We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Spot” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Princess Heights Hotel

Save Saved
You added Princess Heights Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Princess Heights Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Oyster Pond Road #156 | Dawn Beach, St Maarten-St Martin   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Rental Car Deals!
Halifax, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great Spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

We had a great stay at Princess Heights the room was always clean and the location was hidden away in the hills.The room was excellent, lots of storage, updated, clean, good view, balcony, free wifi and newspaper every morning. The only problem we encountered were mosquitos, when we told maintenance they sprayed our door to keep them from coming in but it was an ongoing problem. Princess Heights does offer breakfast in the morning but it is very simple so we went down to the Westin most mornings, it can get a little expensive but it was the best breakfast we could get that was conveniently close. First and foremost if you plan to travel to any beaches we would strongly suggest renting a car for your stay, parking is free and it is by far the easiest way to get around as the hotel is on a steep hill and attractions are spread out around the island. We would definitely stay here again and recommend it to our friends. You MUST go to Loterie Farm and hang out at the natural pool for the day, food is awesome and atmosphere is fun. We also loved Rare and Temptations for restaurants, the family owned business' are fantastic and the owners are on site. Izi was our favorite Italian and Panlaan Thai was excellent if you like Thai food. Great vacation, we cant wait to return.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

419 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    281
    108
    15
    8
    7
See reviews for
79
239
12
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rincon, Puerto Rico
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

My stay at Princess Heights was a superb experience. Check in was easy - they escort you to your room - and fast. Once in the room, the room was large, well decorated and clean. The room had an excleent view of the surrondind bay

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

One of the best rooms I've ever stayed in. Gorgeous views. The full kitchen was a great bonus so that we didn't have to eat out for every meal. Front desk staff was more than happy to help with planning activities but when we asked what their favorite thing on the island to do was or if they could make reccomendations, it seemd like they hadn't actually done many of the activities on the island themselves. So we ended up just trusting TripAdvisor reviews in making our plans and had a great time.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roswell, Georgia, United States
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

We stayed at Princess Heights during high season and the hotel appeared to be fairly full, yet the property was very quiet. The pool was never packed. We could easily walk to the Westin beach. It was nice to have a kitchen to make food rather than eating out every meal. You definitely need a rental car, but it is easy to find your way around the island. Would recommend staying here to a friend!

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caracas, Venezuela
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

We are from Venezuela and we chose Saint Maarten as our easter trip destination. When we booked on Princess Heights we knew from this reviews that the place was very good, but it turned to be more than that. It was awesome. The room was superb, up to the level of every great hotel we have been anywhere in the world. Great sea view and atmosphere. The guys at the frontdesk are making a wonderful job and know the island very well, so you can get great info about whatever you want to do. Absolutely recommended....we are definetely coming back.

Room Tip: Ask for sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coquitlam, Canada
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

The overall experience during our 10 days stay at the Princess Heights was simply superb. The staff was very helpful and 'on the ball' no matter what we asked for or inquired about. The deal on our hotel room we got via Expedia booking was unbelievable value too. Very comfy beds, immaculate cleaning service every day and an amazing ocean view from each and every room - the hotel is built into a steep slope and every room faces the ocean (you might have to be prepared to tackle few flights of stairs while staying there, but that that was never an issue for our group what so ever). The area where the hotel is, Oyster Pond, is an up-scale neighbourhood with few good dining and 'watering hole' spots, but beware - nothing works past 10pm in case you want to go late night. Best spot for casual eat out & wine - Mama Pizza! Obviously when on Sint Maarten you will be way better off to rent a car, so you can drive around the island and explore both the French and the Dutch side - lots too see and experience for sure... and hen it comes down to choosing a beach - take this advise, save you search time and go with the BEST - Ilet Pinel - a small paradise just off the north-east corner of the island - once you go you will not want to leave!!!

Room Tip: request a room in the new building up the hill for an even more spectacular ocean view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qualicum Beach, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We truly enjoyed our 5 nights at Princess Heights. The young staff in reception welcomed us warmly and were extremely helpful in any request we had. The room was more deluxe than we had expected and it truly was an OCEAN view. We would return to Princess Heights in a heartbeat and highly recommend it.

Room Tip: If you prefer a room with an elevator choose Building B. Although we always take the stairs then we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Princess Heights Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Princess Heights Hotel

Address: Oyster Pond Road #156 | Dawn Beach, St Maarten-St Martin
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St Maarten-St Martin
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in St Maarten-St Martin
#4 On the Beach Hotel in St Maarten-St Martin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Princess Heights Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a hillside overlooking dawn beach and recently awarded 2014 Tripadvisor's Excellence Award (fourth in a row), this affordable Luxury Boutique Condo Hotel offers Studios, One & Two bedroom Suites with fully equipped gourmet kitchens and balconies with majestic ocean views. On site hotel amenities include a freshwater pool, free internet, free parking, free daily newspaper, daily maid service, gym room and concierge service. Additional services include: Car rental, Cell phone rental, Beach chair & umbrella rental. 5 Restaurants close by. It's 10 min to Philipsburg, 15 min to Orient Bay and a 4-minute walk to Dawn Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookIt.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Travelocity, Venere and Otel so you can book your Princess Heights Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Princess Heights Hotel St Maarten-St Martin, Caribbean
Princess Heights St Maarten Martin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Princess Heights Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.