We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“8th time and still loving it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sonesta Maho Beach Resort & Casino

Save Saved
You added Sonesta Maho Beach Resort & Casino to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sonesta Maho Beach Resort & Casino
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   1 Rhine Road, Maho Beach, St Maarten-St Martin   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
40% off All Inclusive
Oshawa, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“8th time and still loving it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

Just returned from another great trip to the Sonesta Maho! From the moment we arrived to the final minutes leaving we were treated like family. Can't say enough about the staff here! From Colin at the front desk who always takes great care of us to the bartenders Ramone, Sheryl, Orane and Oscar to the wait staff Sharon, and so many others!! The hotel is undergoing renovations but it didn't interfere with our vacation at all. I had been given the option of changing hotels prior to leaving but wouldn't want to stay anywhere else. The food is good, the rooms are very nice and I love the proximity to the airport. Can't wait to go back next year!!!

Suzanne

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,697 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    509
    567
    331
    156
    134
See reviews for
354
659
87
93
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (665)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Thibodaux
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

We had reservation to stay at Sonesta Great Bay. When we arrived we were treated to Champagne and everyone very nice. Had the butler service so she brought us to our room. Our room was one of the apartment suits. We walked in and found it to be old, clean but out dated. We rented a car and went ride to Maho and loved it. So we called Great Bay and asked to be transferred, and they did. Lost the butler but that was fine, because the rooms were much nicer and there was so much more around to do. There's a big casino right next to Maho and watching the planes come in was great. There are lots of shops and great restaurants. We loved Cheri,s which was right next to Maho , best on the Iland like they would say. We also found Sand Beach which had great food and a beautiful beach . Rent a car, thrifty had great prices, u see so much with a car. Great time will be back.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint John, Indiana
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

This hotel is very old and dated. Not much has been done to make it look better. The rooms actually smell very musty like they have gotten water in them at some time and we were on a high floor. The paint is peeling off the balconies and really looks bad. The all inclusive is ok for breakfast and lunch but pretty bad for dinner. We ended up going out to eat for the last 5 nights we were there. The daily maid service was really bad. We never had clean towels and washcloths without calling to request them and then we waited a long time to get them. once my husband had to go to the desk and speak with the manager to get them. We did get them 10 minutes later but we still had to request them every day after that. We also had to take cold showers one day because there was no hot water. It is probably a good place for young adults who are not worried about these things and more interested in the all inclusive. Overall we would never go back and couldn't recommend it to anyone else either.

Room Tip: Book up high or you will not see the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda F, Manager at Sonesta Maho Beach Resort & Casino, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear Vicki P,

Thank you for taking the time out to provide us your feedback about our Resort.

We apologize that your time with us was not great. We are in the process of renovating and our commitment to investing in our property will continue this Summer with upgrades through-out the entire Resort. In regards to your experience with our housekeeping staff, we have presented your comments to the department head, to ensure that does not occur again.

Thank you again, and we hope you will give us another chance to show you what a real vacation at our Resort should feel like.

Best Regards,
Sonesta Maho Beach Resort Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jordan, Canada
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We had 3 generations to satisfy on this trip.An 84 yr old,a 16 yr old and me a 45 yr old.
From the moment I walked into the hotel to saying goodbye at the end of our week long visit,I loved everything!!
From the all inclusive drinks and food ,to the hard working and friendly staff ,to my comfortable room,to the spa where I was pampered ,to the fun music and entertainment ,and to the the view of the planes and the sea,we were all satisfied beyond our expectations.
Thanks,and I can't wait to come back!!!!!!

Room Tip: It's all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda F, Manager at Sonesta Maho Beach Resort & Casino, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear 4barb105,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments about your recent stay with us and for providing us with your positive feedback, We are so happy that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to seeing you all back again soon!

