We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little piece of Heaven” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jade Mountain Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Jade Mountain Resort to your Saves list
Jade Mountain Resort
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 Anse Chastanet Rd | PO Box 4000, Soufriere, St. Lucia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
TAKE FIVE
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Soufriere
vienna
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A little piece of Heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

This most outstanding resort was a little piece of heaven. I don't even know where to begin;
The architecture is wonderfully unique you are one with nature and the views are mesmerising.
The accommodation itself is wonderfully comfortable (we stayed in both Anse Chastanet and Jade Mountain) and you feel extremely pampered all the way through. Every detail is thought of and the staff is extremely friendly and helpful but all so professional too. Nothing you ask for is too much and the organisation is wonderful. Excellent food and wine, impeccable service each and everyone of the restaurants...
One mustn't forget the beach where the water is clear, the sun beds cleans and comfortable and the service and care one of a kind.
Special thanks to driver Roger M. who shuttled me up and down endlessly....

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

642 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    534
    68
    20
    16
    4
See reviews for
12
558
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Fantastic Resort,
We stayed in the Galaxy Suite (about 2500sq ft) with one wall completely open (nonexistent) where the in-room eternity pool actually extended out with a fantastic view of the twin Pitons and the black volcanic sandy beach.
Service was impeccable, food was supreme, foie gras every night as an appetite choice and the seafood as fresh as it gets. Duck breast were also great!
The scuba diving was another great venture and the boat trips to the main town (for shopping) was an adventure into itself.
I put this island stay on par equally with a prior stay off of Belize (Cayo Espanto).
Cannot wait to return to either place for the accommodations, service, quality of fresh seafood, fine dining and lastly the great scuba diving (Cayo Espanto has the edge with the reef diving)!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

I stayed here on a dive vacation during September. The service was top notch, the accommodations were fabulous as was the view of the pitons. This resort is worth it. It is on a mountain side but we just called for the shuttle that would arrive in minutes. No waiting. The owner was there to greet the guests during the meet and greet happy hours. First class!! The diving was spectacular as well.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Um, uh, well...I think you just really have to see this to believe it. Stunning architecture, incredible rooms, indescribable views, an excellent staff and all the other things you'll read here. When we walked up the stairs and then out to the individual walkways (bridges, really) to each room, I was sold.

We spent a few days at Anse Chastenet and then moved up to Jade Mountain for our last two nights. It's just a different world up there--not only from AC, but from everywhere.

An open wall overlooking the Pitons, a pool in our room (in our room!) larger than some I've seen at peoples' residences, constant cool breezes, individualized service, a great restaurant right upstairs with preferred reservations...it would be hard to ask for more.

We'll be back, for a longer visit next time.

You really do have to experience it. Really.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas, United States
1 review
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

My wife and I went on our honeymoon this past December and Jade Mountain was truly an experience that will last a life time. The staff was amazing, my wife wrote personal thank you notes to each of them as they truly made the experience fantastic. You truly do not have to worry about a thing here, except figuring out what relaxing activity to do next. The food was to die for, that is all I can say.

The room was simply breathtaking with views I dream about.

One really great point of note is that I worked with Mindy at Beach Bum Vacations and she arranged the whole thing. Making the whole trip even more relaxing. Working with Mindy allowed my wife and I to have a truly relaxing honeymoon before we even got on the plane.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnstown, PA
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

This is simply a spectacular place! And the room is the star! You hate to leave the room. Our room was a corner room. While all 24 rooms in the place have at least one wall open to the outside, our corner room just had two walls, so it was basically open 180 degrees. The view was spectacular. We could look in one direction from our room at the classic Pitons, and in the other direction at the beach, the bay, and the sister resort just below Jade Mountain on the hillside (Anse Chastanet). The infinity pool, your own private pool, in the room was beautiful and inviting. The colored tile sparkled in the sun. Different colors were elicited depending on the angle of the sun. The pool water did not seem to be chlorinated. While in the room, there was the continuous sound of running water all day and night. The fresh water appeared to flow from levels higher up, down into the pool of our room (and others), spill over the edge of the infinity pool and travel on down to lower levels. It was basically a process of continuous running water (recycled and pumped back up). The hotel is basically built on a steep hillside, with multiple levels (7 levels I think altogether including the restaurant on the top level).

Another consistent sound every night was croaking of the tree frogs. Right about dusk, they get going. It is like crickets on steroids. Combining this sound with the continuous running water sound that you hear in your room, it is really soothing. It was nature’s own sound machine.

It is really a special and unique place. I have never seen anything else like it. There is a network of elevated sidewalks leading to the rooms made of concrete and steel with rich wood railing. It looks like it could have come from a Lord of the Rings movie set. Viewing Jade Mountain from a boat out on the water, the hotel looks unfinished. It looks like the developer ran out of money. The outer walls are missing. From the inside, however, you understand the obvious. It is that absence of the fourth wall that makes it so spectacular. You feel like you are one with nature, as nature can freely enter your room whenever it wants to (small opportunistic birds looking for a quick human snack, a few little lizards, never any problem for us). And there are the Pitons, in plain view, every time you look out.

The bed was very comfortable. It had mosquito netting covering it. But, we did not really encounter many mosquitoes and really not very many bugs of any kind on the grounds or in our room.

