We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Way better place to stay at than this hotel” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Princess Heights Hotel

Save Saved
You added Princess Heights Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Princess Heights Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Oyster Pond Road #156 | Dawn Beach, St Maarten-St Martin   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book Direct-get free Car!
Toronto, Canada
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Way better place to stay at than this hotel”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

We stayed here Jan 2013 after reading all the glowing reviews on Tripadvisor.

The hotel itself is average at best. You MUST have a car if you stay here. The location is terrible. It is at least a 20 minutes drive away from anything (and that's if there is no traffic). Be prepared to drive at least 1.5 hours a day.

The rooms are supposed to be ocean view but our room view was basically of the westin's roof. The hotel was deserted during our stay (supposedly high season) so I suspect we had one of the better rooms at this hotel.

If you want to stay somewhere out of the way, there is the Westin just a couple of minutes from this hotel which is a far better option. Staying at Princess, you can use the Westin beach but you can't use their beach chairs. The Princess allows you to rent chairs but then you have to carry it a 20 minute walk to the beach.

On the third day of our stay we wanted to drive out but there was a construction crew blocking the entire road. The hotel management told us to wait by the driveway and someone will come and show us another way to get out. After 20 minutes, no one showed up so we had to follow a local taxi out.

I suspect most of the people writing positive reviews here own condos in this resort so they obviously have an interest in having you stay here. Here's my advice, DON'T, there are far better options on the island.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrontOfficePH, Manager at Princess Heights Hotel, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
TripAdvisor applies very strict rules and regulation and doesn’t allows owners to post reviews on their own properties. We value reviews and take them very serious. The hotel is located on a hillside in a quiet neighborhood but there are plenty of activities and restaurants only a few minutes away. We always advise our guest to rent a car. Most people who stay at Princess Heights prefer tranquility and enjoy the fact that it is not crowded even when the Hotel is full. Because the Westin does not allow our guests to use their beach chairs, we decided to provide beach chairs to our guests so they can take them to any beach on the island (not just Dawn Beach). Dawn Beach is located just down the hill and can be reached by foot within 10 minutes. Because the hotel is situated a little higher up the hill you always have an expanded view of the area overlooking the ocean with a stunning view of St. Barths from any unit. This view includes that of the Westin and some other properties as they are located between Princess Heights and the beach.

It is very unfortunate that a few guests have a less pleasant stay at Princess Heights, but we try our best to give all our guests a great stay. When guest checkout and have constructive feedback, suggestions or have concerns, we use this to improve our service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

406 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    273
    104
    14
    8
    7
See reviews for
76
233
12
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

The rooms were nice but the phone didn't work. The staff was nice and helpful. The cleaning staff was excellent.

The beach was average at best. After going down 6 flights of stairs and negotiating the main road and the westin hotel. Lots of mosquitos and no window netting. The whole family got bitten numerous occasions at the pool.

A Car is an absolute necessity.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

