We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“St Lucia's hidden Secret” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fond Doux Plantation & Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Fond Doux Plantation & Resort to your Saves list
Fond Doux Plantation & Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   PO Box 250, Soufriere 250, St. Lucia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Summerlicious 2015!!
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Soufriere
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersGold level
New York City, New York
1 review
“St Lucia's hidden Secret”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2010

I stayed at Fond Doux Estate with my Husband and kids and it was great. Staff were very hospitable and not to the mention the place was georgous, the cottages were breathtaking and great accomodations for my kids. Fond Doux has set the pace for alot of mini hotels especially in Soufriere. Lyton and Eroline Lamontagne are venturing into eco-tourism, where no one has dared to venture into. That is very commendable! Not forgetting to mention the restaurants and the local food is unlike anything i've had on the island. I was tired of going to restaurants where u get food that can be prepared at home, Fond Doux's Jardin Cacao gives u a tasste of local and what the plantation is all about which is Coco. I would definitely recommend this place for anyone seeking somewhere beautiful, isolated and not to mention different. Dont listen to everything u read, the place is one of a kind. I'm definitely going back for more!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

494 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    376
    91
    20
    7
    0
See reviews for
83
330
15
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2010

We recently stayed at Fond Doux. When we first arrived we were over the moon, it's a gorgeous location if you really want to "get away" from everything, and we did. The first night was wonderful. We stayed in and had dinner at the plantation which was lovely. The next day it was raining which already made us cranky and then it took over an hour to get a cab out of there which was extremely frustrating....but when we got back to the quaint, cute little cottage all was forgotten...until Saturday night when we ate there again and woke up hours later with horrifying food poisoning. My boyfriend and I are STILL sick. We had five more days at another hotel and were feeling good enough to at least enjoy the vacation overall, but we must have gotten some parasite or something from the Fond Doux Restaurant's chicken, because he ate all of it and I only ate a bite and he got 4 times sicker than I.

Beautiful place, huge pain to get anywhere, so if you're looking to nestle away in the woods this is the place for you...just don't order the chicken.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fonddoux, Owner at Fond Doux Plantation & Resort, responded to this review, July 19, 2010
Thank you for choosing Fonddoux Plantation in St.Lucia and complimenting our "gorgeous location"and "perfect getaway".We appreciate feedback from our guests however we would like to correct a few inaccuracies (1) we have an inhouse shuttle service which is always available to our guests.Fonddoux is five minutes from the town of Soufriere and thirty minutes from the international airport.(2)We have daily specials and most of our guests including ourselves had the same chicken for dinner and nobody else fell sick.(3) You spent the entire day in the southern part of the island and returned at 9.00pm with our driver. St.Lucia is a warm tropical island and perhaps drinks and food were consumed during the course of the ten hours that you were away from Fonddoux Plantation.Our primary aim is to ensure that our guests have a truly memorable and wonderfull stay and to continue in our aim to produce a vacation experience that is truly authentic and responsible.We apologise that you fell sick in St.Lucia and we hope that you have a full and complete recovery.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2010

My girlfriend and i recently stayed at the Fond Deux for a week.

The positives for us were the friendly people working there, the beautiful surroundings, the fresh flowers and fruit in our room each day, and the price.

The things we felt could have been better were the food in the restaurant for lunch / dinner which we felt was average and overpriced. The restaurant in the evening looks very romantic and is, but sadly the food didnt match the ambience. If the food had been better we would have given the hotel a very good rating. The other area we felt could have been better was the administration. We had issues around not being picked up from the airport and the final bill, which had a lot of innacuracies. These were handled but could have been avoided.

The staff reacted very quickly on the first night to an ant problem and we were moved into the cinnamon cottage which was really lovely. There were some nice touches in the room, and we appreciated that. All the staff greet you with a warm hello, and again thats a big plus point. The lush surroundings did offer something very tropical and nature is all around.

The poor weather isnt someting anyone can compensate for, and at times it did feel isolating. There isnt a huge amount to do, so if you love forna and flora then this place is a treat to be in. Taxis can be a little costly, and we hired a car for the day and drove to Castries. We actually preffered the south of the island where the amazing Pitons are. Our most treasured memories are the breathtkaing sunset views of the majestic pitons.