The food was really good. We were there on the Modified American Plan, so breakfast and dinner were included. They also provide a small snack tray in the early afternoon. You could buy lunch if you wanted to, but we found that the two included meals plus the mid-day snack tray was generally adequate. The restaurant on the top level of Jade Mountain Resort, Jade Mountain Club, was really outstanding. You could also eat at other restaurants on the combined properties (meaning the restaurants on the Anse Chastanet property further down the hill and on the beach). We ate our first evening’s dinner at the Tree House restaurant at Anse Chastanet. After that, we ate every meal at Jade Mountain Club which was superb every time. Breakfast is served at the Jade Mountain Club, or you can have it delivered to your room. While that sounds inviting, it turns out that hot breakfast food items basically have more time to grow cold as they are delivered to your room. So, having tried this once, we subsequently ate breakfast in the actual restaurant itself, which has the same spectacular view that your room has.

Saint Lucia is definitely the most beautiful Caribbean island that we have visited. It is amazingly green and incredibly rugged. In fact, the drive from the airport to the hotel is quite an adventure. You go up and down, winding and turning, along the side of steep hills, for about a one hour ride. The last 10 minutes is really rugged, basically a single lane of rugged, unpaved, uphill road. It looks like a logging road. It is hard to believe that a AAA 5 diamond resort lies at the end of that rough road. But, it just adds to the charm and uniqueness of the place in my opinion.

We visited in early September. It rained multiple times every day. But the rain would typically last for only about 5 minutes, and then the sun would be back out. It turned out that the rain did not really interfere with anything in terms of activities. That is presumably what makes Saint Lucia so incredibly green. Of course, it was hot the entire time. Even when it rained, it was hot. It did cool down somewhat at night, and a breeze was consistently present off of the ocean. For sleeping, in early September, it was sometimes a little too warm at the start of the evening. But, throughout the night, it would cool down to a comfortable temperature (without the benefit of air conditioning – for obvious reasons, no outer wall). The bed had a ceiling fan right above it (and ceiling fans in other places throughout the room) which made it very comfortable most of the time. Before going on this trip, I was wondering whether I would regret going there during the tail end of the hot season. But, based on this experience, I would not be afraid to go back to Jade Mountain Resort during the summer (when better room rates are available).

Room Tip: The JD1 corner room was simply spectacular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Privacy, natural beauty, view, luxury down to your personal “firefly butler”, hot tub and infinity pool in your own “sanctuary” are all here….Perfect for relaxation.. For the adventurous, hike to the Pitons or trail biking, snorkeling are all one “firefly” call away.. Spend the money and do it.. you won’t regret it.

Room Tip: Higher the better...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Jade Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jade Mountain Resort

Address: 100 Anse Chastanet Rd | PO Box 4000, Soufriere, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Soufriere Quarter > Soufriere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Soufriere
#1 Romantic Hotel in Soufriere
#1 Luxury Hotel in Soufriere
#9 Family Hotel in Soufriere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Jade Mountain Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rising majestically above its 49 room sister resort Anse Chastanet, a 600 acre beach front property, Jade Mountain is a cornucopia of organic architecture celebrating St Lucia’s stunning scenic beauty. The 29 luxury suites are called sanctuaries, sweeping spaces where bedroom, living area and an extravagant private infinity pool glide into one another to form extraordinary platforms floating out into nature. With the fourth wall entirely absent, Jade Mountain’s sanctuaries are stage-like settings from which to embrace the full glory of St Lucia’s Pitons World Heritage Site and the Caribbean Sea. Jade Mountain has set a new standard in the Caribbean whether it is for modern design, luxury living or unique resort and guest service experiences.Wrapped around an infinity pool with a dazzling kaleidoscope of colors, the Jade Mountain Club restaurant caters exclusively to resident guests, celebrating James Beard Award winner Chef Allen Susser’s “Jade Cuisine.” Hovering in space above the Jade Mountain Club is the Celestial Terrace, perfect for sunset cocktails or star-gazing.A wide range of spa services can be enjoyed in the privacy of the Jade Mountain sanctuaries or at Kai en Ciel, Jade Mountain’s boutique spa and fitness studio. The resort major domos and a dedicated resort team ensure outstanding service around the clock.Guests may enjoy the exclusivity and privacy of Jade Mountain plus access to all of Anse Chastanet’s facilities and services: Nestled amidst a lush tropical 600 acre tropical estate with two soft sand beaches bordering pristine coral reefs, Anse Chastanet is right in the heart of the island’s marine reserves with St. Lucia’s legendary twin peaks, the Pitons, as the dramatic backdrop.The active will enjoy the resort’s amazing range of adventure facilities. Facilities include 4 restaurants & 3 bars, professional spa, PADi 5* scuba centre, water sports with kayaking centre, 12 miles of private biking and hiking trails with mountain bike rental, sailing yacht, 3 boutiques, library and art gallery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Amex, Priceline, Orbitz, MrandMrsSmith and Jetsetter so you can book your Jade Mountain Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jade Mountain Hotel
Hotel Jade Mountain
Jade Mountain St Lucia
Jade Mountain Resort St. Lucia/Soufriere

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jade Mountain Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.