We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sonesta Maho Beach Resort & Casino

Save Saved
You added Sonesta Maho Beach Resort & Casino to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Sonesta Maho Beach Resort & Casino
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   1 Rhine Road, Maho Beach, St Maarten-St Martin   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
FREE Nights+Resort Credit
Lake Wales, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

There are many mixed reviews, so I'm adding my experience at Sonesta Maho. We spent 3 days during April 2013 at the resort.

The front desk is very slow - but never once was any of the staff rude. The activities desk is not available during the weekend which was frustrating because I tried to book activities via email and they told me to wait until I arrived. They should have noted they were closed on the weekends, and on Monday morning the line to get help was very long!

We stayed in the Ocean Terrace and the room could use some remodeling. We never had hot water, which made taking showers uncomfortable. But the balcony view of the pool and ocean was remarkable! And the room was very clean.

We did not get all inclusive because we planned to get out and experience the island - not just the resort. In fact, we never ate at the resort. You can find some great places close by that include entertainment and great drinks.

If you are adventurous, get out and see the island. We did a 3hr ATV tour one day and the 3hr Rhino ride another day. Both were great and gives you a chance to see the island.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,500 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    431
    507
    294
    138
    130
See reviews for
306
582
80
86
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (581)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Highland Mills, New York
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

fromcheck in you know your in for a great vacation every one is friendly and helpful
right after you get to your room put on your bathing suit and head for the pool and after you get wet look to your right and you will see the pool bar try a BBC it is a maho special drink it will make you forget tsa customs and even that baby that did not stop crying until the plane landed
on your way to dinner stop in at the lobby bar and see mathrew the bar tender he is a fountain of knowledge about st martins and is willing to share it sometimes I am amazed at the fact no matter how busy the bar is he is able to answer question and make sure we all have our drinks

Room Tip: I always stay in the sky tower easier to travel to pool and bars
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Sonesta Maho Beach resort is a very nice hotel and a great location. If you want to see more of the Island you an always catch a bus for 2 us Dollars that will take you we're you need to go. The Hotel is very clean, has respectable staff and consists of 4 amazing restaurants. The food is very delicious. I would recommend this resort to anyone. I plan to come back in 2014 with my wife and 2 children. I can't hardly wait to come visit tis lovely Island and resort again!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

This hotel was awesome. Totally great staff, food, service and most of all, everyone was kind! My next trip to St Martin will most definitely consist of staying at this same hotel. The staff was so very kind and humble. The view of the ocean at the restaurant ocean front gives you a sense of calmness. This hotel consists of two pools and one pool has a swim up bar. This was super cool and lots of time was spend at the pool as well. This is a ver clean hotel, and you can tell that is is very well kept. The food is totally great and as I am writing this I feel like going back next week ;-)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philipsburg, null, Netherlands Antilles
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

best hotel on the island of Sint Maarten great quality, comfortable rooms, amazing food, beautiful beaches, an unforgettable experience thats how my experience was at sonesta maho the service was wonderful and the staff there were so welcoming and courteous especially MARTIKO his service towards us was excellent i would recommend if your planning to go to Sonesta Maho Beach Resort and Casino you should ask for MARTIKO

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

First of all, let me just say that St Maarten itself is gorgeous with the most beautiful blue waters you've ever seen. This resort however, is a disaster from start to finish.

Like many other guests during our stay, my boyfriend got VERY sick on the last day of our trip. Though we initially thought it was food poisoning, the manager quickly assured me that it instead was a virus, specifically norovirus. Something that is very common on cruise ships. It mimics food poisoning in that it causes painful vomiting and diarrhea that lasts 24-48 hours and comes on very quickly. On our flight home, there were other passengers from our hotel that were also violently ill. This was not an isolated incident.

I was told by the manager that a large group came in already sick and that the virus had been spreading around the resort for the past week or two, and that "dozens" of his staff were also infected. I understand that they can't control what guests bring in, but if they KNOW this is going around they should a) warn their guests and b) take extra precautions. But staying at the Sonesta you quickly realize that their staff is going to be anything but helpful.

Upon checking in, requesting and being told we'd have a room with a King bed, we were sent to a room on the other side of the resort that of course had two twins, but also had a toilet that was overflowing when we walked in. Not a good start. We did get reassigned to a room overlooking the pool with a King that seemed nicer.

