We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Frustrating Property” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sonesta Maho Beach Resort & Casino

Save Saved
You added Sonesta Maho Beach Resort & Casino to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sonesta Maho Beach Resort & Casino
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   1 Rhine Road, Maho Beach, St Maarten-St Martin   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free nights+$200 credit
New York City, New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Frustrating Property”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Having now stayed here three times, I have plenty of positive comments regarding this hotel, however there's always just as many complaints.

Strongest plus here is location - Maho is a great spot to stay on SXM because it's relatively self contained with a great mix of restaurants, bars & night clubs, the Island's best casino and a really great beach @ Mulet Bay. There's definitely way more posh & secluded spots on the Island, but this offers a nice mix of diversions that stay open late. The island is small enough to rent a car and explore beaches on the french side, so no need to feel "locked down" if you do stay here.

We always stay in their premium, ocean view rooms, which are nicely renovated and well appointed. Bathrooms are pretty average. Large balcony which is really great and used every day of the trip.

Overall, service is barely passable - interaction with the front desk, pools and definitely the restaurants all will almost always leave you disappointed. There's actually quite a few good places to eat in Maho, even for breakfast...... I wouldn't bother with anything at the hotel. The pool areas are very dated and nothing to get excited about. They do run a nice little pool bar which is always in full swing, which is nice. Their actual beachfront is equally lackluster. Much better to walk over to Mullet Bay.

I've read a lot of very negative reviews about the less expensive rooms and I can believe them. It's really worth shooting for "superior" rooms as a minimum here. Which bring up a really important point - @ $400+ per night for the ocean superior rooms, it's definitely an underwhelming experience. All food & drink is separate & offsite, so an easy $300 more per day. Gamblers can scale up from there. So it does add up.

Room Tip: Rent a car and explore the Island. French side has great beaches that are worth a visit as is Grand...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,816 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    550
    607
    357
    162
    140
See reviews for
400
695
93
97
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (717)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
pittsburgh, pa.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

First time to St. Maarten. Overall, I'd say we had a good time.
The hotel needs a lot of help. Facility is dated and run down.
The staff at the front desk couldn't care less about the service they provide.
The housekeeping and food service personnel are fair to good.
Location and price make it tolerable.
If you're looking for a better than 3 star resort, this is not for you.
If your expectations are not too high, you'll probably like it.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hernando, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

This is about the worst hotel I have ever stayed in. We had to check into 4 rooms before we found one that was tolerable Broken latches on the terrace door, safes that did not work, furniture falling apart, bad smells from the "water treatment" plant near the room.. Even the one we ended up with had a broken clock and a coffee maker that did not work. The staff was neither friendly or productive. I would never return to this hotel. Constant noise from the airport as plane take off and land late into the night. I recommend you avoid this hotel, many better place to stay in St. Martin.

Room Tip: Avoid this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

This is my 3rd stay at this resort and each time there has been changes to the property, all for the better. The rooms are bright, freshly painted and have large screen TV with US channels, new beds a la Hilton Hotels, and a fridge stocked with soft drinks, bottled water a beer. There is an in room safe, and an ironing board. No complaints on the room or housekeeping.

I was on business so only had time to use the buffet but found the food to be well prepared and tasty. Breakfast was particularly good.

Service in the restaurant is spotty. Servers/table clearers that have been there for years don't make much of an effort, but some of the younger folk do, and were tipped accordingly.

Bar service is good with top shelf liquors and hefty pours.

WiFi is a steep $16 a day and there is no business centre and when I asked to print an urgent docuemtn off from the front office I was told all the printers were broken. Bell staff, front desk staff are not overly friendly.

Having said all that, I will be back next time I have business at the airport.

Room Tip: 8th floor facing west was the best choice (away from the main road and pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

SONESTA MAHO BEACH RESORT/HOTEL; it is located next to the St. Martin Airport, good and clean ocean and good view. Royal Casino next to the hotel and few pubs around the hotel. It has a pool and a bar in the pool. Good food and good pizza but service at the restaurant is poor. Sometimes you have to wait a lot to get a drink and by then you are finished with your food. Recommend to stay at a room higher level floor and facing the sea so you can see landing aeroplanes to the airport (facing the bay area).

Room Tip: One other option is to stay at Phillipsburg, it is the area 30 minutes away from St. Martin airport...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

My wife and I, and two of our children stayed at the Sonesta Maho for Christmas from December 23rd to the 30th, 2012. I read in a previous review, think 3 and a half stars, and you will not be disappointed. This is the second time my wife and I have stayed at this resort. It is a great location, especially if you like to gamble, casino right across the street. Our daughters had their own room, on the same floor as us, the 4th floor. We had a suite, my wife enjoys a bath at night. Neither room was renovated, but both were clean and well kept. Ocean view is the only way to go. If you have any problems in the resort, deal with Collin or Carmen. Food was great, do not miss the barbeque on Wednesday night. Was everything perfect? Absolutely not, but do not let it ruin your holiday. If you need a reliable taxi driver, call Bob 1-721- 522-5031. The valet guys at the casino have him on speed dial. He will be where you want him and when. He also took amazing care of our girls after dark. The main pool was always busy, this time we also used the pool by The Point restaurant, much quieter and loungers were always available. We did a day trip to Anquilla, pain in the [--] dealing with customs, but a great time while we were there. The girls did a Rhino ride which they enjoyed and one of the girls went horse back riding. It was her highlight of the trip. Enjoy, and watch the sun.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

This was truly the worst hotel experience I have ever had.
The people who worked there were miserable, at check in, the bellman handed us the luggage cart and walked away, it took them 6 hours and 4 phone calls to get us a crib for our son, the keys did not work, the food was not great, the room was dark, musty and filled with mosquitos.
Do yourself a favor and DO NOT EVER STAY AT THIS HOTEL!!!

I am a seasoned international traveler, and this was truly, worse than any hotel I've stayed in anywhere...especially for the price.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sonesta Maho Beach Resort & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta Maho Beach Resort & Casino

Address: 1 Rhine Road, Maho Beach, St Maarten-St Martin
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St Maarten-St Martin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Casino Hotel in St Maarten-St Martin
#10 Top resorts Hotel in St Maarten-St Martin
#11 Spa Hotel in St Maarten-St Martin
#23 On the Beach Hotel in St Maarten-St Martin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sonesta Maho Beach Resort & Casino 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
St. Maarten's only all-inclusive resort for families, singles and couples, the 520-room beachfront Sonesta Maho is located on 10 acres with expansive tropical gardens, stunning ocean vistas, 5 restaurants, 5 bars, the island's largest Casino, Kids Club, 2 swimming pools, day and night entertainment and much more. Duty-free shopping and nightlife is all within walking distance in the Maho Village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, BookIt.com, Booking.com, Expedia, HotelsClick, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Sonesta Maho Beach Resort & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonesta Maho Beach Hotel
St Martin Sonesta
Sonesta St. Maarten/St. Martin
St Maarten Sonesta
Maho Beach Hotel
St. Maarten/St. Martin Sonesta
Sonesta Maho Beach Resort & Casino St Maarten-St Martin, Caribbean

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sonesta Maho Beach Resort & Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.