We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved this place!!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fond Doux Plantation & Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Fond Doux Plantation & Resort to your Saves list
Fond Doux Plantation & Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   PO Box 250, Soufriere 250, St. Lucia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Summerlicious 2015!!
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Soufriere
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersGold level
nyc
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Loved this place!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2010

My Husband and I stayed here for our honeymoon and absolutely loved it!! We stayed in the Cinnamon Cottage and loved having a a front deck with rocking chairs to relax on every morning and night. We had the best time kicking around the cocoa plantation and hanging by the pool which is amazing. The staff were so incredibly nice and helpful and we really appreciated the amazing food they prepared for us daily. The rum punch with fresh nutmeg was ridiculously good also :) This is definitely on the more rustic side because you are in the middle of a rain forest- which makes it a little loud at night with all the tree frogs, but also super cool because YOU'RE IN A RAINFOREST! We stayed for 5 nights and couldn't have been happier with our choice of Fond Doux. It is locally owned which is a plus, and just in an amazing location. We were told Hershey's gets most of it's cocoa from Fond Doux Plantation. We watched cocoa being made, had rum punch delivered to us at the pool all day, drank wine on our porch at night and watched hummingbirds, an on and on! There was so much to do on site at Fond Doux, as well in the town of Soufriere. We loved our honeymoon at Fond Doux!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

492 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    376
    89
    20
    7
    0
See reviews for
83
328
15
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Blacksburg
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2010

Fond Doux Estate was fantastic for so many reasons. The cottages with their large balconies were lovely. The view from ours, Hillside Guava, and another cottage on the hill looking over the lush trees and plants of the valley was magnificent. We saw and heard birds (Purple-throated Carib & Antillean Crested Hummingbirds, hawks, bananaquits, Tremblers, etc) all day long, saw swifts and bats in the dusk, and heard a frog/insect chorus all night). The cottages don't have air conditioning, but on the hill, breezes were always blowing.
You couldn't find a nicer grounds: historical cocoa plantation buildings, old cocoa trees still producing, walking trails through a variety of tropical plants that are continually being planted and maintained. Here, hummingbirds are as common as sparrows.
You'd want a car since it's about 45 min from the airport, but Fond Doux is very close to many activities: a complimentary tour of the plantation (and continental breakfast) is included in the price of the lodging, the Paul Tet Hiking trail starts next to the estate, the Village of Soufriere with its lovely harborside and Diamond Waterfall/ gardens/mineral baths is under a 10 min drive, Horsebackriding and the vocano crater are a 5 min. drive, the islands' best snorkeling at Anse Chastenet and Jalousie Plantations is just on the far side of Soufriere, and Ladera Resort with its famous restaurant Dasheene and view of the Pitons is also close. We loved Fond Doux's own restaurant--gorgeous at night with rattan lanterns lighting the bamboo, Victorian "gingerbread" and natural tropical plant decorations--with excellent food. There is a pool with a poolside bar as well.
The staff and owners were exceedingly friendly and welcoming. I wish that we had stayed longer than 3 nights. I miss my balcony!

  • Stayed May 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2010

We arrived at Fond Doux after a 10 hour journey from Bequai in The Grenadines. Hot, tired and ready for a relaxing shower and a delicious meal (and based on previous TripAdvisor recommendations we believed we were in for a real treat!)

We were however very disappointed upon arrival to be asked to fill out a form that contained the exact details we had provided in our online booking and then promptly told that unfortunately the room we had booked (and fully paid for) was not available and that we would be farmed out to a nearby hotel.

I was immediately frustrated with the situation as we had traveled to St Lucia for the 20/20 World Cup cricket and decided to stay in Fond Doux (which was a very considerable distance from the Cricket Grounds in Gros Islet) purely based on the glowing feedback on TripAdvisor.

I asked the hotel management when they had discovered that they could not honour our booking (as we had booked 8 days in advance) and was told it was "very recently".
This was further frustrating as, had I been warned even 3 hours before our arrival I would have arranged alternate accommodation in Gros Islet.

But there we were, having arrived in the dark, with no car, exhausted and being told we were unable to stay. We were taken to the bar to wait for the owner, who arrived soon and began to mumble something about Expedia and Facebook (who knows what that has to do with our booking not being honoured) and basically refused to provide a reason why they couldn't honour our booking.

