We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not for a princess.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Downtown Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Downtown Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Downtown Hotel
2.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Bridge Street, Soufriere, St. Lucia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 6 Soufriere B&B and Inns
Cville, VA
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Not for a princess.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

My wife rocks, because this place is not for a high-maintenance princess. If comfort and class is a must-have, check out Ladera.

Our main goal was to stay somewhere inexpensive for a few nights and hike a Piton. The hotel was very clean, the staff was very nice, and the town is safe, but there were no amenities in this hotel. The location is great; the historic town square is a stone’s throw away. The AC couldn’t really keep up, so it got warm at night, but all else was fine.

Check out Skippers for cheap food and beer. If you want to hike a Piton, or do anything in that area really, call Charles in Charge Tours at 758-459-5458.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    16
    32
    14
    6
    2
See reviews for
9
29
14
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

If you are on vacation and want a nice place to stay, this is not it.

The Hotel is very basic and the city has little to offer tourists. Mediocre restaurants and no sights around. The city and the area around the hotel does not feel very safe or welcoming.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

I like my comforts so was a little skeptical when we first arrived. I worried about the beach that was close by. I soon relaxed though. A taxi boat away was a fab beach and the two restaurants (Belle view and Petit Peak) we found served us well. I don't think that more than 4 nights would have worked because it was limited but for 4 Nights it was great to taste real St Lucia. We moved to Rodney Bay and actually I hankered for the authenticity of the Caribbean.

Room Tip: Request sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

The overall experience of my stay at the Downtown hotel was good. It was a good base to reach everything around Soufriere. As a single woman traveling alone I felt perfectly safe walking to the Botanical garden and around town alone. I even walked the dirt road from downtown to Anse Chasanet for great snorkles and back. I had room #9 which provided me with a wonderful view of the mountains and a little bit of the bay. The room was spacious but very basic. The staff was very informative and helpful with tips. Good rotis and fresh fruits across the church near the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tampa, fl
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2012

The hotel's pamphlet uses words like "luxurious" and "superbly" and "royal" to describe rooms and accomodations. Let me caution you that these words do not belong in describing this "hotel". I was not expecting anything fancy by any sense of the word when I booked this hotel. How could I at $60 U.S per night? I was expecting at the very least something along the lines of a motel 6 though and the downtown hotel still didn't meet my expectations. The bathroom was filthy with mold all over the shower curtain, a sewer smelling toilet that constantly ran water, a tub that did not drain so you had to stand in your own filth and a vanity that was covered in a man's freshly shaven stubble. Thankfully the bed sheets were clean and the view was fantastic. We only got maid service one day out of 3, no clean towels were left so we had to ask the desk every day. The rug next to the bathtub is a death trap for sure. I fell out of the tub trying to step down out of it and onto said rug which just slid right out from under me since it had no rubber backing to keep it still. The staff was a little aloof with the exception of charlma, she was very nice and seemed to care. She arranged most of our activities and generally followed through. Just be sure to keep track of your "taxi" tab though.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Lucia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2012

The Character of the hotel is not wooow but it is a nice place and well equipped albeit the low price for Caribbean terms. Sometimes a beggar or a drunk outside the hotel can be annoying but I never felt insecure. Location is very centric, if you look for beaches it's not the best choice, for good beaches you'll need a car however. Staff is very friendly, helpful and patient. Rooms and sheets very clean, atmoshpere of the hotel is functional, you maybe won't feel like holidays in Caribbean. Very good value for money, clean, all you need available.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2012

If you’re looking for an affordable place that will give you a feel for a local life this is the hotel for you. It is clean, in the middle of the downtown, and next to the pier from which you can catch a water taxi to either Anse Chastanet or Jalouise beaches. There are couple grocery stores next to the hotel, and couple local places to eat. We liked Mr. Archie’s and Skippers bar for happy hour.

Regarding some complaints about being harassed by locals – if you’re used to sterile resort environment, it’s understandable that you wouldn’t like hanging out at place such as Soufriere. Some locals will try to harass you, try to sell you something or plainly ask for money. We were two girls traveling and we didn’t find the place to be unsafe or anything like that. Everyone’s friendly and if you ask them to leave you alone, they will.

Overall, it’s a great, affordable hotel with beautiful views of the bay and access to beautiful beaches. It was a nice break from overly touristy area of Rodney Bay.

Room Tip: "Ask for a room facing the bay."
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Downtown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Downtown Hotel

Address: Bridge Street, Soufriere, St. Lucia
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Soufriere Quarter > Soufriere
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Soufriere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Downtown Hotel 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is nestled within an eclectic synergy of cultural heritage and pristine environmental collages know as Soufriere, branded as the gem of St. Lucia. The Downtown Hotel was not only designed to blend in with its natural and structural environment but also with the concept of ‘a home away home’ in mind. This concept is evident in our medley of 18 welcoming rooms, coupled with our cadre of personable employees and local people; world renowned for our hospitality. As we grew in the knowledge of you, our valued clientele, our design scheme was tailored to match your needs; have a look at your future accommodations: ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, HotelsClick, HostelBookers, HostelWorld, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your The Downtown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Downtown Hotel Soufrière
The Downtown Hotel St. Lucia/Soufriere

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Downtown Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.