We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had a great time!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sonesta Maho Beach Resort & Casino

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Sonesta Maho Beach Resort & Casino to your Saves list
Sonesta Maho Beach Resort & Casino
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   1 Rhine Road, Maho Beach, St Maarten-St Martin   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
North Bay, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Had a great time!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

This place was clean and tidy. That was number one on my list. Sure the rooms are small and needing upgrades, but how much time do you really spend in them. Our room was overlooking the back of the building (view of the water plant and dumpsters) but we had a great view of Mullet Beach and the best sunsets !! The food was great just not much of a variety. On arrival (8:30pm) Stacy-Ann greeted us with a wonderful smile at the Ocean Terrace Restaurant, she was great and got us everything we needed, not just that night but for the rest of our stay. We also spent a lot of our time eating at the Ascot Pub, felt like home. Our waiter Martiko was amazing! He is fun and full of energy. He also works at the Ocean Terrance Restaurant when the Ascot Pub is closed. He always made a point to come and find us to say hello and see if we needed anything, always went out of his way. We had supper one night at The Point Restaurant, it was good but needed to hit the buffet afterwards, very small portions. Our waiter Jimmy was great. I found the younger people were a lot friendlier. Some of the older bartenders were pretty grumpy. The best bartender we had was by far Matthew in the Lobby Bar. Great guy! Nightly entertainment was great, just wish it was longer. Not much for daily entertainment around the pool, not like we are used to. Also there are no servers around the pool, you have to go to the bar yourself to get your drinks, not a big deal just a little walk. As for the beach, not much of one but just a short walk and you are at the most amazing beach ever...Mullet beach! The water is so clear you could count the wrinkles on your toes...lol The hotel is also located close to the airport so you get to see all the planes come in, but we found you didn't really hear them all that much, except for when the big planes would leave. The good part is that the airport is only open from 7am to 10pm, so its nice a quiet for sleeping. It's also located right downtown where the best shopping is. We took a trip into Phillipsburg and bought a few things but ended up buying most of our stuff right next to the hotel. Overall our experience was a great one. If we had nothing to compare it to it would have been even better.

Room Tip: Friends paid extra for room upgrades and still had the same room, just different views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,922 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    600
    640
    371
    166
    145
See reviews for
417
736
102
106
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (752)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Thornhill, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Just got back from staying at this resort from the l4th to the 21st. I, like others, was skeptical about a lot of the reviews on this resort. They are all hogwash! I have done lots of all inclusive resorts over the years and there is absolutely nothing negative to say about the Sonesta Mayo.

First, I would like to thank Colin the front desk manager who started our vacation off on the right foot by accommodating our party of 6. Thanks again Colin!
I wont be repetitive about all the restaurants and staff that others have written about.
All I can say is the resort is excellent value for the money. The beach...some people say there is no beach when in fact there is. One review I read was the shower head was so low you could bump your head on it. I don't know how tall that person is but he must be 6' 4" or so!!
I had a problem with my bathroom tap and called to have it repaired. Within 5 minutes a plumber
was up to my room and when I came back from the beach I had a new set of taps!!
The food was good, the majority of the staff were very good and pleasant.
If you need a cab, try Slumdog Bob. You can catch him at the Sunset Bar. He was great.
There are not that many of the numerous resorts I have been to that I would return, ....but...this resort I will return to in a heartbeat!
Don't hesitate to enjoy a fabulous vacation at this resort. I did!!

Room Tip: 5th floor or up in the tower to see the planes landing next door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

I stayed at the Sonesta Maho Hotel in Dutch Sint Maarten in the April 2013 time frame. I've been there numerous times since the early 90's. While the pool and tropical gardens are well maintained, many of the rooms and the gym are in desperate need of an update. Especially the area near the rear of the hotel used primarily for the charter package groups as Sunwing.

The food choices consisted of a decent buffet breakfast and lunch, Nightly theme dinners and an a la cart restaurant and a very good lunch a lunch cafe.

The All inclusive package also allows for drinks at the pub out on the main strip, drinks at the Tantra night club as well as meals and drinks at their sister resort the Sonesta Great Bay.

I ended up spending numerous days at the Sonesta Great Bay resort as its very tranquil and relaxing. The one advantage I'd say for the Sonesta Maho is its location to the islands night life. Within 2 blocks of the resort there in The Bliss night Club, The Sunset bar, Tantra night club and two casinos, If your not staying here, you will end up in this area at some point for the entertainment etc.

For those that want total peace and tranquility, this is not the resort for you. The resorts proximity to the airport, though it provides a great observation point for plane watching - the roar of the plane engines taking off and landing lasts most of the day.

You will want to spend at least one day at their sister resort - should it be included in your All Inclusive plan as it was with mine. Its proximity to Phillips-burg is ideal for duty free shopping. Up the street from the Sonesta Maho is the Mullet Bay beach. Its a nice beach to enjoy a quiet day away from the roar of the air-craft. I'd also recommend on the French side beaches as Baie Rouge, Friars Bay and the World famous Orient Beach.

The French side of the island and especially in Marigot is nice, very New Orleans French Quarter like. Though the French side closes up early, all the night life and all the casinos are on the Dutch side. However, there is but one night of the week when the French side is a buzz - its the Tuesday night party at Grand Case which is like a mini Carnival complete with customs, live music and road side bbq's.

Should you get bored of the beaches, shopping and casinos - cheap flights and ferries to neighboring islands as St Barth, Saba, Anguilla and St Eustatius are all available.

