We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise for naturists” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Club Orient Resort

Save Saved
You added Club Orient Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Club Orient Resort
1 Baie Orientale, 97150, St Maarten-St Martin   |  
Hotel amenities
london
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Paradise for naturists”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

This has to be about the best naturist place there is ( we have tried most of them all over the world ).We stayed for two weeks , which was just about right for us . Beach is simply stunning , sunbed reservation system works really well . Staff superb from start to finish in all departments - particularly reception and restaurant .We had a mini suite deluxe which has a larger kingsize bed - very spacious and comfortable accomodation - bathroom a bit tired but all worked well and loads of fresh towels and hot water. Good kitchen, we cooked a fair bit. Papagayo restaurant on site was a real highlight - very good food , music and dancing most nights . We tried some of the highly rated restaurants in the town and found Papagayo better , a bit cheaper ,and you dont have to put any clothes on ! No contest ! The fact that one can be nude at all times , everywhere, is superb - so much more free than having petty rules about covering up at certain times or places, that exist elsewhere .
We would recommend hiring a little car for trips out. Grande Case with its beach BBQ shacks and gourmet restaurants is very quaint . Merigot has a stunning harbour with a very good fish market on saturday morning ,we bought superb red snapper and fruit and veg from the locals.Opposite the fish market is Sarafinas french bakery , which would not be out of place in Paris . Good for breakfast or lunch and stocking up on speciality breads , pastries and savouries for the freezer . Also very good shops here with upmarket goods for the boating set.Many other pretty little bays to look at if you can tear yourself away from the resort !

Room Tip: All looked good in their category . Chalets are vast , like a little house . We chose minisuite delu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    157
    45
    4
    9
    4
See reviews for
7
166
22
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

We visited Club O in February 2013 and we have already made our reservations for 2014! All nude, all the time was the theme for this vacation. All of the staff were great, except the service at the restaurant was very slow. The food, however, was excellent. Willy, the bartender at the Perch Bar, was awesome. The beach was very clean and we did not experience the gawkers from the cruise ships as others described (we wouldn't have cared anyway). We asked our cab driver to stop at the grocery store on the way to Club O so that we could stock up on beer and supplies. The store at Club O was okay, but there was more selection (and better prices) at the grocery store. If you get tired of the food at the restaurant, then there are many restaurants a short walk north to the village. We ate there twice and found some great restaurants. We took a cab to Grande Case once for dinner. There are many awesome restaurants in Grande Case, which is a short cab drive away. If you rent a beach chalet make sure you wear shoes to the beach, or you will get thorns stuck in your feet (I found this out the hard way). It was awesome being nude for most of our vacation and we are looking forward to returning at least once a year!

Room Tip: All the rooms are good. There is a big price difference, though. Selecting a studio can save you a l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, Virginia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

The resort is showing its age: the shower walls were moldy and the towel rack and soap-dish were broken off (missing). There were mosquitos and ants both inside and outside the cottage. The kitchen had no blinds on the windows (only on patio doors). These flaws are not acceptable for a high-priced resort.
The quality and color of the beach and the sea were divine. We were in the first row of bungalows so every morning I needed only a few steps to go swimming on the almost deserted beach. During the day, it got very crowded, however, as the beach is open to the public. Resort guests get a permanent beach chair (with a name tag on it) - this is a good policy, otherwise it would be difficult to find one in the crowd. The food on the island is excellent if you take a taxi to any near-by gourmet restaurant. The on-site restaurant is not as good. For breakfast and lunch we stayed put as there was enough variety of food available at the on-site grocery store. Get there early for fresh croissants and baguettes! Masseuse Isabelle was excellent but not very pleasant.
Orient Beach (and its interior) has been built up heavily over the past ten years, so it is no longer as attractive as it used to be (when Club Orient was the only resort).

Room Tip: Chalet 66 is close to the sea but not on a main walkway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

This beach is so beautiful we thought we were in heaven! Did not want to leave here. We spent the day off of the ship here at club orient right on the clothing optional beach with tagged chairs and umbrella for $20. The beach and ocean are so beautiful and the views are priceless.The perch bar has 2 for 1 drinks at happy hour and Willie the female bartender is a sweetheart. The line is very long at first for drinks however there is always a line during happy hour but it does shorten after 15-20 minutes. If you are not comfortable being naked or topless this is not your place to be, on the flip side try it and you will like it! Nothing better than walking around in your birthday suit feeling free. This is a great experience and as others have said no one is there to judge you. Everyone was very nice and we will make a return visit to stay there longer next time.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHILLIWACK
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

This was our second time to Club Orient, last year spending 13 days and this year 16. Hopefully next year will be 21. If you have ever considered a clothing optional resort this is for YOU. Everyone from the guests to the employees are so friendly. No one cares what anyone looks like. We brought a lot of food with us [ cause you don't need clothes] plus shopped for more as we only ate out twice. We rented a car the first week to do our shopping and see some of the sites on the island and it was really enjoyable. We had a great time bombing all over the island. You can also rent a car right at Club O.
We took a kayak to Green Cay and walked all over the small island [ 10 minute paddle] and took 2 trips to Tintamarre on the Tiko Tiko and on the second trip saw a whale. We had one overcast day with about 3 hours of rain, other than that it was great weather. All in all it was another great vacation at Club Orient. Like my title says " Try it, You'll love it" Any questions please feel free to email me.

Room Tip: Prefer mini suite over studio
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indian Head Park,IL.
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We came for a 3rd visit and still the best Beach & accomadations..St Patricks Day was a great time.The buffet had all the Irish dishes.Entertainment was varied from a different host for music usally every night.The Staff still remains friendly & helpful as always.Anything you need help with,they are willing to try there best to meet the request.Philipe Captain of Tiko Tiko also is a added attraction to the Club.He has been doing hisexcursions with dinners and or a 1/2 day tour on the Catamaran for some time now.Book early as he is popular. A fun experience.This place has a well deserved award of a Great Establishment/Resort.Most visitors as you find are returning guests for several yrs..

Room Tip: As for getting a good spot on the beach.You are given tags to id your own lounges.(for the people st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Have only been to the beach as we stayed elsewhere, but this is a unique place. It is one of the most beautiful sandy beaches any place. The water is perfect. The beach staff keeps it clean and organized. For $20 a couple gets two lounges and an umbrella for the day. The security staff keeps things safe. If you sit right at waterside you will get the lookers/lurkers from the cruise ships who come to see the naked people but they don't bother you. The Club has secure parking for $5.00 at the Club entrance and the store offers food and refreshments and some Club specific beach accessories and wonderful staff.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Club Orient Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Orient Resort

Address: 1 Baie Orientale, 97150, St Maarten-St Martin
Location: Caribbean > St Maarten-St Martin
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in St Maarten-St Martin
#2 Best Value Hotel in St Maarten-St Martin
#5 On the Beach Hotel in St Maarten-St Martin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Club Orient Resort is situated on the white sand beach of Orient Bay on the Island of St. Martin. We offer 137 spacious ocean front or garden bungalows. Every unit is equipped w/ a full kitchen w/ dining area, ACs, Internet access, front/back patio and more. Onsite grocery store, boutique, watersports facility, spa/fitness center, restaurant, beach bar and grill, tennis courts and more. All these conveniences are located on our property where clothing is optional. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Club Orient Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Orient Hotel St. Maarten/St. Martin
Club Orient Baie Nettle
Orient Naturist Club
Beach Club Orient
Hotel Orient
Club Orient Naturist Resort
Club Orient Resort St Maarten-St Martin, Caribbean

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Club Orient Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.