We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rustic Jungle Luxury” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fond Doux Holiday Plantation

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Fond Doux Holiday Plantation to your Saves list
Fond Doux Holiday Plantation
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   PO Box 250, Soufriere 250, St. Lucia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Fall Special!
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Soufriere
Epping, New Hampshire
1 review
“Rustic Jungle Luxury”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

We just returned from our vacation in St. Lucia where we stayed at the Fond Deux for 7 nights. The moment we arrived they offered us a cold drink and time to relax after traveling all day. We stayed in the Treehouse cottage, which has a private pool and an outdoor living area. Highly recommend that you look into the upgraded cottages. The privacy and amenities are well worth the price.

Our vacation was all-inclusive so we ate in the restaurant for every meal. The food was outstanding with several choices at each meal- fresh catch of the day, chef specials and great dessert. You will not be disappointed if your plans included traveling the island by day but returning to Fond Deux to eat at night. It was one of the best dining experiences of our life.

We decided to take the free shuttle to Sugar Beach most days, but did end up taking a water taxi to Anse Chastanet one day to experience the black volcanic sand beach. Fond Deux offers several excursions that looked great, but we only went on the sunset cruise. That trip was well worth the price. The only other travel tip is to have the hotel pick you up at the airport. The price is more than reasonable given the proximity of the airport to the plantation.

Finally, I would suggest that you read all reviews and look at photographs. We felt like those gave us a great idea of what to expect from the Fond Deux. Its a rustic, jungle setting on a working plantation- nothing like the sterile resorts you might be used to. We loved every minute of our time at Fond Deux and will recommend it to all our friends and family.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fonddoux, Owner at Fond Doux Holiday Plantation, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
RUSTIC, JUNGLE LUXURY REVIEW- MOST APPRECIATED!!
Dear Matt D,
We are delighted that your stay at Fond Doux Holiday Plantation was to your expectation based on all the positive reviews and photographs posted on this board. It is certainly a challenge to meet or exceed expectations when new potential guests have based their decision to come to Fond Doux primarily, in many cases, on posted reviews such as yours. In your case, it seems we have certainly accomplished that objective, and we thank you wholeheartedly.
We greatly appreciate all your positive comments especially the comments about our food offerings- “It was one of the best dining experiences of our life”- this is definitely a great testament to live up to. We will be sure to pass on your comments to our culinary team and commend them for a job well done as they go above and beyond to create exceptional dining experiences for all guests.
Thank you for clarifying that our tours, taxis and excursions are reasonable- as you so rightfully stated “well worth the price”. Thank you for your commitment to recommend our “Tropical Garden of Eden” to your family and friends . Thank you for your ongoing support – you are among a rapidly growing group of discerning travelers who seem to have found paradise.
Best Regards,
Eroline and Lyton Lamontagne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    312
    75
    17
    6
    0
See reviews for
72
273
13
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Westbury, New York
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

Just finished a week at Fond Doux staying solo with 2 friends. All the staff,
regardless of their job, and the owners were wonderful. Always a "hello", "how
is your day?". The Bamboo cottage was private but not isolated. The food was
superb and the service top rate. I would recommend the all inclusive package
because the food prices are on the high side. Just remember that they and YOU
are on island time. There are a variety of tours you can book if lazing around
the pool is not your ideal. No rushing, no TV, no phone, no WiFi and no
stress. Just a great place to relax.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fonddoux, Owner at Fond Doux Holiday Plantation, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Dear Kat N,
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments about your recent holiday experience at our Tropical Garden of Eden.
We are pleased that we were able to share a wonderful experience with you and that you enjoyed a relaxing stay. We greatly appreciate your comments about the management and staff, cottage, the superb food and top rate service. Just to clarify we do have telephones in the cottages and Wi-Fi in certain areas on the property.
Once again, thank you for your comments and we are looking forward to your return visit.

Best Regards,
Eroline and Lyton Lamontagne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013 via mobile

Just finished a 4 night stay at Fond Doux. The staff was super friendly and helpful. The cottages were awesome. We were in hilltop papaya with a plunge pool and the outdoor shower. Very romantic and quaint. The hotel pool was also very nice. However the communication at the hotel was a bit lacking. We were invited to a Caribbean meet and greet followed by a buffet and and dancing. No pries were mentioned in the letter delivered to our door. And upon discussions with other guests we came to the conclusion that it was included. Most guests did all inclusive but we didn't. Even if we had to pay it was fine. But when we checked out we were shocked to see a charge for over 150$ US! For what we were served that was ridiculous. All they had to do was put a note in the letter indicating the price, and we would've eaten somewhere else. Also the excursions were very overpriced and included very little. We had stayed in Rodney bay previous to here and found the prices reasonable but because its more remote at fond Doux they seemed to really go for all you had. Our advice would be to try and get a good driver from the airport and use them while touring around the island. Our driver said he would charge 20$ an hour and even with entrance fees we cildve saved quite a bit. Overall the hotel is very nice but watch your wallet!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fonddoux, Owner at Fond Doux Holiday Plantation, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
THANK YOU FOR YOUR REVIEW!!

