We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great room with a few problems” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Jade Mountain Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Jade Mountain Resort to your Saves list
Jade Mountain Resort
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 Anse Chastanet Rd | PO Box 4000, Soufriere, St. Lucia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Soufriere
New York City, New York
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great room with a few problems”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We honeymooned at Jade Mountain for a week and enjoyed the room/"sanctuary" (JC5). The views were majestic. The food and group activities (walks/sailing/etc.) were enjoyable. The open air floor plan is definitely unique, i.e. birds in your room every morning, but that is worth the experience.

However there were a few things that we disliked about our experience: 1) the Butler service provided for each room was miserable and became a burden on our stay, 2) the food is expensive but that is to be expected, 3) the beach wasn't great but that was acceptable because you were likely to stay in your sanctuary anyways.

Regarding the Butler service, we believe our butlers (Kerrian and Fillena) were not the norm. Other guests raved about their butlers. Upon checking out we complained about the butler service and were pleasantly surprised that the butler manager, Al, came to visit us to discuss our concerns personally.

A couple additional positives are the amenities (gym, spa, rooftop lounge and nightly bands). Lastly, the snorkeling in the immediate area was good.

Room Tip: The restaurant allows you to bring your own wine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

594 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    493
    62
    19
    16
    4
See reviews for
11
518
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Detroit
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Overall, St. Lucia is a great island! It's lush & hilly everywhere and the Pitons (the iconic mountains you can see from Jade) are absolutely stunning! I'd never get tired of looking at them!

As for Jade Mountain, it's definitely a gorgeous, unique hotel & we will visit again. However, there are a few things to keep in mind:

1) Not all of the rooms are open air & have their own pools. The first night we got there, the pool rooms were full so we had to stay in a "Sky Suite" w/o a pool. The suite was okay, but definitely not worth the money...If you stay at Jade, definitely go for an infinity pool room, it's not worth it otherwise & there is no "community pool" - so you'd be left pool-less.

2) We went in October, and it was still really really hot. Even at night it was 80 degrees...I was fine with it, but my boyfriend was a little annoyed by the heat, especially at night. (Because it's open air, there is no AC - but there are several ceiling fans & one right above the bed).

3) Be prepared to spend money - it's not just the room that's expensive, but everything! Breakfast was like $32 for an entree / $18 for an omelette...Dinner is a mandatory 4 course meal and is like $85 per person w/o drinks & expect to pay like $20 for a sandwich at lunch. It's not a big deal for most that stay there, but if you're not spending all of your vacation budget on the room. And because the road up to the resort is really bad and takes like 15 mins to get out of the resort, cabs are like $50 round trip minimum to get anywhere else.

4) Watch out - Jade inflates the price on EVERYTHING (times 2 in some cases) if you want to do any fun day trips or activities. For example, we rented a sailboat for a few days...Jade quoted us $900/ half-day for the boat & we ended up booking it ourselves and paying $600-$700 for the full day with the same company. (It was awesome btw - we rented it through Mystic Man). So if you want to do other activities, I'd recommend booking them yourself.

5) If you're big into partying then Jade / the entire Soufriere area isn't for you...There isn't much to do at night! (Which was fine by us, we were there for the sun & relaxation and aren't big drinkers).

Now for the good stuff :)...

1) If you like snorkeling / scuba - there are a ton of great spots in St. Lucia...In fact, there is a really cool reef & wall literally right on the beach at Jade. And the water is amazing, it's like bath water! And you can get water taxi's that will take you to other cool snorkeling spots.

2) The rooms are great and view from the rooms is just as breathtaking as it is on the website. But, make sure to visit Jade with someone you know extremely well. The room is wide-open, even the shower and the bathroom don't have a door or a full wall!!


3) You get your own butlers who are really nice guys & overall the service is really good. (It is a little slow - but that's island life...We found that to be true everywhere).

