catamaran (usually on Friday's). Drinks and lunch provided with snorkeling at various spots. I miss this place already and I can't wait to go back. I'm sure you'll love it too...

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

Great stay on the Dutch and French boarder of the island. Definitely need to rent a car to explore all the awesome beaches and great restaurants. Sweet views of st. Bart's from room and balcony. Would highly recommend mr. Busbys for breakfast and dinghy dock bar at oyster pond harbor, cool bar and really good food, specially fish and chips.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Princess Heights Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Princess Heights Hotel

Address: Oyster Pond Road #156 | Dawn Beach, St Maarten-St Martin
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St Maarten-St Martin
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in St Maarten-St Martin
#4 On the Beach Hotel in St Maarten-St Martin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Princess Heights Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a hillside overlooking dawn beach and recently awarded 2014 Tripadvisor's Excellence Award (fourth in a row), this affordable Luxury Boutique Condo Hotel offers Studios, One & Two bedroom Suites with fully equipped gourmet kitchens and balconies with majestic ocean views. On site hotel amenities include a freshwater pool, free internet, free parking, free daily newspaper, daily maid service, gym room and concierge service. Additional services include: Car rental, Cell phone rental, Beach chair & umbrella rental. 5 Restaurants close by. It's 10 min to Philipsburg, 15 min to Orient Bay and a 4-minute walk to Dawn Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Princess Heights Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Princess Heights Hotel St Maarten-St Martin, Caribbean
Princess Heights St Maarten Martin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Princess Heights Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.