We are both extremely well travelled people and we have been to the Caribbean before, and this certainly was a truely rustic setting. This place might have been a little too isolated for us, but will please many a traveller with a sense of adventure and private reflection.

An activities board or information displayed about trips and excursions in the reception area would have been good. We had to find a lot out about trips ourselves. The trips were nothing to write home about, and would suggest you shop around and read reviews yourselves. The sunset cruise we went on provided us with one tiny, tiny sandwich, one small chicken drumstick and a tiny piece of cake. The rum punches made up for that i guess.

Wish we could have given the place more, with better food it could have been an 8-9 for us.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2010

We booked Fond Doux Plantation for the 1st week of our honeymoon in St. Lucia on the basis of the positive reviews on tripadvisor. While we were aware that there were some - albeit very few - slightly negative reviews too, we have to say we couldn't have had a better time! We stayed at Fond Doux just before the high season started and it was very relaxed and quiet. Staff were very friendly with us, so were the owners. Had we stayed longer, we would have been invited to the staff party, which took place shortly after we had to leave. We didn't have a car but used the free shuttle to the beach and local buses, which we found very convenient. We booked through Expedia which gave us the choice between the Bamboo and the African Tulip Cottage but we contacted the hotel directly as well and asked them to book us into the Bamboo Cottage, which they did for us. We loved the beautiful gardens of the plantation, the walks in the area and amazing landscape, the pretty little cottage, the solitude and relaxed atmosphere as well as the excellent food in the restaurant where we dined most nights. We also enjoyed the tour of the plantation during which we learnt more about the organic cultivation of cocoa. We spent our 2nd week in the St. Lucian by Rex Resorts in the North of the island, simply as we thought we should see something else of the island - and they had a good deal on - we are usually rather backpacker-style travellers and wouldn't necessarily choose an all-inclusive hotel. While we enjoyed the beach in the North too, we wished we had stayed in the South of the island for the 2nd week too, or at least had done it the other way around - begin the holiday in the (touristy) North and then stay in the beautiful lush Southern part of the island close to the Pitons, where we also found people to be more genuine and friendly. We would recommend Fond Doux to our friends and family and would love to return for a wedding anniversary. We only gave 3 points on value but that's due to the generally high price level expected to be paid for hotels in St. Lucia - all in all we rate this excellent.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2010

My wife and I stayed at the Cinnamon Cottage for 7 days and had a great time. The plantation is beautiful, you're surrounded by nature and the cottages are very nice, clean and private. They also have a friendly cat ('Socks') running around the neatly kept grounds. You can really unwind and relax. We also liked the free Wifi, although it only worked on the porch.

You can take the free shuttle bus to go to beautiful jalousie beach, between the Pitons, but beware that you have to pay $20 each for a beach-bed near the restaurant (there are free beach-beds on the far right of the beach).

The Fond Doux-restaurant is not so special, the menu could use some variation and the prices and food are average.

If you want to go anywhere else than Jalousie Beach you have to take the taxi, which the Plantation can arrange. All the drivers were really friendly, especially Didier.

The staff is friendly but a little reserved, after a couple of days they open up to you.

General remarks on St. Lucia:
- Beautiful island, very relaxing and amazing nature.
- The mosquito-bites are the worst we've ever felt. Deet didn't work.
- The town of Soufrière is not tourist friendly and too far to walk to from Fond Doux.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2010

This is an incredible place if you want a real St Lucian experience. We went with our 12-month baby, and although the place is not aimed at babies (no high-chairs etc), the staff could not have made more of an effort to make our stay comfortable

We spent five nights in the Cocoa Tree cottage. This had two bedrooms and a large living room, giving us plenty of space once the baby was asleep at night. We even brought food from the restaurant to eat in our lving room one night, and it was great to feel so comfortable.