I inquired about the services provided by the alternate hotel that they had "arranged" for us. I was assured it was "only a 15 minute walk away" but it did not have a restaurant or an internet connection. I explained that we needed an on site restaurant as we did not have a car and that I also needed internet access as I had client work to do during my time in St Lucia.

After a frustrating 15 minute exchange with the owner, where she rambled on without providing us a reason (or any real apology) and 3 bar staff stared on, I decided that I would like a taxi to be called and that we would travel the 1.5 hours back to the capital Castries and find alternate accommodation.

At this point the owner suggested that she could accommodate us for one night only, if we wished to stay the night. My travel partner was rather hungry and tired and suggested to me that we take this option and move back to Gros Iset/ Castries in the morning.

I agreed reluctantly (though I wish now that I had just left there and then) and we were taken to a cottage (Banana Tree) that had not been prepared for guest arrival. The owner walked in ahead of us, turned on the lights, asked one of her staff if the fridge was on and to get us some bottled water and left us in the room, without so much as a hint of guest orientation about the property or the room. Someone soon arrived with bottled water and our bags and moments later another person arrived with fresh flowers that she quickly and roughly arranged in the vase at the foot of our bed and explained that she would "fix them up tomorrow".

15 minutes later the phone in our room rang, and I answered it. It was reception telling me that they had suddenly found availability for us and that we could remain the Banana Tree Cottage for the duration of our 4 night stay.

We did stay for four nights, mainly because the island did not have a great deal of other available accommodations due to the Jazz Festival and the Cricket World Cup but the remainder of the stay was tainted with a certain "awkwardness" as all parties were aware of the circumstances of our arrival.

The following 4 days consisted of:
- My discovery on our second day that in fact the fridge had not been turned on and our bottled water was warm
- An empty fruit bowl (that other guests told us is normally filled with fresh fruit for arrival)
- A vase of roughly arranged flowers that was never "fixed", despite such a promise
- A member of staff at reception arranging a taxi for us to go to the Gros Piton and upon us asking what the cost would be explaining that it was "complimentary" only to have this added to our final bill at a cost of 30 USD. (When we questioned this at checkout the same girl referred it to another receptionist who turned up her nose at me and stated "We only do complimentary shuttles to the beach")
- The same limited dinner menu every night for 4 nights (with 1 of the 5 entree options not available for 3 nights)
- A visit from housekeeping on our first day at 4.30pm, while we were taking a post-Piton-hike nap
- A very confusing search for breakfast on our first morning where we could not determine if the breakfast was included until we later spoke to other guests (despite asking staff who explained it was "continental")
- Complete lack of property orientation. We were also told by other guests that normally a welcome letter is provided and a guest services directory is included in the room. We did not receive either of those things, and were constantly having to guess when the restaurant might be open, where the pool was, if/how we could participate in the plantation tours, etc.

Overall I have to say that the Fond Doux property really is stunning, the setting is beautiful and going to sleep each night surrounded by the sounds of a rainforest is a unique experience.

Unfortunately however our time at Fond Doux was tainted by our arrival experience and I was unable to shake a sense of uneasiness for our entire stay. I am only glad that it was not a really important holiday that I had been saving for/looking forward to (we are on an extended round-the-world trip where we work on the road).

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fonddoux, Owner at Fond Doux Plantation & Resort, responded to this review, May 15, 2010
We wish to apologize profoundly for tarnishing your welcome here. A malfunction in our new reservation and website system created a double booking. Not having access to email contact information since this was not a direct booking, we referred this alternate booking to a highly reputable property next door. An adamant refusal to even see this property, combined with the late hour and also fears for your safety paramount on our minds (St Lucia Jazz and Cricket World Cup 20/20 had created limited availability) We endeavored to accommodate your stay rather than your return to the north without a booking at midnight. Our Fonddoux family strives to maximize our guests’ satisfaction and to improve our service standards. We welcome guest feedback in a positive manner as it assists us to better identify our guests' needs and the areas that can affect their experience. Our mission is to preserve ancient heritage buildings and promote the recultivation of a variety of Caribbean fruits and vegetation combining this with truly authentic St.Lucian hospitality. Once again we kindly welcome any future opportunities to serve you at our best.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2010

Fond Doux is what I'd consider to be a boutique hotel, with smaller numbers of guests (I guess they only have 10 cabins, which is fine by me.) It is situated in the hilly south, near Soufriere and the Pitons, on a longtime family-owned cacao plantation.