Dear Djpelly,

Thank you for providing your feedback following your recent stay at Fond Doux Holiday Plantation. We truly appreciate your comments about our super friendly and helpful staff, awesome cottages- quaint and romantic and the pool area.

We would like to apologize for the disappointments that you have highlighted. We are very concerned about your comments regarding the level of communication at the hotel as the team members at Fond Doux are usually highly praised by our guest for the high quality of service that they offer.

We wish to clarify that the only thing complimentary was the cocktail hour which included drinks and finger foods. We do understand that there was no pricing for the buffet in the invitation letter however; we find it quite surprising that one would think that dinner along with live entertainment would be included as part of a cocktail hour unless one is on an all-inclusive plan. There were guests who joined us for the buffet dinner who were not on the all- inclusive plan, and were aware that the dinner was not part of the complimentary cocktail. It is quite disappointing that you made no mention in your review that upon querying the dinner price, that the buffet dinner amount including your beverages was deducted from your total bill.
We have met with our Front Desk team and have addressed your comments with regards to the price inclusion on the invitation letters.

In comparison to the other resorts both in Soufriere and St. Lucia in general, our prices are extremely affordable. Transportation in the small Caribbean islands is quite costly due to the implementation of the Value Added Tax (VAT) and the high fuel prices. The distances may appear close in terms of miles however; due to the mountainous terrain it makes it a very long and expensive drive.

We trust that apart from the disappointments that you highlighted, you enjoyed the time that you spent with us. Once again, thank you for your comments and we would welcome the opportunity to serve you again and to share firsthand the improvements made in light of your concerns.

Best Regards,
Eroline and Lyton Lamontagne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

My wife and I spent five days at Fond Doux plantation in early November 2013. Staff were great, cottage was lovely and the location was quiet and tranquil. I would recommend this location. Note there was no wifi/wireless in our cottage, no telly and no air conditioning. Not a major problem but means you have to go to reception for internet and we asked for a fan to cool the room down. Never missed the telly!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fonddoux, Owner at Fond Doux Holiday Plantation, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
THANK YOU FOR YOUR REVIEW!!
Dear Mark A,
We are so pleased that you had a great stay here with us – thank you wholeheartedly for this concise, but powerfully positive review. We are pleased that you found the staff to be great, lovely cottage, quiet and tranquil location. All of these are Fond Doux’s trademarks as identified by so many visitors to this “island paradise”.
Presently, we have two cottages with Wi-Fi (Hilltop Papaya and Mango) however, we are in the process of expanding the Wi-Fi over the entire property and hopefully on your return visit you will get to experience this added feature.
We are truly hopeful that from all your positive remarks, you will join the legions of guests who have become part of the Fond Doux Family. Thank you for your support and we look forward to welcoming you back to paradise.

Best Regards,
Eroline and Lyton Lamontagne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfort, Indiana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

My husband and I joined two of our friends for an amazing week at Fond Doux! We found the beautifully restored cottages to be so charming with the gingerbread wood cut outs in the walls, the high ceilings, and front porch (where I was able to spend several mornings painting pictures of the cacoa tree, banana tree, and flowers surrounding the cottage). Beautiful paths through the rainforest led to the wonderful Jardin Cacao restaurant, which had great food and the best natural ambiance of any restaurant we saw in St. Lucia. The pools, though small, were in a beautiful jungle setting, so private, just lovely! We would highly recommend this resort! It is not your typical lodging, and is in a great location near the PItons and other places of interest. I would recommend renting a 4 wheel drive SUV to be able to drive to these sites, and to the nearby beaches of Sugar beach and Anse Chastenet. These 2 beaches were great for snorkeling - we saw many colorful fish and coral- and held the breathtaking views of the huge Pitons. Loved, loved , loved Fond Doux!

Room Tip: If you do not want to climb a lot of stairs to your cottage, the Bamboo is a good choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fonddoux, Owner at Fond Doux Holiday Plantation, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
THANK YOU FOR YOUR CHARMING REVIEW!!