The rooms are beautifully prepared, with much attention paid to detail (fresh flowers in the rooms, welcome rose petals on the beds, two sinks etc). It was incredible for the middle of a cocoa plantation. The rooms (and the whole resort) are very clean and well-maintained, but there will always be some bugs around due to its location.

We spent our first nights in St Lucia on the beach, and it was great to be at a higher elevation due to the cooler air (no need for AC) and less mosquitoes. The sounds of the rainforest were amazing, and since our cottage was isolated, we really felt that we were away from everyone else.

The staff were always going out of their way for us, and it was great to see staying somewhere where the owners (who are locals) take such a pride in their place. They are very hands-on, and will do anything to make their guest happy. For example, we wanted to go to the beach for lunch, and they organised it for us without any fuss.

The restaurants were great, with good food, prompt service and reasonable prices (by St Lucian standards!). We ate there most nights, and the atmosphere was great as we were sitting right in the rain forest. The food became a little repetitive as no specials were offered, but we had dinner at the Ladera resort (just down the road) for variety. Not only was Fond Doux able to offer us baby-sitting, but they were helpful in organising transportation to the Ladera (which is walkable during the day, but not at night in the dark). It was refreshing to stay somewhere where they encourage guests to visit the local resorts in order to improve their experience.

The resort has many fantastic touches (hiking trails, beautiful swimming pools etc) and it was a joy staying there. Although it is close to the main road

Overall it was a great experience, and would thoroughly recommend it. If however, you want a regular 5-star hotel witihin walking distance of many chain-type restaurants, this is not for you (go to the north of the island). For an amazing experience, with luxury in a cocoa plantation, then this is the place!

Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2010

My Husband and I stayed here for our honeymoon and absolutely loved it!! We stayed in the Cinnamon Cottage and loved having a a front deck with rocking chairs to relax on every morning and night. We had the best time kicking around the cocoa plantation and hanging by the pool which is amazing. The staff were so incredibly nice and helpful and we really appreciated the amazing food they prepared for us daily. The rum punch with fresh nutmeg was ridiculously good also :) This is definitely on the more rustic side because you are in the middle of a rain forest- which makes it a little loud at night with all the tree frogs, but also super cool because YOU'RE IN A RAINFOREST! We stayed for 5 nights and couldn't have been happier with our choice of Fond Doux. It is locally owned which is a plus, and just in an amazing location. We were told Hershey's gets most of it's cocoa from Fond Doux Plantation. We watched cocoa being made, had rum punch delivered to us at the pool all day, drank wine on our porch at night and watched hummingbirds, an on and on! There was so much to do on site at Fond Doux, as well in the town of Soufriere. We loved our honeymoon at Fond Doux!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Fond Doux Plantation & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fond Doux Plantation & Resort

Address: PO Box 250, Soufriere 250, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Soufriere Quarter > Soufriere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Soufriere
#1 Family Hotel in Soufriere
#2 Romantic Hotel in Soufriere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fond Doux Plantation & Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fond Doux Plantation & Resort is a 19th century eco-friendly colonial resort nestled in the heart of St. Lucia, best known for romantic, intimate, and private luxury cottages. The resort is situated amidst a 250 year old working plantation and features an assortment of 15 uniquely crafted cottages, two on-site restaurants, and a collage of outdoor swimming pools, as well as an organic spa. The resort is a scenic 45 minute drive from the island's international airport. As a guest of Fond Doux, you will be conveniently located just minutes away from St. Lucia's main attractions, including The Pitons, The Sulphur Springs - 'The Caribbean's only drive in volcano' - and the best diving sites on the island, all within a prestigious UNESCO World Heritage Site. Whether you're traveling for business, a romantic honeymoon or wedding escape, or for a fun-filled family vacation, Fond Doux Plantation & Resort offers the perfect ambiance in St. Lucia for all travel types. A mere glance out your cottage door will evoke both tranquillity and a journey into the land of adventure! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, T4B, Booking.com, Regatta Hotels, Splendia and Priceline so you can book your Fond Doux Plantation & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fond Doux Holiday Plantation Hotel
Fond Doux Plantation & Resort St. Lucia/Soufriere

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fond Doux Plantation & Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.