We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't go wrong with Bernard's Tours!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bernard's Tours

Bernard's Tours
St. Maarten/St. Martin Convention Ctr., 33152, St Maarten-St Martin
(954) 376-6582
Website
Improve this listing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: \
DC Area
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
41 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
“Can't go wrong with Bernard's Tours!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Not sure where to start (so this may be longer than most - but worth the read I hope).

Like lots of reviews here have said, they are top notch! Number one surprise and kudo's was when we met up with our driver - David Taylor - and was told that we were the only ones booked for the tour (SXM Island Tour II). Other tour companies may have canceled or would have no showed, not Bernard's.

Not sure how David normally conducts his tours with larger groups; but with just my fiancé and myself we were filled with history (past and present), social issues of the two sides of the island, and his personal stories of life in the islands around St. Maarten. A perfect fit for us, since we don't just want to be tourists that just do the sights.

After a quick stop for David to get lettuce for the iguana farm (he wasn't sure if we were going to be no shows as well), a fun day started. The cooler in the van was already loaded with water, soda, beer, rum punch and ice. The off to see the iguana's. His personal connection to them was inspiring. A short lesson on a local berry, and mention of the cock fighting for the locals.

Then off to Oyster Pond and its great views and the sea urchin guy (I think his name was Joe). Again his personal connection with "Joe" added to the stop. A short stop in Marigot - since it was Sunday and most shops were closed we grabbed a desert lunch at Sarifina's. When we got to Orient Beach , that is where it just being the two of us paid off on the selection of where to layout on this great beach (the La Playa beach bar). Then made our way to Maho and Sunset Grill and the airport.

This was my second trip to St. Maarten and my fiancé's first, and David made it wonderful. Will ask for David and Bernard's Tours whenever we visit again.

Some final notes. Communication with Bernard's via email was prompt and without deposit (which worried me some, but as shown without reason). For cruisers visiting the Eastern Caribbean; ask Bernard for any contacts he has for similar tour services in the region. Evidently he has contacts on other islands.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

669 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    549
    84
    20
    13
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Billings, Montana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great Day!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

We had a group of 15 and booked a private tour with Bernard's tours. The ages ranged from 6 to 73 years old. We all were able to pay when we arrived (I had already paid the $90 deposit). They had a very clean, nice 18-20 person bus for us. Junior was our tour leader and he was great. He gave us a lot of information about the island and was also very helpful. Our beach choice was Le Gallion because we had heard it was the best beach for kids. It was great! Shallow, calm water for as far as anyone wanted to go. Perfect for kids and the adults had a good time too. Nice sand and a restaurant which let you use the bathroom facilities. We asked for a recommendation for lunch and he called and got us a reservation for 15 people at a local restaurant. It was great food and it was fun eating the island favorites. He made sure we left lunch in time to get to Maho beach to see the large Air France plane land. It was a sight to see. He then dropped those of us who wanted to shop at the shopping area and took the rest of us back to port. The entire group really enjoyed the day. Most said it was the best excursion they had ever been on. The price was very reasonable for the length of time (6 hours) and the drinks were included. If anyone is traveling with a group or can find one, this is definitely the way to go!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great way to see Sint Maarten”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Had Sexy as our tour guide. Very knowledgeable and thorough on the history of the island, how it has developed and where it's going. Stopped at an iguana farm, Orient Beach, at another beach to see some marine wildlife (with great views for pictures) and at Maho Bay where the planes come in low. Great fun. Plus there was a stop at the end for souvenirs and we got back to the cruise ship in plenty of time.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Branch, Michigan
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Island Splendor with Sugar”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

We love to travel the Caribbean. We have written several books on lighthouses and use cruises to get to some of the islands. On those occasions when there is not a lighthouse, we often team up with the rest of our group and take an excursion. On this excursion, our travel agent Julie Irovando with Cruise Planners, hooked us up with Bernard's Tours. Like Forrest Gump says, "you never know what you're going to get" with one of these tours, but this one was very good. One of the reasons this tour was soooooo good was our bus driver/host, Sugar, was excellent. He was very informative, very friendly, very funny, and just made the tour fantastic. Highly recommend!!!!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Very professional, clean, great equipment DJOur guide very knowledgable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

The tour was fantastic. Learned a lot about the island , politics of the island, different areas, history. DJ our guide was pleasant, knowledgable, got out at stops and near by for questions and very pleasant. Would use them again

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bernard's Tours also viewed

Philipsburg, Sint Maarten
Sint Maarten, St Maarten-St Martin
 
Sint Maarten, St Maarten-St Martin
 

Been to Bernard's Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bernard's Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.