I have too many good things to say about this place. For starters, the rooms are kept very clean -- kudos to the cleaning staff. And, they are tastefully decorated. The food at the restaurant is excellent (and reasonably priced), the fruits (many of which are picked on-site) are delightful and perfect, there are three "plunge pools" which are perched on the hillside and offer a great (usually quiet) way to cool off or relax. The grounds of the plantation are gorgeous, with many walking paths that pass by truly beautiful flowers (which are constantly attended to by beautiful hummingbirds), fruit trees, nut trees, spice trees, palm trees, and so on. The staff are unbelievably nice, and are just generally decent, good people (congrats to the owners Lyton and Eroline for surrounding themselves with such good-spirited people) -- such that, even though we only stayed there for three days, we were honestly sad to leave. No joke.

I don't know why anyone would stay anywhere else in the south of St. Lucia. Jalousie is overpriced and vile/posh, and Fond Doux offers a free shuttle to their beach. They also arranged for our shuttle to the Gros Piton nature trail, and offer a scenic hike of their own which overlooks Petit Piton. It is also a 30-40 minute walk or 5 minute taxi to the Sulphur Springs. If you like a subdued crowd, with good food, awesome jungle/plantation scenery (we only saw one or two mosquitoes the ENTIRE time there), and a taste of authentic St. Lucia, you need to stay at Fond Doux.

Thank you to Lyton and Eroline for such a pleasant stay. Keep doing what you're doing.

Sincerely,
A friendly American couple from Michigan, USA

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2010

We stayed at Fond Doux plantation last month and must echo what everybody else has already said.

This is a world away from the standard package hotels you'll find up in Rodney Bay and if you're looking for restaurants & nightlife then Fond Doux is obviously not for you, but what it provides instead is a peaceful & relaxing retreat set in a beautiful cocoa plantation with some stunning scenery!

The cottages are spread out across the plantation, giving you the feel that you have the plantation to yourselves when sitting on your veranda. Something which we could happliy do, just relaxing with the peace & stunning views (apart from the occasional motorbike sound from the road, but this was rare & in general it was very peaceful & relaxing).

We were lucky enough to stay in two seperate cottages - the Banana Tree which we had booked into & the Hillside Coconut (great views) which we were moved to because a reggae singer wanted to shoot a music video in the Banana Tree so we were upgraded to the Hillside instead towards the end of our stay.

The Banana Tree was lovely as it was positioned some distance away from some of the other cottages, which made it even more tranquil.

It's a rustic experience and you do get the occaisional bug, ant etc, but what can you expect sleeping in a rainforest! With this in mind, we would have expected a lot more bugs (having stayed in similar accomodation in Malaysia previously).

You certainly won't forget you are in a rainforest with the sound of the crickets ('quack quacks' as the locals call them) & frogs at night, but this just adds to the experience.

The staff are very friendly & accomodating and as others have mentioned there is a free shuttle down to Jalouise beach, although bear in mind that the taxi driver may be on 'island time' when he comes to pick you up as we found out - but you're on holiday so you hardly in a rush anyway!

Unless you rely constantly on taxis (which the staff will happily organise for you with their own taxi driver), you are kind of stuck on the plantation however if you are not keen on walking. Personally we didn't find it a problem as we don't mind walking so happily treked down the the Sulphur Springs (40mins each way & not the 5-15min estimations that the website & some of the staff will tell you!), but it's a nice walk anyway.

We also hired a car for a day & would recommend as is a lot cheaper than paying for a taxi up to the north of the island if you want to explore a bit. We were slightly concerned about the driving conditions owing to the hairpin bends & steep drops off the edge of the road without any barriers, but personally unless you are of a faint heart I don't think it's anywhere near as bad as some people make out (having said that we have the advantage of also driving on the left in the UK so that was one less thing to worry about, but could be more challenging for US or Canadian drivers of course!).

Also as others have said the food is very good, and lunch is reasonably priced (£7 for a sandwich), although personally we did find the evening meals a bit pricey (but we have holidayed a lot in Asia where everything is a lot cheaper so are perhaps not used to spending quite so much these days when abroad).

