We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WORST CUSTOMER RELATIONS I HAVE EVER EXPERIENCED” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Caribbean Princess

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Caribbean Princess to your Saves list
Caribbean Princess
4.5 of 5 Condominium   |   Parc de la Baie Orientale | PO Box 5100, 97150, St Maarten-St Martin   |  
Hotel amenities
New York City, New York
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“WORST CUSTOMER RELATIONS I HAVE EVER EXPERIENCED”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2011

I scheduled a package to St. Maarten that included airfare, a 7 day stay at the Caribbean Princess and a car for the week of January 12th. Unfortunately, there was a major snowstorm in NYC and the airport had canceled a number of flights, including mine. The airline was able to reschedule my trip to January 15th without penalty. I then spoke to Orbitz who called the hotel. They were not willing to extend my stay there because it was "high" season (although there were rooms listed as still available at the hotel on Orbitz for the dates in question). In addition, I was told that I would have to pay a $400. "penalty" for the cancelation. I decided to call the hotel myself to see if I could reason with the management and explain that this was not something in my control. The "manager" who was very haughty and nasty told me that she was "too busy and had work to do" when I called to discuss this. She offered to charge me half of the week ($1200.) that I would be missing and book the following week for the same price ($2400.). So I should pay $3600. instead of $2400. because of a snow storm and canceled flight, or cancel and pay the $400. penalty. And she had an attitude the entire conversation. I have been coming to St. Maarten for over 30 years and have stayed in many other hotels and resorts and have never been treated this way. The condo's look like they are very nice but with management like this, I would think twice about booking there. I am going back to a resort that I have stayed in before that I know would never treat guests this way. Sad.

Stayed January 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    6
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
3
4
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
tampa, fl
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2009

We rented a condo at the Caribbean Princess on the second floor, the "Princess Anouck" in late August '09! It exceeded our (3 women) expectations. The Caribbean Princess and Orient Beach area is everthing you imagine a Caribbean island to be. You can walk the beach or take the cut off at Bikini beach where you'll find a small shipping village and restaurants. If you prefer. lounge on the beach with drinks and lunch delivered to you. Mountains in the background and the crystal blue sea in front. You will love it! Daily Maid Service too. Front Desk is quite helpful. If you like to gamble, it's a short drive to the Westin Casino.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, CA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2009

We spent 10 wonderful days here over July 4. The vacation started out kind of rocky when we made our connection in San Juan but our bags didn't. But after that it was smooth sailing. The condo is large and well appointed, very clean and on the very best part of Orient. We were on the ground floor and had no issues with safety - use common sense. The staff (especially Angie at the desk) was very friendly and helpful, even the cabanna boys of Waikiki. Such an easy walk into the village for dinner. We especially enjoyed the private pool.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broomall, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2008

We stayed at the Caribbean Princess on a Girl's Getaway Weekend in Early March of '08 and we absolutely loved the resort! Great location on one of the world's 25 best beaches.
Nudity was no problem which was great. Our 2 HUGE bedroom villa which they called beachfront wasn't really ON the beach but it's as bf as you're going to get there. We saw the ocean from our terrace but behind a row of palms and a drive path, but that wasn't a trip breaker by any means. Hey, it's St. Martin and it's 85 degrees and you're 1500 miles away from your life!
The staff was nice and the villa HUGE. Our terrage was gigantic and had plenty of room for entertaining.
Location is secluded and quiet and we loved the little market in Orient Village where we stocked up on wine and cheese and other local provisions.
The only thing that kept this from being a 5 star review is that they had no 24-hour front desk service and the day we checked in one girl was running around doing all the work. For this kind of money, round the clock front desk concierge service should be paramount, especillay given the security concerns that other travellers expressed. We were OK there, but more service is needed, at least for high season.
Also, work on your French. The front desk attendants speak English, but the domestic staff and securty guards do not. I can speak some so I didn't have "une probleme". Besides, it's make the trip more fun, mai non?
Definitely book, go, and enjoy and take your clothes off! You'll be positively transformed.