Room Tip: Room over looking the pool in the tower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

I stayed at the Sonesta Maho from April 11th through the 21st.

I had been a bit nervous after reading a few negative reviews (really negative!) concerning staff, service, and accommodation. So i'll address those first.

Prior reviewers have had problems with check-in; we got in on a Wednesday and experienced no wait, no rudeness and were greeted with champaign and cookies (you can WALK from the airport or pay 8 bucks per 2 people with a cab).

Service at the resort was adequate, some staff members better than others and some who are outstanding - major shout outs to Shawna-lee and Stacy Ann at the buffet and the Pointe.

There had been prior complaints regarding accommodation; we were quickly checked into our room (after a short wait until the room was ready, they reserved our bags by the front desk and allowed us to enjoy the property). The room - like service was adequate, we did not have a great view (overlooking a roof) but our friends had a nice first floor room with a balcony on the pool grounds.

From my perspective, it is apparent that staff deal with alot of rude drunk people day in and day out, and have a low tolerance for attitude. Very few people were tipping, these people make a living off of tips. So I suspect people with overtly negative reviews probably were expecting a bit too much.

This is not a luxurious resort (the bars are a bit dated and the mixed drinks could have been better although they did offer a nice selection of liqueur brands), the breakfast buffet was the same everyday and the food could get repetitive. The pointe is billed as an upscale restaurant experience, compared to the other restaurants on the site (the buffet including the pizza stand and the ascot pub) it is but by any other comparative standard it is not - the taste was NOT good enough to get away with those portion sizes! But if you appreciate the resort for what it is I think you'll be in for a great time.

The location is pristine, close to Simpson bay for nightlife, Maho is fun afterhours as well and short bus rides (cheap! - $2!) to anywhere on the island (although you have to walk a bit if you take the buses to Orient, so if you plan on going there, take a cab for $40 for 4 or expect a 15 minute walk in the sun from the bus stop).

The beach at the resort was fine, it is small, but there were always plenty of room to lounge or swim and obviously very cool to be so close to the runway which never got old!

It can not be overstated how beautiful the property is - and this is what you're paying for, the drinks and food are just there to compliment such.

Plan on traveling the island.

PS Cherris is a must!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bensalem, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

This was our 2nd year at the Sonesta Maho. We have been to Sint Maartin many time on cruises. We also stayed there many years ago at the Mullet Bay resort. (which was destroyed in the 1995 hurricane) We love the Sonesta Maho!! The rooms are great, the food is first class, the fun is never ending (especially the beach night on Wednesdays). The bars are great, especially the pool bar....Thank you Sheryl for the awesome bushwackers!!! Speaking of Sheryl....she not only is a great bar tender, she really makes you feel like family...like your home....she's the BEST!!!! Everyone there from the ones who clean your room to the people who check you in to the waitress's, even to the guy who rents you a car are great. One morning during breakfast there was a downpour which cleared almost as fast as it came, and all the waitresses came out singing.."I can see clearly now the rain is gone". So much fun...so little time!! We will absolutely go back next year and the year after that and the year after that...ect!!
Love all you guys at the Sonesta Maho....thank you soooooooooo much!!!!!!

Room Tip: We have been in the garden rooms and in the tower on the 10th floor facing the street....we loved th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

I've been staying at the Sonesta Maho Beach Resort with a group of 80 people and I had an amazing time. The staff at the hotel was nice to everyone and our group has been well taken care of by the Convention Manager and the Excursions manager who were very committed and always there to advise us.

The location of the hotel is good has it is only a 5 minutes car ride from the airport. Many shops, restaurants and clubs are nearby so entertainment is never a problem. The beach is easily accessible and the water was just perfect.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
groton ny
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

This place was a good time. Mathew the bartender is the best the island has to offer. He is real nice and will remember the customers drinks. So he makes your drink as your walking in. Don't be CHEAP toss a dollar for a drink its the right thing to do. Our cleaning lady was awesome ( I wish I remembered her name). Also Arnold is a funny guy and will go out of his way to help the guests have a blast. Say hi to mathew!

See you guys soon.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sonesta Maho Beach Resort & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta Maho Beach Resort & Casino

Address: 1 Rhine Road, Maho Beach, St Maarten-St Martin
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St Maarten-St Martin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Casino Hotel in St Maarten-St Martin
#10 Top resorts Hotel in St Maarten-St Martin
#11 Spa Hotel in St Maarten-St Martin
#22 On the Beach Hotel in St Maarten-St Martin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sonesta Maho Beach Resort & Casino 3.5*
Number of rooms: 395
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
St. Maarten's only all-inclusive resort for families, singles and couples, the 520-room beachfront Sonesta Maho is located on 10 acres with expansive tropical gardens, stunning ocean vistas, 5 restaurants, 5 bars, the island's largest Casino, Kids Club, 2 swimming pools, day and night entertainment and much more. Duty-free shopping and nightlife is all within walking distance in the Maho Village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Amex, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, BookIt.com and Odigeo so you can book your Sonesta Maho Beach Resort & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonesta Maho Beach Hotel
St Martin Sonesta
Sonesta St. Maarten/St. Martin
St Maarten Sonesta
Maho Beach Hotel
St. Maarten/St. Martin Sonesta
Sonesta Maho Beach Resort & Casino St Maarten-St Martin, Caribbean

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sonesta Maho Beach Resort & Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.