We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved the Princess and will be back” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Caribbean Princess

Save Saved
You added Caribbean Princess to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Caribbean Princess
4.5 of 5 Condominium   |   Parc de la Baie Orientale | PO Box 5100, 97150, St Maarten-St Martin   |  
Hotel amenities
Broomall, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“We loved the Princess and will be back”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2008

We stayed at the Caribbean Princess on a Girl's Getaway Weekend in Early March of '08 and we absolutely loved the resort! Great location on one of the world's 25 best beaches.
Nudity was no problem which was great. Our 2 HUGE bedroom villa which they called beachfront wasn't really ON the beach but it's as bf as you're going to get there. We saw the ocean from our terrace but behind a row of palms and a drive path, but that wasn't a trip breaker by any means. Hey, it's St. Martin and it's 85 degrees and you're 1500 miles away from your life!
The staff was nice and the villa HUGE. Our terrage was gigantic and had plenty of room for entertaining.
Location is secluded and quiet and we loved the little market in Orient Village where we stocked up on wine and cheese and other local provisions.
The only thing that kept this from being a 5 star review is that they had no 24-hour front desk service and the day we checked in one girl was running around doing all the work. For this kind of money, round the clock front desk concierge service should be paramount, especillay given the security concerns that other travellers expressed. We were OK there, but more service is needed, at least for high season.
Also, work on your French. The front desk attendants speak English, but the domestic staff and securty guards do not. I can speak some so I didn't have "une probleme". Besides, it's make the trip more fun, mai non?
Definitely book, go, and enjoy and take your clothes off! You'll be positively transformed.

  • Liked — Location, location, location!!!
  • Disliked — Needs better front desk, concierge service.
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    10
    6
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
3
4
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boston, MA
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2008

Caribbean Princess was a wonderful place to stay. We were warmly greeted by property manager Alex who continued to be helpful throughout our stay. She was able to recommend restaurants and sites to visit, always with concern and interest. She was a highlight. We had the advantage of staying in both the first floor and second floor villas as we upgraded during our visit, mostly because we were concerned about safety after reading previous reviews. Although we were cautious (rolling down shutters, locking all valuables), we did feel we were safe throughout the week. There were security guards on duty every night and the cleaning staff were visible and courteous. The villa itself was spectacular. Extremely spacious and clean. The sliding doors leading to the outside open fully into the wall, making it feel like you could entertain dozens of friends if you wanted to. The first floor rooms open to a deck and a small, grassy area that you can sun yourself on in the morning. There are tall hedges for some privacy and although you can't see the beach, you do get the tradewinds and can hear the ocean. You will not be disappointed if this is where you stay. The second floor living room sliders open to a deck, but what you lose in terms of yard space, you gain in terms of a spectacular view of Orient Beach. Nothing like it - the blue water and tropical breezes are enduring. With your stay you have access to a few beach areas with chairs and umbrellas. You also have the ability to make charges to your room. Breakfast at Coco Beach was a highlight for us. Rent a car and go to Grand Case for some excellent dining, particularly Il Nettuno and numerous French restaurants. We went to the shopping areas once and raced back to the quiet of our beach. There were only a few downsides, one being TV reception. The hotel should consider cable or satellite reception as this area is pretty quiet at night. Also the American dollar has lost value against the Euro making for considerable additional costs we had not realized. All that being said, we would definitely return to the Caribbean Princess and St. Martin.