Dear 602Artistkathy,

Thank you for your honest review and we are so pleased to read that you had an amazing week here with us. Your review is concise and simple; it definitely covers all the elements which make Fond Doux Holiday Plantation a unique property unrivaled in its offerings.
We are delighted to read that you were able to paint pictures of the flowers and trees surrounding your cottage. The Fond Doux Family is constantly growing with artists, painters, photographers and novelist, - the magical rain forest ambiance does create an atmosphere where artistic and creative ideas bloom.
The favorable comments about the charming cottages, great cuisine, natural rainforest ambiance, beautiful jungle setting and the pools are greatly appreciated.
It is through positive reviews from guests that we are able to maintain our standard and ensure that we provide the best value. Thank you for your endorsement and support, we look forward to welcoming you back to paradise.
Best Regards
Eroline and Lyton Lamontagne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

I miss my St. Lucia gem already!
I traveled alone and stayed at Fond Doux for a week on an all inclusive vacation.
The plantation is magical, so lush and full of tropical flowers and trees, cocoa trees were everywhere. Definitely try the plantation tour, it will be a fun lesson in botany and at the end of it you are taken on a trail at the top of the property with majestic views of Petite Piton. Overall the place is quiet, and relaxing, without TVs, eco plantation totally in tune with nature yet designed to pamper you.
ACCOMODATIONS: All of the cottages are stunning. Cute and comfy, and with no AC. Bring your own pillow if you are bothered by a somewhat scrunchy plastic wrap inside the pillows, no doubt to prevent them from humidity damage. I stayed in African Tulip cottage for six nights and honeymoon Hilltop Papaya for one night. I definitely reccomend hilltop cottages because of the views, and they have a private pool and a beautiful outdoor shower also completely private. The hilltop cottages also have built in electricity converters so you don't have to worry about charging your electronics. For the African Tulip cottage I got the converter from the reception and it worked fine. African Tulip had a hammock on the porch which I loved, it was wonderfully relaxing laying in the hammock and watching hummingbirds, which are everywhere. The plantation is eco friendly and organic and I was happy to support a place like that and would come back again.
STAFF: absolutely amazing service! I felt nurtured and taken care of by lovely ladies, Leolita and Vinnie being my favorite. They knew me by name and helped me with everything I needed. I asked them if it's just staff at the plantation or if everybody is nice in St. Lucia and they said "It's a St. Lucian thing." And it's true, traveling alone and being a woman I felt very safe, nurtured and welcomed in St. Lucia
BEACHES: you will need transportation. Hotel provides a complimentary shuttle to Sugar Beach at 10 AM and they pick you up at 4, all other times it's a $30 round trip. Sugar Beach was pretty but nowhere near as nice as Anse Chastanet, which had super clear emerald waters, natural black silver volcanic sand, and the nicest kindest staff even if you are not staying at Anse Chastanet resort they still treat you like loving family. (Sugar Beach wasn't that nice). You can take a water taxi from Sugar Beach to Anse Chastanet for $20 round trip. So Answ Mimin is a short 10 min walk from Anse Chastanet and you will basically have the whole beach for yourself if you want privacy. Anse Mimin also makes a great spot for lunch, the best burgers in St. Lucia. Snorkeling is a must at Anse Chastanet, I saw an amazing indigo fish with electric blue dots on it. They call it a parrot fish.
MEALS: Since I'm a beach lover I probably shouldn't have gotten all inclusive meal package as I spent lunch at the beach and it's costly to travel back to Fond Doux for lunch (it's not complimentary). For dinner catch of the day was always good. The ground provisions come straight from the plantation so I loved that. I got to try new root vegetables I've never tried before, like purple potato. I didn't like bbq ribs because they were mostly gristle and not much meat. So I reccomend catch of the day mostly or salads. Breakfast is a buffet of local bakes, salty fish, and fruit. Ask for eggs at breakfast as they are not on the buffet but the staff is always happy to cook you eggs to order which was so nice.
DRINKS: The bar makes wonderful frozen drinks and rum punch. My favorite is Cocoa Fond Doux without grenadine (tell them no grenadine) and it tastes like perfect chocolate smoothie. Ladies you will love it! Oh and for breakfast you must try cocoa tea, local specialty.
TRAILS: Tet Paul Nature trail is close to the property. You can walk there in about 30 mins and then the $5 guided tour is magnificent, slow paced with gorgeous views of the Pitons and a lesson in bottany. I loved seeing pineapple and papaya grow.
VOLCANO: The volcano is nearby, the worlds only drive through volcano and a fun mud bath ( supposed to make you feel 10 years younger ), and you must check out The Piton Warm Waterfall. Both places are a short taxi ride from the plantation.
TRANSPORTATION: I don't revommend driving. The roads are narrow in many places wide enough for one car, curvy roads with no guard railing and steep dropp off into the forest or the ocean, and they drive on the left side of the road. They have very affordable (a few bucks) and safe BUS transportation between Castries and Soufreire. I liked hiring a taxi driver outside the plantation as it was about the same as renting a car, but safer, and cheaper than hotel transportation.