Down at the pool they were out of towels, and didn't seem to care too much. But hey, we were in paradise so we were easy going about it.

It's hard to say if the food or the service were worse...they were both equally terrible. The scrambled eggs at the buffet tasted a bit like pinesol and most food looked and tasted like it'd been sitting out for days. At dinner the fish was filled with bones, at lunch the fried chicken looked like it had plastic wrap stuck to it prior to being cooked. We laughed most of it off...but it was really pretty awful.

The staff appears to not care at all about anything. It's almost impressive how they can walk by you and completely ignore you. When my boyfriend fell ill, we had to stay an extra day because he couldn't fly. After waiting over a half hour for a manager at the front desk I had to argue to get the rate of the room the same as what we'd been paying for the earlier part of our stay. When they finally caved they took away our all-inclusive access. As if we wanted to eat anymore of their terrible food anyway.

The icing on the cake was when I needed to get bottled water for my boyfriend because he was starting to get dehydrated after vomiting all day. The one store in the resort that sold bottled water closes at 7pm and the front desk informed me that they were out of bottled water. That there wasn't a single bottle of water in the whole resort that I could have or even buy. Near tears, I went up to the spa, and the ONE helpful person on their whole staff made a call and found out that it wasn't that they were out of water...it's that the person with the keys wasn't readily available. So they'd rather let their guests suffer than locate their employee. Incredible.

The resort is run down, which you could overlook if other aspects were better. But the tub was filled with rust, there was no screen on the patio door so the mosquitos ate us alive, half the towels out by the pool (when they had them available) were the size of hand towels, the bathrooms by the pool are disgusting, and the lining on the pool seemed to be coming apart. The fact that this place is rated 3.5 stars is INSANE.

The positive of the trip was the person I was traveling with, and that is all. This resort is cheap for a reason. I wouldn't recommend it for anyone under any circumstance. Pay a little more and stay somewhere, ANYWHERE else.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the pool are loud, if you're a party person you will like this. The rooms over...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013 via mobile

First of all anyone who is questioning if it was food poisoning or not, don't waste your time, 100% YES we definitely had food poisoning & it was violent & awful. I have never been so sick. If the staff finds out you have been sick the are very quick to tell you it was a virius. Why if so many people are sick would they not warn people at check in of the horrible virius? The front desk staff is very disorganized & gets no back-up from the manager who will not show his face. Our garden view room looked onto a sewage station & was so loud it limited us to having a conversation, although after complaining our room was moved. The staff at the Point resturant was rude and after waiting at least an hour to get our food, which was very small (4 small ravioli's) we left due to the cockroach's climbing the walls behind our table. The rep for booking outside trips extremely unfriendly so be prepared to deal with her. The hotel is outdated but that is tolerable when other things are good. I cannot recommend this place to anyone. Toronto Ontario

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sonesta Maho Beach Resort & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta Maho Beach Resort & Casino

Also Known As:
Sonesta Maho Beach Hotel
Sonesta Maho Beach Resort
St Martin Sonesta
Sonesta St. Maarten/St. Martin
St Maarten Sonesta
Maho Beach Hotel
Sonesta Maho Beach Resort Casino
St. Maarten/St. Martin Sonesta
Sonesta Maho Beach
Sonesta Maho Beach Resort & Casino St Maarten-St Martin, Caribbean
Address: 1 Rhine Road, Maho Beach, St Maarten-St Martin
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St Maarten-St Martin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Casino Hotel in St Maarten-St Martin
#10 Top resorts Hotel in St Maarten-St Martin
#23 On the Beach Hotel in St Maarten-St Martin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sonesta Maho Beach Resort & Casino 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
St. Maarten's only all-inclusive resort for families, singles and couples, the 520-room beachfront Sonesta Maho is located on 10 acres with expansive tropical gardens, stunning ocean vistas, 5 restaurants, 5 bars, the island's largest Casino, Kids Club, 2 swimming pools, day and night entertainment and much more. Duty-free shopping and nightlife is all within walking distance in the Maho Village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Tingo, BookIt.com, HotelsClick, Venere, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Sonesta Maho Beach Resort & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sonesta Maho Beach Resort & Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.