  • Liked — Spectacular view of Orient Beach
  • Disliked — TV reception
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jupiter, FL
1 review
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2007

We had a wonderful week. YOur reservation system was flawless, we got just what we ordered. Facilities were great, lots of fun, great food all along the beach and in Grand Case, Oiyster Pond and the capital, and I would have talked about all that in this review, but our last day ruined the trip. While we were at the beach our final morning for about an hour, our locked room safe was opened in our locked condo and our wallets were stolen. Front desk said police would not investigate because nothing was broken into, so either they never called police, they were implying that we for some reason were faking the theft, or it is ok for employees or friends of employees to steal. They only got about two hundred Euro, but all our id's and credit cards. We spent our last two hours in St. Maritn on the phone cancelling credit cards. Once we got home we also had to call all credit bureaus and set up a fraud alert, and we pray that will stop anyone from stealing our identities. They did not take our passports or our travelers checks. They obviously did not want us to be trapped there. That would have forced an investigation. I give Cap Caraibe, which supervises the Caribbean Princess condos an absolute failing grade, and I am nearly certain their employees were in on the theft. How else could they have gotten in, in the one hour we were gone in broad daylight? We will return to St. Martin, but never to Caraibe or Caribbean Princess. It is a den of thieves. Please do not reject this review. If the companies involved want to challenge our review we will do so in court.
James Minard

Was this review helpful? Yes 25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
capcaraibes, Sales & Marketing Managment at Caribbean Princess, responded to this review, October 10, 2007
The hotel staff is very disappointed by this review.
French or even US Police only investigate when there is a broke in which was not the case. The day before, the same housekeeper lady has been honest and professional enough to call us to inform the guest that their safe was opened… On the registration form, that the guest needs to sign when doing the check in, it is well written that the safe in the guest room is at their disposal and that they are responsible for it. We have a note on sliding doors in each room that mentioned to close everything before leaving the room. We always make sure at the reception that the guests are aware of those security points. There is unfortunately nothing we can do if there is no broke in or if the guest leaves the safe or the windows open.

Regards,
Cap Caraibes Resort team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mississippi
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2007

We had a great time and plan to return this October. Always get 2nd floor accomodations. That was one of the perks of staying there. We found the open porch to be so relaxing in the early a.m. and late p.m. Things we learned and to be aware of is: they don't use washcloths on the french side, so carry your own if you need to, the food is very expensive and we found it was worth the drive to the dutch side to eat or other parts orf the island, the pool was small, but private. Staff was accomodating and helpful with excursions and other questions. If you come in on Sunday afternoon, there isn't a store closeby to buy food, etc. without paying an outrageous price. There is a large food supermarket on the island, but not open on Sunday. We felt very safe here and had no problems. Carry a good book because T.V. reception is terrible. Kind of nice, that's part of relaxation!

Stayed October 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland, USA
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2007

After I booked this trip, I saw these reviews, warning of the thefts, etc. I contacted the management and they acknowledged that they had some problems last year, but advised us that the security of closing the hurricane shutters off of the patio would prevent any security breach. They were right! The suite is huge, the view, while not of the beach, since we were on the first level, was still great. There is maid service every day. The people here were very friendly and very helpful. There is a safe in the unit, so your valuables will be secure even if you leave the shutters open. By the way, instead of leaving through the patio, thus the sliders are left unlocked, you can walk another 50 feet, leaving through the locked front door to get to the beach.
The only two things I would improve are the television, since they are small and the cable access is French, thus no programs of interest to us, and the lighting in the unit is very dull, so it was hard to read. If they are not going to improve the tv's or the cable, I would suggest they add dvd players, since there is a rental place within walking distance.
Otherwise, we loved the Caribbean Princess and would not hesitate to stay here again.
Beware!!!! There are fireworks on Sunday night and it took us too long to realize what it was, so we missed a lot of it! We thought it was gunshots!
Mark, Owings Mills, MD, USA

Stayed January 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2006

My family stayed at the Caribbean Princess from July 20-30. Our villa was 2 bedrooms on the ground floor. The villas are nice and kept well. The beach is beautiful and location is great. Aleksandra, the woman who mainly manages the front desk, is very helpful and knowledgeable. However, when we arrived, management neglected to tell us that there had been robberies in the area and to make sure our storm shutters were closed - especially at night. On the night of July 18th, robbers broke into our villa between 1am and 9am WHILE WE SLEPT. They stole a laptop computer, IPod, digital camera, gms phone, and a watch. The French police told us there were 200 robberies last year and it didn't sound promising that we would get our stuff back. Finally, management did nothing to make up for our loss, not even a "sorry". If it weren't for the robbery - and the creepy fact that we were in our villa when it happened - this vacation would have been great - unfortunately, I would not recommend a stay at the Caribbean Princess.

