We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible hotel” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Sonesta Maho Beach Resort & Casino

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Sonesta Maho Beach Resort & Casino to your Saves list
Sonesta Maho Beach Resort & Casino
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   1 Rhine Road, Maho Beach, St Maarten-St Martin   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Midwest
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Terrible hotel”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

FYI even American Airlines flight crews have quit using this hotel. Don't walk away from this hotel RUN! The staff at the front desk are the worst they really don't care about the customer. Also if you reserve a ocean view room or have any request at all good luck, we had ask for ocean view and were told they do not guarantee any rooms that its first come first serve. Avoid Avoid Avoid I can't stress this enough! This was not my first stay here but was my last.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,054 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    645
    680
    400
    176
    153
See reviews for
433
792
110
114
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (802)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Whitby, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We have stayed at Maho a number of times and this year noted they have completed a number of renovations to the Ocean Terrace restaurant area as well as to the outside of the buildings. Service staff were very good and it appears that the hotel has been investing in customer service training for their staff. They are improving the quality of their food and meals at the Point were very good. This hotel offers very good value for the price and is a very good vacation resort.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

Nice location, crystal clear water and great view of the bay. This resort was not the perfect resort, just all around comfortable to be at. The included meals were served buffet style and pretty good. Just step out of the hotel and you can walk down the sidewalks to stores, restaurants, clubs and a casino. The closest beach is the one just at the end of the airport runway that people get all those crazy pictures of low flying aircraft.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelsea, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I stayed at this hotel the first week in March. The food was excellent and the drinks were not watered down like some of the other reviews have said.

I had a handicapped room for my mother who was 92 and it was clean and huge. The beds were sooo comfortable my mother now hates here own bed at home.

Because it was snowing we had to extend our vacation 1 nite and the hotel was very accommodating especially the front desk Manager Colin. As for the rest of the staff they are sooo polite and extremely friendly.

I will definitely return to this hotel and to St. Maarten.

Room Tip: If you want a balcony make sure you stay between the 5th floor and 9th floor. We were on the 4th flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

My wife & I along with my friend and his wife did the 4-day all inclusive package. Luckily we checked in early on a Saturday when it wasn't so crowded and our bags were promptly brought to our room. Later in the day I needed to come back to the front desk and it is was pretty hectic when the lines got long so some tempers were flaring but the staff kept their cool and took care of everyone.

Our room was beautiful and when we had a small issue the hotel manager Colin took care of us immediately. The pools are great and have the typical island activities with the bar along side and DJ spinning the toons. We got involved in a flip cup game and watched several other fun activities throughout the day. The meals were all good although we tried unsuccessfully to get into their private dining room "The Point" on 2 different nights but could not get seated. Bottom line is that this is an all inclusive resort and the wait staff is not financially motivated to serve you quickly so be prepared for a wait. Or do what we did and stick to the buffet. The food was not excellent but it wasn't bad either.

The airport is located right next to the Sonesta so you really get a chance to enjoy watching the planes come in from the hotel, but don't worry they stop flying pretty early in the evening and I was never bothered by the noise. This was a particular concern of my friend's wife as she was thinking it would be like staying at a hotel by a US airport. No comparison. And just a short walk away from the Sonesta is one of the world's Top Ten rated bars: The Sunset Grill with it's famous end of runway location http://sunsetsxm.com/. It is a MUST experience happy hour apps/drinks location - kid friendly as well.

For a change of pace one day we took a cab to the sister Maho property on St Martin and spent the day at their pool. We started early and had a great breakfast with them then spent the day at their pool which sits directly on the ocean delivering magnificient views. Check out the jet ski rental place on their property - the owner is an ex-pat from NJ & a good guy who has an amazing high speed tour of the island. This is the only thing we did not do on our trip that I really wanted to.

Overall I highly recommend the Sonesta Maho and just caution a bit of patience. Remember you're in the Caribbean so slow down and relax. Now go have a great time!

Room Tip: Upgrade to a suite if you're looking for a quiet place to sleep before 3am. Otherwise just reme...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This is over our tenth time returning to Sonesta in Maho. We went last minute, and because we are repeat guest we were given a fair price, and upgrades for all inclusive ocean view. They have done a great job adding specialty night dinners, and the make over of the food buffet is very nice. We enjoy the staff the most. We walk to the pool, and we here "Good morning baby, how are you doing today?" Always greeted with smiles, and hugs when whenever we return. It says a lot about a resort to have the same staff for years. Cheryl is a gem. She is there 6 days a week, and she busts her butt, with a smile, and welcoming conversation, but don't try to get a drink for free without a bracelet, because she does not tolerate that at all. Fair, friendly person....we love Cheryl. Felecia, Michael, Romone great service......food service staff excellent. Thank you Sonesta for another great trip. See you in 6 months:)

Room Tip: You want poolside or ocean view. The back side or garden view is not a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Couldn't find reservation, made us stand at desk for an hour before they figured out it was on the old computer system, Now midnight. Room was tacky, sink and shower drains clogged. Waited for maintenance. Never again.

Room Tip: Hotel needs a makeover
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sonesta Maho Beach Resort & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta Maho Beach Resort & Casino

Address: 1 Rhine Road, Maho Beach, St Maarten-St Martin
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St Maarten-St Martin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Casino Hotel in St Maarten-St Martin
#11 Top resorts Hotel in St Maarten-St Martin
#12 Spa Hotel in St Maarten-St Martin
#23 On the Beach Hotel in St Maarten-St Martin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sonesta Maho Beach Resort & Casino 3.5*
Number of rooms: 395
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
St. Maarten's only all-inclusive resort for families, singles and couples, the 520-room beachfront Sonesta Maho is located on 10 acres with expansive tropical gardens, stunning ocean vistas, 5 restaurants, 5 bars, the island's largest Casino, Kids Club, 2 swimming pools, day and night entertainment and much more. Duty-free shopping and nightlife is all within walking distance in the Maho Village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., BookIt.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Otel, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Sonesta Maho Beach Resort & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonesta Maho Beach Hotel
St Martin Sonesta
Sonesta St. Maarten/St. Martin
St Maarten Sonesta
Maho Beach Hotel
St. Maarten/St. Martin Sonesta
Sonesta Maho Beach Resort & Casino St Maarten-St Martin, Caribbean

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sonesta Maho Beach Resort & Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.