We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs a refurbishment but nice location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Captain Oliver's Resort Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Captain Oliver's Resort Hotel to your Saves list
Captain Oliver's Resort Hotel
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Oyster Pond, 97150, St Maarten-St Martin   |  
Hotel amenities
Munich, Germany
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Needs a refurbishment but nice location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

Location **** (out of max 5) very nice location ca. 8 km from Philisburg on the French side in the bay of Oyster Pond. Supermarkets, coffee shops, restaurants either within the resort are in close to the hotel
Room. ** (out of max five). Old fashioned large room with nice view to the marina. Mountings in the bath partially do not work properly (too old). Room very clean.
Infrastructure *** (internet, reception, pool etc). Most of the time nobody at reception. Pool nice located but old fashioned. Internet sometimes ok sometimes not.
Breakfast ***( out of max five). French breakfast (croissants, baguette and marmalade). Everything else has to be paid CASH. They do not accept credit cards (for breakfast) or charging to the room. Two scrambled eggs 5 USD.
Overall rating. *** (out of max 5). Too expensive for the price asked under booking.com. They gave me a deduction of ca. 30% at the reception. Hotel is 30 – 40 years and needs to refurbished.

Room Tip: room with view to the marina.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    76
    44
    15
    13
See reviews for
24
105
22
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ottawa, on
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

Great, large rooms. Quick drive to Philipsburgh. Beautiful view of water and bay. No sandy beach but the pool isn't crowded and is away from the hotel rooms. Day trip to St. Barth's and sailboat chartering is at the dock area. Many convenient restaurants in area, especially the Dinghy Dock Bar.

Room Tip: Get a room overlooking the ocean, not the marina.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

Large and clean rooms, friendly and accommodating staff. The pool isn't big but it wasn't crowded when we were there. The only big drawback is a lack of sandy beach. You can jump off from the dock and swim in the bay which is nice and calm, but its not something that the little kids could enjoy.

Stayed December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
English Harbour Town, Saint Paul, Antigua
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

I booked Captain Olivers for it's location recalling how bad the traffic can be from Simpson Bay into Phillipsburg and it worked out well. It is no more than 15 minutes drive from Oyster Pond into Phillipsburg where I had to be for a few days. The hotel is ok for the price, the rooms could benefit from a refit but they are spacious, comfortable, and quiet, and the fridge in the room is a bonus. The restaurant food is ok and their Sunday lunch buffet excellent. When I booked I did not realise it was on the French side consequenntly they have 220v sockets not 110v.

Room Tip: The superior rooms with the ocean view are worth the extra money, the cheaper rooms are over the car...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crestwood, Kentucky
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Found the staff very accommodating and friendly. The rooms were surprisingly spacious. Clean and cool, a little dated, but comfortable. Thought it was a great location just over the French side. Couldn't ask for better! Will definitely visit again.....

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruinen, The Netherlands
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

We had an excellent time at this resort. The room was perfect with a rustic interior. We had one with a oceanview. Breakfast is not what you maybe expect but sufficiënt. The staff is very helpfull and friendly.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kentucky
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

We decided to stay at Captain Oliver's in conjunction with a sailing charter. We chose it primarily for convenience but we were so pleased with our choice! From the moment we checked in, the staff made us feel at home and were so pleasant! The room was spacious, clean and comfortable. The room had a small kitchenette and a balcony overlooking the water. The pool area was fantastic with several pool chairs and thatched umbrellas. Even though we were only here for two nights, we are making plans to return!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Captain Oliver's Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain Oliver's Resort Hotel

Address: Oyster Pond, 97150, St Maarten-St Martin
Location: Caribbean > St Maarten-St Martin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in St Maarten-St Martin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Captain Oliver's Resort Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Three star hotel located at the border between the French and Dutch side of the island, our rooms are spacious and offer beautiful views of the ocean and the St.Barths island or the Oyster pond marina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Otel, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Captain Oliver's Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Captain Oliver`s Hotel St. Maarten/St. Martin
Captain Olivers Resort
Captain Olivers Hotel
Captain Oliver's Resort Hotel St Maarten-St Martin, Caribbean

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Captain Oliver's Resort Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.