We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place for R&R” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Princess Heights Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Princess Heights Hotel to your Saves list
Princess Heights Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Oyster Pond Road #156 | Dawn Beach, St Maarten-St Martin   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book Direct = Free Car!
Pinckney, Michigan
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Perfect place for R&R”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

The staff at Princess Heights is outstanding. They are totally customer oriented, from the front desk personnel to the grounds crew. The hotel itself is clean and quiet. The rooms are spacious and comfortable. Enjoying morning coffee on the balcony while watching the sun rise over Dawn Beach and planning which beach to visit for the day...what a wonderful way to escape the gray of winter!

Room Tip: In order to reach the rooms in the second building, you have to go through the first one which does...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

425 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    286
    109
    15
    8
    7
See reviews for
80
242
13
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

We booked Princess Heights through Jetblue Getaways. Travelling with 3 children my wife and I agreed that having kitchen possibilities was a major plus. When we arrived we were really impressed by the standard of the rooms which were even better than the photos. Spacious, clean and with high-end details. Wonderful balcony with a view of St Baarths. You really need a car, St Maarthens is hilly with poor (steep!) roads and there are lots of places to go see. The pool was really nice and the staff really helpful. Roomservice was great. Really happy to see that they provided with beach towels as well but a bit of a let down that they weren't replenished so well. I would definitely recommend this place even though it's not really walking distance to any town.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Look no further as this is "THE" place to stay in St Maarten. Excellent views! Large, modern, very clean, and comfortable rooms! Free and great WiFi. Close to great restaurants and French side. This side of island is less touristy and much quieter. Hotel was entirely booked at the time, but we didn't hear even a peep from other guests.
Staff goes above and beyond! We had a very dramatic beginning to our stay - one of our group lost their carry-on as the cab drive didn't close the top window and it ended up on the road - long story short - the staff immediately called around, allowed the guest to use phone and internet to quickly close all cards. And at the end of the night, another cab driver had picked up the bag and returned to the hotel w/out even on dollar missing!
Only minor drawback is that guests must climb stories of steps to other buildings (that do have elevators), so if you are not good with stairs you may want another choice. Upside - good exercise and it's worth the climb to beautiful views!
Close good restaurants include Busby's for more casual dining and Canoa was excellent for a more upscale experience. Definitely spend a day at Pinel Island for great beach experience.

Room Tip: We stayed one night on front end of cruise and two at back end. Both rooms had excellent views
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

The staff at Princess Heights Luxury Boutique Hotel are extraordinary! Nadine greeted me upon my arrival and turned my CRAZY travel day into a HAPPY one. She has excellent customer service skills, explained the details of our stay, thoroughly answered my questions with the biggest and warmest smile. Any questions or reservations I needed, they made it happen. This is by far one of the top 5 hotels I've stayed at in regards to customer service, luxury of a 2 bedroom suite, cleanliness and did I mention superb customer service! I'm a huge hotel snob and this place exceeded my expectations!

Thanks again for the birthday surprise!! I'm telling everyone about Princess Heights Luxury Boutique.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gig Harbor, Washington, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We recently stayed at PH and had a great time. Really didn't know what to expect before we got there since my girlfriend did most of the research. But once we got there the staff was very attentive to all our needs from providing a cell phone for a minimal charge in case of emergencies to giving us information on local activities. The room was what you would find in a 4 star hotel, upscale kitchen, large living room, beautiful bathroom and great view of the ocean. There is also free Wi-Fi which was helpful in keeping in touch with family back home and posting pics of our incredible vacation.

A car is a must and most restaurants are a quick drive away. If you are looking for a family friendly beach there is Le Galion a short distance on the French side or if you want more options drive just a little further and there is Orient Bay with a number of beaches with restaurants and most also have Wi-Fi. I would recommend PH to my family and friends and look forward to going back in the future!

Room Tip: Ask to get a room in the 2nd building up top which is new and has an elevator. Also buy some mosqui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We stayed at Princess Heights the last time we were in St. Maarten/St Martin and when we inquired this time, we found out they offer a returning guest discount. I will say up front that the hotel doesn't have much in the way of amenities--no restaurant, no room service. But everything is so close, it didn't impact our stay negatively. However, if those things are important to you, just be aware of that.

We stayed in the studio suite, which is the size of a decent-sized hotel room with very nice finishings and a small kitchenette. There is a small market down the hill and a couple nice supermarkets on the island, so you could really cook in the room the whole time if you wanted to. But why would you with so many great food options on the island? There are several restaurants at Dawn Beach at the bottom of the hill, but St. Martin/Maarten is a place to rent a car and get to know the island. We got a Fodor's guide on our first trip and found lots of great guidance on where to go and what to see.

Room Tip: Make sure to check the hotel website for seasonal specials
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights while exploring St. Martin and were impressed with the hotel. The location might be difficult without a rental car, however it's located next to the Westin at Dawn Beach, so it's pretty easy to find on the island's winding roads thanks to signs for the Westin wherever you go.

We stayed on the top floor of the second building and were treated to amazing sunrises over the ocean and neighboring St. Barths. The room included a small kitchenette which allowed us to store food for breakfast. The location served as a good home base for beach hopping throughout the island and was a comfortable spot to return to after a day exploring.

The staff was helpful, and overall impression was quite good. While the pool looked inviting, there were too many nice beaches to spend time at the pool.

The only complaints were the internet (weak wifi signal) as well as the shower pressure. It was as if the shower head was clogged and not spraying correctly, however it wasn't uncomfortable enough to complain immediately to the hotel staff, so it wouldn't be fair to knock the score down for that, since we didn't give them a chance to fix it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Princess Heights Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Princess Heights Hotel

Address: Oyster Pond Road #156 | Dawn Beach, St Maarten-St Martin
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St Maarten-St Martin
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in St Maarten-St Martin
#4 On the Beach Hotel in St Maarten-St Martin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Princess Heights Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a hillside overlooking dawn beach and recently awarded 2014 Tripadvisor's Excellence Award (fourth in a row), this affordable Luxury Boutique Condo Hotel offers Studios, One & Two bedroom Suites with fully equipped gourmet kitchens and balconies with majestic ocean views. On site hotel amenities include a freshwater pool, free internet, free parking, free daily newspaper, daily maid service, gym room and concierge service. Additional services include: Car rental, Cell phone rental, Beach chair & umbrella rental. 5 Restaurants close by. It's 10 min to Philipsburg, 15 min to Orient Bay and a 4-minute walk to Dawn Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, BookIt.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Princess Heights Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Princess Heights Hotel St Maarten-St Martin, Caribbean
Princess Heights St Maarten Martin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Princess Heights Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.