  • Liked — Location, location, location!!!
  • Disliked — Needs better front desk, concierge service.
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2008

Caribbean Princess was a wonderful place to stay. We were warmly greeted by property manager Alex who continued to be helpful throughout our stay. She was able to recommend restaurants and sites to visit, always with concern and interest. She was a highlight. We had the advantage of staying in both the first floor and second floor villas as we upgraded during our visit, mostly because we were concerned about safety after reading previous reviews. Although we were cautious (rolling down shutters, locking all valuables), we did feel we were safe throughout the week. There were security guards on duty every night and the cleaning staff were visible and courteous. The villa itself was spectacular. Extremely spacious and clean. The sliding doors leading to the outside open fully into the wall, making it feel like you could entertain dozens of friends if you wanted to. The first floor rooms open to a deck and a small, grassy area that you can sun yourself on in the morning. There are tall hedges for some privacy and although you can't see the beach, you do get the tradewinds and can hear the ocean. You will not be disappointed if this is where you stay. The second floor living room sliders open to a deck, but what you lose in terms of yard space, you gain in terms of a spectacular view of Orient Beach. Nothing like it - the blue water and tropical breezes are enduring. With your stay you have access to a few beach areas with chairs and umbrellas. You also have the ability to make charges to your room. Breakfast at Coco Beach was a highlight for us. Rent a car and go to Grand Case for some excellent dining, particularly Il Nettuno and numerous French restaurants. We went to the shopping areas once and raced back to the quiet of our beach. There were only a few downsides, one being TV reception. The hotel should consider cable or satellite reception as this area is pretty quiet at night. Also the American dollar has lost value against the Euro making for considerable additional costs we had not realized. All that being said, we would definitely return to the Caribbean Princess and St. Martin.

  • Liked — Spectacular view of Orient Beach
  • Disliked — TV reception
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jupiter, FL
1 review
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2007

We had a wonderful week. YOur reservation system was flawless, we got just what we ordered. Facilities were great, lots of fun, great food all along the beach and in Grand Case, Oiyster Pond and the capital, and I would have talked about all that in this review, but our last day ruined the trip. While we were at the beach our final morning for about an hour, our locked room safe was opened in our locked condo and our wallets were stolen. Front desk said police would not investigate because nothing was broken into, so either they never called police, they were implying that we for some reason were faking the theft, or it is ok for employees or friends of employees to steal. They only got about two hundred Euro, but all our id's and credit cards. We spent our last two hours in St. Maritn on the phone cancelling credit cards. Once we got home we also had to call all credit bureaus and set up a fraud alert, and we pray that will stop anyone from stealing our identities. They did not take our passports or our travelers checks. They obviously did not want us to be trapped there. That would have forced an investigation. I give Cap Caraibe, which supervises the Caribbean Princess condos an absolute failing grade, and I am nearly certain their employees were in on the theft. How else could they have gotten in, in the one hour we were gone in broad daylight? We will return to St. Martin, but never to Caraibe or Caribbean Princess. It is a den of thieves. Please do not reject this review. If the companies involved want to challenge our review we will do so in court.
James Minard

Was this review helpful? Yes 25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
capcaraibes, Sales & Marketing Managment at Caribbean Princess, responded to this review, October 10, 2007
The hotel staff is very disappointed by this review.
French or even US Police only investigate when there is a broke in which was not the case. The day before, the same housekeeper lady has been honest and professional enough to call us to inform the guest that their safe was opened… On the registration form, that the guest needs to sign when doing the check in, it is well written that the safe in the guest room is at their disposal and that they are responsible for it. We have a note on sliding doors in each room that mentioned to close everything before leaving the room. We always make sure at the reception that the guests are aware of those security points. There is unfortunately nothing we can do if there is no broke in or if the guest leaves the safe or the windows open.

Regards,
Cap Caraibes Resort team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mississippi
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2007

We had a great time and plan to return this October. Always get 2nd floor accomodations. That was one of the perks of staying there. We found the open porch to be so relaxing in the early a.m. and late p.m. Things we learned and to be aware of is: they don't use washcloths on the french side, so carry your own if you need to, the food is very expensive and we found it was worth the drive to the dutch side to eat or other parts orf the island, the pool was small, but private. Staff was accomodating and helpful with excursions and other questions. If you come in on Sunday afternoon, there isn't a store closeby to buy food, etc. without paying an outrageous price. There is a large food supermarket on the island, but not open on Sunday. We felt very safe here and had no problems. Carry a good book because T.V. reception is terrible. Kind of nice, that's part of relaxation!

Stayed October 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Caribbean Princess? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caribbean Princess

Address: Parc de la Baie Orientale | PO Box 5100, 97150, St Maarten-St Martin
Location: Caribbean > St Maarten-St Martin
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 50 Specialty Lodging in St Maarten-St Martin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Caribbean Princess 4.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Caribbean Princess reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caribbean Princess Hotel St. Maarten/St. Martin
Caribbean Princess St Maarten-St Martin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Caribbean Princess, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.