We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheaper option for the best location in St Lucia” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Downtown Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Downtown Hotel to your Saves list
The Downtown Hotel
2.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Bridge Street, Soufriere, St. Lucia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 6 Soufriere B&B and Inns
Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Cheaper option for the best location in St Lucia”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

If you prefer feeling like you're in a manicured suburb of Brisbane, Australian, go to Rodney Bay and fight for a place for your towel on the beach. If you want the wild beauty of St Lucia, Soufriere is the best location.

We simply couldn't afford the prices of the resorts, but staying in the town meant we could buy our own food and cook it in Downtown Hotel. We could visit the resort beaches, bars and restaurants. Downtown is close to the best restaurant we found, the Hummingbird (enter from the road not the beach or you'll end up in the wrong restaurant) with spectacular views. The beaches at Chastanet and Mamin are close and you can walk, but bring a torch for the return in the dark. You see hummingbirds going there, and fireflies on the walk back.

Our room view was the square with the church, and the hills around the town. If you want the pitons, just walk to the many beach bars which are less than 5 minutes away.

We stayed in Downtown for 3 weeks, and took a couple of days in Rodney Bay out of curiosity but we preferred Soufriere. Castries in nice for a day trip or to shop. Downtown isn't the Park Royal (would you expect it at the price?), but it's clean and comfortable and has nice views - and you're on holiday, right, not spending your life in your bedroom! Yes, the square can be a bit rowdy over the holidays, but people there enjoy to party. Go out and join them. It is quiet by midnight except on holidays.

Room Tip: If you do a flight-hotel booking you may get the square side, not the pitons, but there are rumoured...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    35
    17
    6
    2
See reviews for
10
32
15
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
137 helpful votes 137 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

The location of this hotel is fantastic - right in the heart of Soufriere. It has great views of the harbour and the top of Petit Piton, or the town. I had room 17, looking right out over the harbour - amazing view. They moved me from 16, which didn't have water. 17 was a much better room. They had water problems when I was there, but it didn't really matter. They don't have any facilities (it's probably only a 2 or 3 star hotel maximum), but what you get with this hotel is the opportunity to experience the real St Lucia. Great St Lucian restaurants nearby - Belle View was my favourite, and Angel's for breakfast.

I was on my own but felt perfectly safe, even in the evenings, although obviously you have to have your wits about you, and not put yourself in any dangerous situations. People were friendly, but again be cautious. Any help is usualy followed by a request for money, etc.

Water taxis to Jalousie or Anse Chastenet beaches cost around $50US, although I bet you could haggle better than I did. The view of the Pitons on the way back from both, but particularly from Anse Chastenet was spectactular.

The resort hotels are great, but a bit sanitised. If you want to experience the real St Lucia then I would urge you to spend a few days at the Downtown Hotel.

Room Tip: Room 17 has an amazing view of the harbour and Petit Piton
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

We did not have the greatest experience here. First, they had overbooked the hotel and had to downgrade our room for a night. Then when they moved us, there was no microwave or kettle in the new room, even though it was advertised that each room has them.
The location is central but extremely noisy - at night, the bar next door blares music at an extreme volume, and at 5 and 6 am, the church bells across the street will wake you up.
The bathroom smells of sewage and you have no control over the temperature of the water. One room had only cold, while the other had only hot.
The staff is nice and relatively helpful.
The view from the piton facing room is spectacular. Definitely worth the extra money.
Overall I wouldn't stay here again. We actually decided to check out a day early.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cville, VA
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

My wife rocks, because this place is not for a high-maintenance princess. If comfort and class is a must-have, check out Ladera.

Our main goal was to stay somewhere inexpensive for a few nights and hike a Piton. The hotel was very clean, the staff was very nice, and the town is safe, but there were no amenities in this hotel. The location is great; the historic town square is a stone’s throw away. The AC couldn’t really keep up, so it got warm at night, but all else was fine.

Check out Skippers for cheap food and beer. If you want to hike a Piton, or do anything in that area really, call Charles in Charge Tours at 758-459-5458.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

If you are on vacation and want a nice place to stay, this is not it.

The Hotel is very basic and the city has little to offer tourists. Mediocre restaurants and no sights around. The city and the area around the hotel does not feel very safe or welcoming.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

I like my comforts so was a little skeptical when we first arrived. I worried about the beach that was close by. I soon relaxed though. A taxi boat away was a fab beach and the two restaurants (Belle view and Petit Peak) we found served us well. I don't think that more than 4 nights would have worked because it was limited but for 4 Nights it was great to taste real St Lucia. We moved to Rodney Bay and actually I hankered for the authenticity of the Caribbean.

Room Tip: Request sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

The overall experience of my stay at the Downtown hotel was good. It was a good base to reach everything around Soufriere. As a single woman traveling alone I felt perfectly safe walking to the Botanical garden and around town alone. I even walked the dirt road from downtown to Anse Chasanet for great snorkles and back. I had room #9 which provided me with a wonderful view of the mountains and a little bit of the bay. The room was spacious but very basic. The staff was very informative and helpful with tips. Good rotis and fresh fruits across the church near the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Downtown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Downtown Hotel

Address: Bridge Street, Soufriere, St. Lucia
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Soufriere Quarter > Soufriere
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Soufriere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Downtown Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is nestled within an eclectic synergy of cultural heritage and pristine environmental collages know as Soufriere, branded as the gem of St. Lucia. The Downtown Hotel was not only designed to blend in with its natural and structural environment but also with the concept of ‘a home away home’ in mind. This concept is evident in our medley of 18 welcoming rooms, coupled with our cadre of personable employees and local people; world renowned for our hospitality. As we grew in the knowledge of you, our valued clientele, our design scheme was tailored to match your needs; have a look at your future accommodations: ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, HostelBookers, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Downtown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Downtown Hotel Soufrière
The Downtown Hotel St. Lucia/Soufriere

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Downtown Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.