We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place. Great price. A bit deserted. Town was grungy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Downtown Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Downtown Hotel to your Saves list
The Downtown Hotel
2.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Bridge Street, Soufriere, St. Lucia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 6 Soufriere B&B and Inns
toronto
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Nice place. Great price. A bit deserted. Town was grungy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2009

Took my 74 year old mom and stayed at the Downtown Hotel for less than $80 a night.
There was no hot water the first few days, the fridge didn't work, a leg of the bed collapsed, and the town side is quite noisy at night. but these problems were quickly solved and we really enjoyed our stay. Once we learned to shut the doors formly at night to keep out the tiny, loud mosquitos, we slept well.
We ate at the Hummingbird and they invited us to hang out at their pool. Gorgeous location but beach was a bit lacking. Good snorking until you get out a little farther and see the garbage (tires, can) on the ocean floor.
That was the part that bothered us about Soufriere was the garbage in the streets and riverbed. The people are very friendly, helpful and good-matured despite tough economic times, especially the men.
Soufrier is a great location to take day trips from. We were interested in a bargain vacation and were able to take buses (steps form the hotel) to several nearby attractions.
We had a great time. Gorgeous, lush, warm island. We had clean friendly accomodations and were quite happy to save a few bucks.

  • Stayed January 2009
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    37
    18
    7
    2
See reviews for
10
34
16
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Berlin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2008

The Hotel has two fronts, one two the sea and a huge air conditioning for KFC directly under your window, terrible noise from 8 am to 1 am. We moved two the other front, view two the church, but noise was even heavier: the bells of the church ring at 5 am for 10 minutes, than beginns the traffic, cars are using their horns... We did'nt sleep much there.

  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2007

I was told about this simple hotel in the heart of soufriere. I contacted the place and got in touch with the reception Ms Mathurin. Oh it was a delight speaking to her. So friendly she was. I arrived on on 18th Oct 2006 and left 25th oct 2006. The rooms are too die for. They are just breathe taking. The view of the ocean and piton is just exquisite. I never experience such beauty in my life. I will be back for christmas this year. Take my advise "Heaven in Soufriere" and you wont regret.

Stayed October 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Lucia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2007

My boyfriend and I visited St. Lucia for the first time. It was a surprise birthday gift for me. We are an adventurous couple . We didn’t plan every detail of our trip. We visited Soufriere for some sight seeing, we came across the downtown hotel at the end of the day. We stop to spend the night since we were so tired. The room was lovely and so quiet and comfortable. I can remember reading a novel in the balcony with the sight of the piton, open ocean, the harbor and the sky staring right back at me. What a wonderful sight. Never was there a more fitting end to a "downtown day". The staff were extremely friendly. We actually spend an extra night. This was a birthday gift I will never forget and my boyfriend knows that. I don’t think I can top that when his come. Enjoy every part of it.

  • Liked — location, friendly staff
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Downtown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Downtown Hotel

Address: Bridge Street, Soufriere, St. Lucia
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Soufriere Quarter > Soufriere
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Soufriere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Downtown Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is nestled within an eclectic synergy of cultural heritage and pristine environmental collages know as Soufriere, branded as the gem of St. Lucia. The Downtown Hotel was not only designed to blend in with its natural and structural environment but also with the concept of ‘a home away home’ in mind. This concept is evident in our medley of 18 welcoming rooms, coupled with our cadre of personable employees and local people; world renowned for our hospitality. As we grew in the knowledge of you, our valued clientele, our design scheme was tailored to match your needs; have a look at your future accommodations: ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, HostelBookers, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your The Downtown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Downtown Hotel Soufrière
The Downtown Hotel St. Lucia/Soufriere

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Downtown Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.