  • Liked — spacious and clean
  • Disliked — terrible security
  • Tips/Secrets — stay in a resort w/ good security
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York
2 reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2006

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for several days in May, 2006. I have read all the prior reviews from Trip Advisor and have found them to be accurate for the most part.

The good: The suites are large and very well maintained. They are constructed in typical European style - tile floors, tile kitchens, tile baths. The pictures on the resort's web site are accurate. Our suite was large, very clean and very comfortable. In spite of booking a one bedroom unit, we received a two bedroom unit (although management made us promise not to use the second bedroom). Freda, the reception manager at the front desk was very pleasant and cordial. Maid service was good, providing fresh towels and linens every day.

The bad: If the outdoor balcony is an important factor in your decision to stay at this hotel, be certain to reserve a second floor unit. ABSOLUTELY CERTAIN. We reserved our suite, in large part, based upon the pictures of the large balcony and the vaulted ceilings featured on the hotel's internet site. When we arrived, we were informed that no second floor units were available, and were assigned a suite on the ground floor. The ground floor suites don't have a balcony or vaulted ceilings. They have a patio. And while the patio is quite large, it is surrounded by bushes and plants. In the daytime, it is great for preserving the privacy of the guests but offers no view whatsoever, except for the bushes and plants five yards away, which surround the patio. I felt like I was in my back yard. Furthermore, the suites are about 100 yards from the beach. At night, there is total darkness. The only barrier between you and any possible intruder is - you guessed it - those bushes and plants. Naturally, my wife and I felt uneasy about spending evenings on the patio. In fact, management warned us to close the roll-down steel gates, which enclosed the patio, while out of the unit, as there had been some recent burglaries in the (largely residential) neighborhood. Not a very safe or relaxing atmosphere. Having no view at all, we were unable to enjoy the patio during the day, and, given the eerie darkness and lack of security, we were unable to enjoy the patio at night. So much for our dreams of breakfast on the balcony, overlooking the ocean, in the mornings, and coffee on the balcony, while feeling the ocean breeze, at night. The biggest selling point of this unit was gone. And, if you think you can enjoy comfort and some relaxation in the suite, be warned - television reception is VERY limited. There are only 4 channels: HBO-Latino, CNN, and two channels in French. For about half our stay, HBO and CNN did not work. For the other half, I saw movies like Spanglish. So, unless you are fluent in French, I would strongly consider how you will spend mornings and evenings in the suite. My wife wanted to talk. Don't say I didn't warn you.

The ugly: For several days, the scent of the salty sea air was masked by the delicate aroma of the neighborhood sewer, which had backed up into the front walk of the development. The smell did not carry into the interior of the unit. Electricity was spotty. There were several outages during our stay, which lasted from 15 minutes to several hours. These events were only inconveniences, and beyond the control of the hotel, of course, but typical of life on the French side, in a smaller resort. The hotel should have provided an iron in the suite, however, which was conspicuously missing and decidedly inconvenient in a suite at this price range.

Overall, I would stay at this resort again, but only if a second floor unit was guaranteed. You will note that most Trip Advisor reviews which praise this hotel are from guests who stayed on the second floor. Otherwise, for the price, there are better options.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Caribbean Princess? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caribbean Princess

Address: Parc de la Baie Orientale | PO Box 5100, 97150, St Maarten-St Martin
Location: Caribbean > St Maarten-St Martin
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 50 Specialty lodging in St Maarten-St Martin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Caribbean Princess 4.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Caribbean Princess reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caribbean Princess Hotel St. Maarten/St. Martin
Caribbean Princess St Maarten-St Martin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Caribbean Princess, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.