Best regards,
Sonesta Maho Beach Resort Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Just returned from our family vacation. We were a group of 14 celebrating my parents anniversary. What can I say? Don't believe everything you read! It was a wonderful time. Started off with our check in. Greeted by staff with a cold refreshing towel and drink. Check in was great, staff was very nice and helpful. I dont understand when people get so twisted when there rooms are not ready, but in hotel policies and guidelines, it clearly states what time check in starts. We didn't wait long for our rooms, although initially they were not ready but were given our bracelets and were instructed to go have some lunch or a cocktail.
The restaurants were great. The only downside is that there are not soo many options, but when traveling with kids, the less the better. The Palms Grill was great during the day for lunch and offered great options, salads, nachos, quesadillas, burgers. What can you really ask for after having a huge breakfast buffet earlier that day? The waitresses were very helpful and attentive.
The pool was always clean and seating was available most of the day.
The beach, clear, clean, couldnt have been better, espeically with kids that like to play with the gorgeous white sand.
We traveled with children, the bartenders and waiters/waitresses always were very helpful when giving us milk for the babies bottles, or taking hot food from the buffet or pizzeria to feed the kids that were in the room. Special thanks to Fevry from Ocean Terrace that was so nice to us, even gave me an entire container of milk to take to the room for my sons bottles.
Ascot Pub & Bar. cant comment on since I had not even attempted to go.

Rooms, some were updated and some were dated. But people. Stop being so picky, did you go on vacation to sit in your room? Rooms were cleaned daily, and refridgerator was stocked daily.

The Serenity Spa. Amazing. Husband and I had a couples massage, Thanks to Jadine that set us up with an appointment the same day and made our experience incredible.

Overall, I had my expectations set low, after reading all the reviews on this site, but people really must be so picky, and looking for free upgrades. Our trip was awesome, and would totally return! Thanks to all the staff. Thank you Sonesta Maho for the wonderful memories.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda F, Manager at Sonesta Maho Beach Resort & Casino, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear Stephanie D,

Thank you for taking the time out to write your positive review about your stay with us.

We are so pleased to see that you and your family had a great time celebrating your parents Anniversary with us. We're glad to see that our staff was friendly, helpful and attentive. We'll make sure to pass on your special thanks to Fevry. It's great that you had a chance to visit our Spa, and that you and your husband enjoyed your couples massage.

We hope to see you back again soon!

Best regards,
Sonesta Maho Beach Resort Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port of Spain, Trinidad
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Sonesta Maho is perfectly located next to SXM airport. The surroundings buzz with nightlife activity and dining. The hotel boasts a large lobby with bar lounge. Rooms are dated but comfortable and clean. Restaurants were well staffed and food was delicious. Although the view from my window saw two mango trees we did not stay in the room much during the day.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a real view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda F, Manager at Sonesta Maho Beach Resort & Casino, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Dear Dwight Narinesi... N,

Thank you for writing a review about your stay with us.

We are glad to see that you are happy with our location, staff and food. Thank you for stating how clean and comfortable our rooms are. We hope you will come back to see us and the upgrades we are in the process of doing to our rooms.

Best regards,
Sonesta Maho Beach Resort Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laval, Quebec, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

- Food is great
- entertainment good
- beach is good
- staff on beach is great
- staff at hotel front desk is poor, no knowledge
- watch out, they spray rooms with insecticides
- DO NOT take room in the back, the view is gross
- staff at restaurants are in general not nice, when you get a nice one, stick to that person, really a big turnoff
- Watch your step in the pool, as last step & first steps are not indicated, DANGER
- Sonesta Great bay - way better
- watching planes land over your head is a hoot

Room Tip: Buy in Marigot, not Phillipsburg (tourist trap)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sonesta Maho Beach Resort & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta Maho Beach Resort & Casino

Address: 1 Rhine Road, Maho Beach, St Maarten-St Martin
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St Maarten-St Martin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Casino Hotel in St Maarten-St Martin
#10 Top resorts Hotel in St Maarten-St Martin
#11 Spa Hotel in St Maarten-St Martin
#23 On the Beach Hotel in St Maarten-St Martin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sonesta Maho Beach Resort & Casino 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
St. Maarten's only all-inclusive resort for families, singles and couples, the 520-room beachfront Sonesta Maho is located on 10 acres with expansive tropical gardens, stunning ocean vistas, 5 restaurants, 5 bars, the island's largest Casino, Kids Club, 2 swimming pools, day and night entertainment and much more. Duty-free shopping and nightlife is all within walking distance in the Maho Village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Priceline, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , Travelocity, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Sonesta Maho Beach Resort & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonesta Maho Beach Hotel
St Martin Sonesta
Sonesta St. Maarten/St. Martin
St Maarten Sonesta
Maho Beach Hotel
St. Maarten/St. Martin Sonesta
Sonesta Maho Beach Resort & Casino St Maarten-St Martin, Caribbean

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sonesta Maho Beach Resort & Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.