This was a perfect relaxing vacation. I'll come back again.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fonddoux, Owner at Fond Doux Holiday Plantation, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
WE MISS YOU TOO AND LOOK FORWARD TO WELCOMING YOU BACK!!!
Dear AmberLil,
When you think of a perfect review, one that covers every detail and recognizes every nuance of a place, don’t bother trying to write it out – just read this post. Thank you for sharing all your enthusiastic discoveries and experiences while staying at Fond Doux Holiday Plantation. They are so real and genuine – from the heart – which makes them extra special. Rarely does a guest go to this effort to re-cap and expound on a holiday experience, regardless of where they have travelled and why. But to provide this level of minutia to all the positive aspects of the Fond Doux Holiday Plantation experience is truly exceptional, and we thank you wholeheartedly for that and all the effort you have gone to in order to make your point.
From a careful reading of your posting, it is evident that you are indeed one of the avid travel experts, and that you have captured the true authenticity of Fond Doux Holiday Plantation, we have not only met but exceeded your overall expectations. You have definitely caught the Fond Doux bug - welcome to the ever expanding Fond Doux family. As an eco-friendly property we go above and beyond to ensure that we meet the necessary standards and so it is extremely heartwarming when we receive positive feedback from guests in support of our efforts.
With regards to your comments about the pillows, please be advised that this has been rectified. Your comments about the plantation, accommodation, food and beverage, and especially the staff are all received with the highest gratitude – What more can we ask for?
We are indeed happy that we were able to deliver another amazing and relaxing experience and will be sure to pass on your feedback to our team.
There is not much to be said, we can only encourage potential travelers to “Simply Beautiful” Saint Lucia to read this review as it is full of helpful and useful information. We know the Caribbean and what it has to offer – there is something for everyone. We also know that Fond Doux is different, as do so many of our ever-expanding Fond Doux family. Thank you for your commitment to return to paradise and we simply can’t wait to see you.
Best Regards,
Eroline and Lyton Lamontagne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Orion, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013 via mobile

my husband and I came here for a mini vacation. Though we read the reviews it didn't prepare us for what we'd find. The staff at Fond Doux are polite and helpful. Always saying hello. Truly are an inviting people.
The owner himself is very involved. You'll see him daily talking to guests and overseeing. He is so involved that when I told him how much I loved plantain and I've never had before in my life he called the kitchen and told them next morning for breakfast to serve it.

Overall food is great. Their staff friendly and fun. Rooms are comfy and drinks are much better tasting then other resorts we've been to on the island.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fonddoux, Owner at Fond Doux Holiday Plantation, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
ONE OF THE BEST REVIEWS!!
Dear Pac8,
Stating that although you read the reviews it still did not prepare you for what you would find- is quite a testament to the time you spent with us, thank you for your enthusiastic endorsement.
Fond Doux Holiday Plantation is a hallmark that represents all that is St Lucian. St. Lucians are generally known for their friendliness and the staff at Fond Doux Holiday Plantation embodies all their qualities. We are happy that you too picked up on the friendliness and politeness of our team. We take pride in what we do and will go above and beyond to ensure that we meet the needs of all our guests, whether it is to include a favorite dish on the breakfast buffet as it is the simple things that count. What really sets Fond Doux apart from the big resorts is the fact that the guests are able to meet with us face to face on a day to day basis which does add a special touch to their stay- this is something that most resorts can only dream about.
Your comments about the food, drinks, rooms and especially the staff are most appreciated.
Hopefully, all of these aspects will encourage you to revisit sometime soon and we too would love to have you back to relive all the pleasures of the plantation life.
Thank you for your overwhelming support.
Best Regards,
Eroline and Lyton Lamontagne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fond Doux Holiday Plantation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fond Doux Holiday Plantation

Address: PO Box 250, Soufriere 250, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Soufriere Quarter > Soufriere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Soufriere
#1 Family Hotel in Soufriere
#4 Romantic Hotel in Soufriere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fond Doux Holiday Plantation 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fond Doux Plantation House and Cottages are designed to give guests the option to be as connected or sequestered in nature’s embrace as desired. The tropical setting at Fond Doux Holiday Plantation at once relaxes, enveloping you in completely natural surroundings with the unobtrusive convenience of modern amenities, attentive professional staff trained in tropical hospitality, and access to a host of convenient services. Step out of your plantation cottage or suite and into the healing arms of nature in this tropical paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Splendia, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Regatta Hotels, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Fond Doux Holiday Plantation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fond Doux Holiday Plantation Hotel
Fond Doux Holiday Plantation St. Lucia/Soufriere

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fond Doux Holiday Plantation, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.