We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great island, great hotel, great b-day celebration” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sonesta Maho Beach Resort & Casino

Save Saved
You added Sonesta Maho Beach Resort & Casino to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sonesta Maho Beach Resort & Casino
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   1 Rhine Road, Maho Beach, St Maarten-St Martin   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
40% off All Inclusive
Hamden, Connecticut
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great island, great hotel, great b-day celebration”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

This was our fourth stay at the Sonesta Maho and we had a wonderful time and will be returning again next year.

Admittedly, they are still ironing out some of the details with the change over to a completely all-inclusive resort, but they have added a number of daytime activities as well as nightlife since our stay last year. There were always a number of choices at the buffet, but, like any buffet, the dinner selections sometimes made it back to lunch the next day. The Palms Grill is always a good lunch alternative though (Lorna is the greatest), with food made fresh to order, and the Pizza Man makes a pizza to rival New Haven’s finest. Hopefully they will open The Point every night for dinner and/or return to giving vouchers for nearby restaurants. Cheryl at the Pool Bar and Ramon at the Palms Bar are the best bartenders ever! They constantly go out of their way to keep everyone happy all day long, nonstop, with a smile.

A special thank you to Cheryl, Milton and Luz for making my boyfriend’s birthday in St. Maarten extra special – I rented the gazebo and had a private dinner and birthday celebration for him that he will never forget!

Room Tip: ask for a renovated room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,697 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    509
    567
    331
    156
    134
See reviews for
354
659
87
93
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (665)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012 via mobile

Was here for one night with work, quite a nice looking place, nice small uncrowded beach, nice pool, but the service was dire! OK it's all inclusive, but the fact is there weren't enough staff to deal with the customers. We waited 2 hours for our rooms, the drinks were at the bar were weak and the molasses restaurant, while the food was excellent, the wait was the longest I've ever waited at a restaurant and the portions were tiny! What could be a lovely hotel, let down by management not hiring enough staff imo.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northville, Michigan
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Last time we stayed here we arrived early, from another resort nearby about 10am hoping to check in at a decent time. We were extremely polite to girls at check in, but honestly I have never seen such a lethargic response. We were not able to check in until 4 pm, honestly this place is a joke, don't expect much.

Room Tip: Obviously higher floors are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cleveland. UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

our first room the balcony looked onto a concrete wall of the other adjoining building, 10 feet away.What a view! Our second room the bedroom window was set back wedged between the 2 buildings with no view or light coming into the room. These apparently were the only 2 rooms available. Finally the next day after we enquired about the older hotel block we were offered a nicer room with a good view. The food I would rate as very poor. It was served in the lobby area of the old hotel underneath the stairs. Very unhygenic. The point restaurant had much better food but the same menu every night and not much of it. As hotels go it was a 1970's hotel and needs a massive makeover. Overall staff were very slow and uninterested. The overall cleanliness has to be given 1 out of 10. Mosquitos abound too. There are other hotels in this area and most of them will be better than this one, just don't go!!!!

Room Tip: Don't go to that hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

I visited the Sonesta Maho from Oct 11-18, 2012. Unfortunately the weather was not that great for 3 days. But the hotel went out of its way to make up for it. I especially want to commend the front-office manager, Colin King, for his excellent customer service and patient understanding. Whatever he could do to improve a guest's stay was his credo. When the weather cleared, St. Marteen again claimed it's title of Island Paradise, with pristine beaches, blue-green crystal-clear water, and sun. I have never written a review before but feel compelled to do so now because of the caring and hard work the Sonesta staff did in the face of inclement weather conditions. Think about it, when the weather is perfect, who cares about the hotel?-- You are out-and-about most of the time But the real test is when the weather doesn't cooperate. That's when you need a professional, well-trained, customer-service oriented hotel. Well-done, Colin!

Room Tip: Get the ocean view room; it's worth the the little extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boynton Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

I read the previous reviews which were mostly positive with a few negatives. So I went with a lot of expectations. Here are the positives The beach is beautiful & the room overlooking the Ocean. Most of the people were very nice. One lady stands out special. She was the one who cleaned our room on the 2nd or 3rd day while we were there. She was from Guiana & chatted with me for few minutes & even brought a refrigerator to my room when she realized that I was an insulin dependant diabetic & needed a refrigerator. There was no scrimping on alcohol . The food was ample. Now the negatives. There were no bars for disabled people in the room. As a matter of fact my husbad fell in the bath tub which was quite slippery. The bidet which was in the bathroom had the water coming from the side rather than the botton which was odd. The front office people were not very swift. You had to call them 4 or 5 times to accomplish anything. I had mosquitoe bites in the evenings when you sat out to listen to their music. The flies during the day in the food court was troubling. My husband said that the excercise area was shabby with outdated equipment with no personnel present to supervise. The floor was made of wood on the 3rd floor which was noisy for the people on the lower floors.

Room Tip: Though it is next to the airport you need to grab a cab as it is quite far to walk. Costs about $8...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012 via mobile

It's our 8th visit to this hotel. Love it! Clean , good food, good pool, great beach. The best thing I can say is that the employees do a great job. My fave is Sheryl. Always smiling & very welcoming. Busts her butt. Not sure what she makes but she should get a raise. She works that pool bar non stop alone, and I see her there from 8:00am setting up until 6:30. Awesome girl! Always nice to see her. Felecia, Romone, and Matt are a great asset too. Saw the lil pool director Fernando get thrown in pool from a guest who had too much to drink. He had his cell phone ruined. Still smiled and was upbeat for guest. Awesome group of employees. They take their job with a great attitude :) will be back next year.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sonesta Maho Beach Resort & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta Maho Beach Resort & Casino

Address: 1 Rhine Road, Maho Beach, St Maarten-St Martin
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St Maarten-St Martin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Casino Hotel in St Maarten-St Martin
#10 Top resorts Hotel in St Maarten-St Martin
#11 Spa Hotel in St Maarten-St Martin
#23 On the Beach Hotel in St Maarten-St Martin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sonesta Maho Beach Resort & Casino 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
St. Maarten's only all-inclusive resort for families, singles and couples, the 520-room beachfront Sonesta Maho is located on 10 acres with expansive tropical gardens, stunning ocean vistas, 5 restaurants, 5 bars, the island's largest Casino, Kids Club, 2 swimming pools, day and night entertainment and much more. Duty-free shopping and nightlife is all within walking distance in the Maho Village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Sabre Hospitality Solutions , Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Sonesta Maho Beach Resort & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonesta Maho Beach Hotel
St Martin Sonesta
Sonesta St. Maarten/St. Martin
St Maarten Sonesta
Maho Beach Hotel
St. Maarten/St. Martin Sonesta
Sonesta Maho Beach Resort & Casino St Maarten-St Martin, Caribbean

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sonesta Maho Beach Resort & Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.