If you do stay at Jade, it's very easy to stay at the resort the entire trip (especially with the horrible road), but I encourage you to go out & check out other places! Here's what we loved:

1) Mystic Man sailboat rental was awesome - we got to check out Margiot & Rodney Bays & even saw hundreds of dolphins :)

2) Jaliouse has a decent snorkeling spot, hobecat rentals & really fun tubing rides!

3) Chocolat Hotel has an amazing restaurant- everything is made with cocoa!

4) Take a water taxi tour of the island - Simon down at the beach is great!

5) Check out the local fish fry on Fridays :)

Room Tip: Don't get a Sky Suite - it's not worth it! Go for a room w/ an infinity pool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, Rhode Island
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

My wife and I recently spent 5 nights at Jade Mountain.Oct 21-26 (Sanctuary JB4)
I have traveled extensively throughout the US and the Carribean and typically stay at the finest hotels or resorts. This place is really something special!
To our surprise, the room and the views are actually better than the website depicts, simply breathtaking!
The service was 2nd to none, butlers were fantastic and the entire staff is spot on.
The food at Jade Mountain Club is fabulous, we ate there 4 of the nights. One night we did the beachfront private dinner, very romantic and well done. You can swim, lay in the sun, take a hot tub, nap, read a book, other activities...and you haven't left your beautiful sanctuary yet.
If your into Scuba, best reef is right out front...
Spoil yourself and book this resort!
MB

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We just returned from our Honeymoon at Jade Mountain and it was like a dream come true. We were a little concerned about the cost at first but must say now that it was worth it. Granted, this is not a trip most of us can take every year, but for a special occasion it is absolute perfection. We recommend the "all inclusive" package so you won't be looking at prices at every turn. My husband and I have stayed at top resorts all over the world and this is by far the best we've experienced.
The sanctuaries (we had a "Moon" category) are spectacular and it is obvious from the moment you arrive that you will be pampered to the hilt. Our Butlers (Mervin) went above and beyond to do little surprises for us like running a bubble bath and spreading flower petals over the bed and lighting candles when we would go out to dinner. And Edmund, the property manager really made us feel like Jade was so happy we were there. We felt at home.
As far as dining, no need to go off property. The food at Jade is better than most of the finest restaurants in major cities. However, they do charge extra for the lobster which I think they should allow you to have once during your stay in the "all inclusive" package.
We also did some great tours that were included in our package. The jungle bike tour was much better than we anticipated and a real treat. Jovan, the tour guide was so informative about the local fruit and vegetation and made it a lot of fun. The half day sailing trip was also great even though the seas were a bit rough that day. Again, the Captain was fantastic and catered to us. Overall, we experienced that the people that worked at the resorts (Jade and Anse Chastanet) and did the resort tours were very passionate about their work and genuinely wanted you to have a great time. The only exception we found was in the resort boutiques. They have beautiful items in the boutiques but the staff wasn't as friendly as the other areas of the resort which didn't inspire me to shop much. Guess that's ok since I didn't really need to spend any more money.
We have raved about the property to all our family and friends and are already planning a trip back for our 3rd year Anniversary. Thank you Jade Mountain for a Honeymoon we will never forget.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

One of the most memorable experiences of my life. The atmosphere, service and food are spectacular.

We visited in October 2011. I enjoyed taking the cooking class and I still find myself missing the food! It was so fresh and delicious!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wake Forest, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

We just returned from a short stay at Jade Mountain. It was AMAZING. I cannot say enough about this resort. The rooms were unique and well appointed. Every need was attended to by the amazing staff. The beach was fantastic - both Anse Chastenet and Anse Mamin. The food was the best of all. Dinner was an event for us. Every night it was something different and always delicious. At one point I looked at my husband and said, "I normally don't like any of the things I just ate, but together, they were the best salad I've ever had." If you have the opportunity, go to Jade Mountain. Stay as long as you can afford and be spoiled.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

