We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly affordable luxury!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Princess Heights Hotel

Save Saved
You added Princess Heights Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Princess Heights Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Oyster Pond Road #156 | Dawn Beach, St Maarten-St Martin   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free Rental Car Deals!
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Truly affordable luxury!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012 via mobile

This fantastic gem of a hotel would've received all 5s from me, but I'm sure some would complain that no one warned them how far away from the cities and stuff it is. For us, that's what we were looking for and it was super easy to simply follow the signs all over the island to the Westin. The hotel itself has a really great staff and the rooms are beautiful. I can't really complain about the view of the Westin because all I could see from my bed was the ocean! Also, the little restaurants nearby are great and there are 3 markets within quick driving distance that have all your basic necessities. My overall opinion is: highly recommended!! :)

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

409 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    274
    105
    14
    9
    7
See reviews for
76
232
12
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tortola, BVI
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We went to Princess Height for the weekend and it was the best trip ever. My boyfriend had his birthday and he had a blast. The staff was very generous and helpful in every way. The room OMG was way more than I expected. It was elegantly chic and very very clean with perfect view with everything I needed, a stocked fridge for eg. as I requested. The only thing I missed was a elevator but other than that everything was perfect. I would suggest though anyone renting a car to rent it with a GPS and search for Oyster Pond, after arriving in Oyster Pond research for Princess Height. If not the GPS will take you on a horrible dirt road. We learned the hard way but was advise by the staff, there was a much better road which we drove the rest of the time there. Thank all the staff at Princess Height for a wonderful wonderful time.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Booked a stay through JetBlue Getaways for a great price, so honestly wasn't expecting much other than a clean basic place to stay. Princess Heights turned out to be quiet the pleasant surprise. I room was clean, had modern furniture, a comfortable California King mattress, and best of all a full sized balcony with table and chairs overlooking the Caribbean Sea, with full views of St. Barts. The staff are mostly Dutch hotel management students, rather than locals, but they were friendly and enthusiastic. The beach (Dawn beach) is about a ten minute walk away - part of the walk is behind the Westin along the service road, not a big deal but something to consider. The beach itself is lovely, in October 2012 it was quiet, almost like a private beach, but the Westin does have a beach bar and offers other services as well.

The hotel isn't full service, there isn't a restaurant or spa, though there is a pool and small workout room. You'll definitely need a rental car, the location is in a quiet residential area, outside the Westin there isn't anything else inside reasonable walking distance, and taxis on the island are very expensive, vs the cost of a car and fuel.

All in all this is quiet the hidden gem, and really surprised me with its luxury and views.

Room Tip: Building number 3 is the highest, and has the best ocean views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Have stayed hear before and was not dissappointed this time either, has great views friendly staff
is clean, little bit off the beaten path but well worth it you need a car but thats like any where else on st martin which also allows you to enjoy the rest of this beutiful island.
Loved it and will be going back very soon.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

It is a bit of hike to get to but once you get a hang of the roads it is not too bad. IT is isloated and if you are the newer building will need to go through a small road up hill to get to the parking lot. You will def need a rental car. We were in a one bedrooom room and it was awesome. Tons of space and modern amenties , the free wifi helped (only worked in living room though). The bathtub in the bathroom is a jacuzzi.

Tips - the supermarket in oyster bay by capatin oliver is cheaper than the one the hotel recommends. Mr. Busbys which is near by is also a nice beach bar close by.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

This was a great find and four or five-star quality. The pros FAR outweigh the cons and you can’t beat the price.

Pros:
Beautiful rooms, and a great kitchen efficiency and Jacuzzi tub. Excellent views from the balconies; they all (?) look over Oyster Bay. Secluded location. Friendly staff gave us a complimentary bottle of wine when we said it was our honeymoon. It is a short drive to the French or Dutch sides. Free laundry room facilities.

Cons:
It is a 25 minute drive from the airport, but an easy one. If you rent a compact car, expect to really, really push it up the mountainous hills in the Oyster Pond area. Oyster Pond is not the best beach on the island; expect to drive there and then pay to be able to sit down, ~$14. You can walk to the beach down the steep stairs, through the Westin parking lot, but it takes like 10 – 15 minutes.

Room Tip: The kitchen efficiency rooms are quite nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

We had never been to St. Maarten and didn't know what to expect. All I can say is the hotel rooms are beautiful with amazing ocean views. Rooms were very clean and modern. As far as location the hotel is really in an isolated location. Not much around the hotel except the beach and a few restaurants in other resorts. The hotel is right next to the Westin in Dawn Beach. Nothing around that we walked to but you could walk. We drove our rental to the beach, the Westin and a restaurant called Busby's. They are all within 2-3 minutes from the hotel. The road to the hotel is a little narrow and the the parking to the hotel is up an isolated very narrow gated road. If you are looking for a quiet isolated getaway with stunning views this place is for you. You definitely need a car if you decide to stay here.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Princess Heights Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Princess Heights Hotel

Address: Oyster Pond Road #156 | Dawn Beach, St Maarten-St Martin
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St Maarten-St Martin
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in St Maarten-St Martin
#4 On the Beach Hotel in St Maarten-St Martin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Princess Heights Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a hillside overlooking dawn beach and recently awarded 2014 Tripadvisor's Excellence Award (fourth in a row), this affordable Luxury Boutique Condo Hotel offers Studios, One & Two bedroom Suites with fully equipped gourmet kitchens and balconies with majestic ocean views. On site hotel amenities include a freshwater pool, free internet, free parking, free daily newspaper, daily maid service, gym room and concierge service. Additional services include: Car rental, Cell phone rental, Beach chair & umbrella rental. 5 Restaurants close by. It's 10 min to Philipsburg, 15 min to Orient Bay and a 4-minute walk to Dawn Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Princess Heights Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Princess Heights Hotel St Maarten-St Martin, Caribbean
Princess Heights St Maarten Martin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Princess Heights Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.