Having said that the food was very tasty & nicely presented on the plate, but £14 for a main course which wasn't particularly filling we found a bit expensive for a foreign country despite its good quality.

The only other thing we did find quite frustrating was the lack of a la carte food options in the evening. We were told that we could order off a menu except for some nights when the chef did a special (which turned out to be all of the 7 nights we were there!). This consisted of 3 courses for £25 each. This is great if you actually want 3 courses, but we didn't always and when we asked whether we could have just a main we were told at first that we could, but we would have to pay for the 3 courses still!

Fortuanately we managed to get them to agree to just let us have the main in the end and pay only for that, but we felt like we were being awkward for not going ahead & having the set menu!

There was one night even where we did actually fancy the set menu only to find out later that the chef had decided to have a buffet food evening, which we arrived late starving (we were out during the day when the guests were informed the start time - which was nobody's fault) only to find that there was not much food left.

When we were only guests left eating, the staff started clearing up around us. I ended up eating one piece of lamb, some rice, veg and banana for dessert and paying £25 for the privledge!

Apart from the evening food situation (and don't get us wrong the food is fantastic!), there is really nothing negative we could say about the Fond Doux! They are charming cottages in a beautiful setting, run by very friendly & helpful staff and would definitely recommend to anyone coming to St Lucia!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2010

This is a beautiful place to be - sit on your balcony and feast your eyes. The houses are all different and beautiful and nothing like the 'resorts' I wanted to avoid. You might glimpse your fellow guests through the trees, but you'll know them from breakfast. The staff were friendly and come from the town (Soufriere) and nearby villages. The owners are very hands on, living in the heart of the estate and coming from Soufriere. There aren't many houses (about 10), and we were made to feel very welcome. Again, not that resort feeling.

We got married and it couldn't have been easier ;) My wife loved it and I didn't have to organise anything. Perfect. We had a meal for a few friends and family up by the pool in total privacy. We couldn't even see the other guests. Perfect.

Eroline and Lyton and everyone else, thank you and well done.

Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2010

We stayed at Fond Doux from March 11-17/10. We would return in a minute. They have created a real rain forest atmosphere on the property. The accomodations were smart and unique, fitting right in with the "rain forest" setting. Sitting on the porch of our cottage, we were literally surrounded by tropical plants and flowers and even by our own resident hummingbird. The staff were the most warm-hearted group that you could imagine. They sincerely looked after all our needs. The food was good and well presented. The other guests were all winners. They were great. The cocao-making operation was new and interesting to us. What a quality, tranquill place to re-invigorate one's soul. This is the best holiday we have ever had. If you are noisy or need a lot of man-made entertainment, Fond Doux is NOT for you. Thank you Lyton & Eroline for a fine week.

Doug & Maggie Smith

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Fond Doux Plantation & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fond Doux Plantation & Resort

Address: PO Box 250, Soufriere 250, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Soufriere Quarter > Soufriere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Soufriere
#1 Green Hotel in Soufriere
#2 Romantic Hotel in Soufriere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fond Doux Plantation & Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fond Doux Plantation & Resort is a 19th century eco-friendly colonial resort nestled in the heart of St. Lucia, best known for romantic, intimate, and private luxury cottages. The resort is situated amidst a 250 year old working plantation and features an assortment of 15 uniquely crafted cottages, two on-site restaurants, and a collage of outdoor swimming pools, as well as an organic spa. The resort is a scenic 45 minute drive from the island's international airport. As a guest of Fond Doux, you will be conveniently located just minutes away from St. Lucia's main attractions, including The Pitons, The Sulphur Springs - 'The Caribbean's only drive in volcano' - and the best diving sites on the island, all within a prestigious UNESCO World Heritage Site. Whether you're traveling for business, a romantic honeymoon or wedding escape, or for a fun-filled family vacation, Fond Doux Plantation & Resort offers the perfect ambiance in St. Lucia for all travel types. A mere glance out your cottage door will evoke both tranquillity and a journey into the land of adventure! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, T4B, Regatta Hotels, Splendia and Priceline so you can book your Fond Doux Plantation & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fond Doux Holiday Plantation Hotel
Fond Doux Plantation & Resort St. Lucia/Soufriere

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fond Doux Plantation & Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.