My husband and I spent our honeymoon in St. Lucia Oct 8-14. The last two nights we stayed at Jade Mountain. This design of this resort is very impressive - with all the bridges and levels it looks like something out of a movie. I must admit we were a little disappointed with the first night in particular. The weather was SO bad upon arrival & lasted throughout the night. There was a bad storm the first night & the sound of the wind in the room was so bad that it kept us & most couples we spoke to up all night. The bed is pretty far from the opening & the wind was so strong it was blowing the rain into our bed. With that being said, neither of us blaim our experience on Jade Mountain. We knew that that could happen when booking the hotel, it was just disappointing because of the amount of time we were there for. They were at our room early the next morning to clean up & the manager (we think) was walking around to all the couples eating lunch the next day apologizing and explaining the storm which was nice. I have to add that it stopped raining the second night and we both put in the ear buds that they give you.. that was one of the most peaceful nights sleep I have ever had. I would imagine most nights would be like that we just got unlucky with the weather.

We stayed in JB5 & the room was more impressive and a lot bigger than you see in the pictures. Nothing beats taking a shower & staring at the Pitons.

We ate at the Jade Club upon arrival for lunch. We ate breakfast both days in the room. We ate dinner at the Treehouse & the Jade Club and we thought the food was great everywhere we ate. The butlers are really on top of everything, you call them and they are at your door. My husband also got sick the first night (we had really bad luck) and when I called to change our breakfast order she was there 2 minutes later with toast for him.

The ride up was a little scary because it was pouring out but it lasts no longer than 7 min. Close your eyes and your fine. The whole resort and its sister resort are hills. I am a pretty lazy person but I enjoyed it. It's vacation you are eating and drinking a lot, I think we could all use the walk, but if thats not for you they have shuttles - all you have to do is call your butler and the shuttle is there 5 min later.

Overall, I would say to go to Jade Mountain. I hope to go back in the future & have better luck with the weather.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Jade Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jade Mountain Resort

Address: 100 Anse Chastanet Rd | PO Box 4000, Soufriere, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Soufriere Quarter > Soufriere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Soufriere
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Soufriere
#1 Luxury Hotel in Soufriere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Jade Mountain Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rising majestically above its 49 room sister resort Anse Chastanet, a 600 acre beach front property, Jade Mountain is a cornucopia of organic architecture celebrating St Lucia’s stunning scenic beauty. The 29 luxury suites are called sanctuaries, sweeping spaces where bedroom, living area and an extravagant private infinity pool glide into one another to form extraordinary platforms floating out into nature. With the fourth wall entirely absent, Jade Mountain’s sanctuaries are stage-like settings from which to embrace the full glory of St Lucia’s Pitons World Heritage Site and the Caribbean Sea. Jade Mountain has set a new standard in the Caribbean whether it is for modern design, luxury living or unique resort and guest service experiences.Wrapped around an infinity pool with a dazzling kaleidoscope of colors, the Jade Mountain Club restaurant caters exclusively to resident guests, celebrating James Beard Award winner Chef Allen Susser’s “Jade Cuisine.” Hovering in space above the Jade Mountain Club is the Celestial Terrace, perfect for sunset cocktails or star-gazing.A wide range of spa services can be enjoyed in the privacy of the Jade Mountain sanctuaries or at Kai en Ciel, Jade Mountain’s boutique spa and fitness studio. The resort major domos and a dedicated resort team ensure outstanding service around the clock.Guests may enjoy the exclusivity and privacy of Jade Mountain plus access to all of Anse Chastanet’s facilities and services: Nestled amidst a lush tropical 600 acre tropical estate with two soft sand beaches bordering pristine coral reefs, Anse Chastanet is right in the heart of the island’s marine reserves with St. Lucia’s legendary twin peaks, the Pitons, as the dramatic backdrop.The active will enjoy the resort’s amazing range of adventure facilities. Facilities include 4 restaurants & 3 bars, professional spa, PADi 5* scuba centre, water sports with kayaking centre, 12 miles of private biking and hiking trails with mountain bike rental, sailing yacht, 3 boutiques, library and art gallery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Jade Mountain Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jade Mountain Hotel
Hotel Jade Mountain
Jade Mountain St Lucia
Jade Mountain Resort St. Lucia/Soufriere

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jade Mountain Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.