My fiance and I just spent ten days in st maarten in January 2013 and stayed at Princess Heights in a studio room. The room is very modern and the bathroom has a double sink with granite top and a great jacuzzi tub. The studio has a kitchenette with an electric stove top and microwave. This was our first time staying at this hotel. We usually stay at the Flamingo Resort in Simpson Bay. This hotel is in a very exclusive section of Oyster Bay/ Tamarind Hill. There are several million dollar properties with gated driveways. To drive to this hotel, there is a gate. They give you a keychain when you check in that opens the gate. Most of the time there is also a guard at the gate. There are alot of steep roads, but nothing too scary. You have to drive carefully on the correct side of the road and not speed especially when it's raining. The french side is literally at the end of the hill, so this was a nice balance between the dutch side and the french side. The princess heights is also listed as a condo property so there is no restaurant or bar. There is a very nice pool with deck chairs. To access the beach, you either have to drive down to Dawn Beach which is accessible either through the Westin Hotel or Oyster Bay Resort. I don't recommend that you walk down, the steps are very steep and it's not a stair well that is easily accessed. This is a hotel that is good for couples, but I would not bring kids. If you have kids, stay at a more traditional time share like resort that is on the beach. Getting to the beach is a chore. The Westin does not rent beach chairs so we had to sit on a towel which is embarrassing when all the beach chairs are basically empty. I don't recommend accessing the beach at the Westin because the waves are really high, and I didn't feel comfortable getting in the water. The beach at the Oyster Bay resort is much better. The water is fairly calm, and there are several restaurants on the beach that let you rent two beach chairs and an umbrella for $12. They also have drink specials where you can get a bucket of 10 coronas for $7. Not bad. They also have a nice restaurant on the resort that serves breakfast until 11am and the prices are about $10 per person...also very reasonable. Here are my only negative comments about Princess Heights...we came into our room and found our patio door unlcoked a couple times...even after we called the front desk to let them know. All of the patios at the hotel are connected so you can literally walk to your neighbors patio. This did not make us feel very secure. The workout room is very outdated with only one cardio machine that's about 15 years old. This area has alot of hills which I liked because I like to run and I wanted to run outside. However, when I went out to run on the second day one of the neighbor's dogs chased me, which made me feel very unsafe running outside. Because this is an exclusive area everyone has dogs, some of which are very big. The neighbors sometimes let their dogs roam free which means that if you want to run outside you're taking a risk. This was a major downside because I like to workout. If you want to run, I recommend driving down to Oyster Bay resort and running in that area which is much more tourist friendly. The kitchenette was fine, but the basic dishware items were not there (no wine glasses...eek). They did give us champagne glasses but it's not quite the same. If I came back to this hotel, I would definitely stay in a one bedroom that has a fully stocked kitchen with all of the amenities. Because we are accustomed to staying in timeshares, we have become spoiled in having a full kitchen set up like a toaster, a blender, oven, etc. The studio apartments in this unit does not have that, and we missed it. We also missed not being at a beachfront property. Renting beach chairs every day are an additional expense. Also...BE AWARE...this hotels adds a 15% "service charge" to your bill. We were aware of that upfront, and asked them to negotiate a bit which they did. The front desk said that this was for government tax, but I have never had to pay a 15% tax in St Maarten ever. When I inquired they said that it's to cover cleaning your room everyday, but at the end of our stay they give you an envelope to suggest that you leave money for the housekeepers. When you are in st. martin, pay attention to whether they add 15% to your bill when you eat out. Some places try to be slick and call is a tax when it's really the service fee. We had this happen at Zee Best, and left a tip not knowing that they had already iincluded the tip by calling it a tax. When you book this hotel, ask them to waive the service fee, if they don't...ask them if you can get a complimentary rental car which is about the same price as the service fee.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

We stayed for 5 nights at this property and it was absolutely wonderful. Everything was very quiet, clean and the staff very friendly and helpful. A huge bonus for us was the in-room kitchen and guest laundry available (after spending the previous 6 days on a boat this was ideal!). Also, pool was relaxing and hardly ever busy. Also nice to have quick walks to the nearby beaches when we wanted a change of scenery!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

The location of this property is excellent! Away from the main tourist areas of the island & right on the French/Dutch border. All units have a balcony & from our bed each morning we could see St. Barts and a few other islands - absolutely gorgeous. The unit we had was well appointed with nice furniture and everything you would need while on vacation. The staff was more than pleasant and very helpful. The biggest drawback (for some) of this property is the driveway - very steep, but for us it was fun & part of the adventure. Also, it on top of a large hill so we were laughing at some of the smaller cars trying to make it to the top of the hill (they made it, but lots of struggling). The Westin is directly across the street & you have access to their facilities (nice pool), but I think you have a better view and more freedom at Princess Heights. If we return to St. Maarten, we will most definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lockport, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We just concluded a 7 day stay at the Princess Heights. Everything, from the friendly staff service, the views and the beautiful, spacious room were more than expected. We traveled with the entire family, including two college aged sons and a teenaged daughter and could not have been happier with this boutique hotel. There are "several" stairs to climb but it never appeared to be a problem. Location, price and spotless rooms..PERFECT !

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013 via mobile

Great views, spacious and clean rooms, friendly and helpful staff. 10 min from the beach downhill (mind walking back :), car is a must to explore the island, no restaurant - this is serviced apartments after all. I would definitely come back!!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Princess Heights Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Princess Heights Hotel

Address: Oyster Pond Road #156 | Dawn Beach, St Maarten-St Martin
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St Maarten-St Martin
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in St Maarten-St Martin
#4 On the Beach Hotel in St Maarten-St Martin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Princess Heights Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a hillside overlooking dawn beach and recently awarded 2014 Tripadvisor's Excellence Award (fourth in a row), this affordable Luxury Boutique Condo Hotel offers Studios, One & Two bedroom Suites with fully equipped gourmet kitchens and balconies with majestic ocean views. On site hotel amenities include a freshwater pool, free internet, free parking, free daily newspaper, daily maid service, gym room and concierge service. Additional services include: Car rental, Cell phone rental, Beach chair & umbrella rental. 5 Restaurants close by. It's 10 min to Philipsburg, 15 min to Orient Bay and a 4-minute walk to Dawn Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Princess Heights Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Princess Heights Hotel St Maarten-St Martin, Caribbean
Princess Heights St Maarten Martin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Princess Heights Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.