We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is what paradise must be like” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fond Doux Holiday Plantation

Save Saved
You added Fond Doux Holiday Plantation to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fond Doux Holiday Plantation
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   PO Box 250, Soufriere 250, St. Lucia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
2014 MagellanAward Winner
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Soufriere
Chicago
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“This is what paradise must be like”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

We recently spent two full weeks at Fond Doux - and absolutely loved every minute! Before we arrived, there were several things we weren't quite sure about: (1) Rainy season (we visited end of July/beginning of August), (2) living in/near the rainforest, (3) how much we should believe all those other reviews.
Let's begin with (3). Those other people raving about Fond Doux are absolutely spot on (so I won't repeat any of what they wrote). As to the rainforest location, the title of my review addresses that "concern". And being there in the rainy season turned out to be great as well. Yes, there is some rain, but it never prevented us from doing anything as any given rain shower really doesn't last that long. Moreover, there are fewer tourists on the island this time of year, so the beaches are almost deserted and the staff at Fond Doux is able to give you even more of their attention (if that is possible).
Here are a few things we did within close proximity of Fond Doux:
- Dinner at Jardin Cacao Restaurant. The food is great - very nicely prepared local dishes, and the bar and bartenders, Jarette and Kendal, are also lots of fun.
- Tour of the plantation. Philip (see attached picture) was our guide, and he's been mentioned in other reviews.
- Lamontagne trail. This is right on the plantation and offers some beautiful views (see attached pictures). There's even a possibility to follow the ridge over to Tet Paul Nature Trail which offers spectacular views of the entire island.
- Snorkeling at Sugar Beach (aka Jalousie Beach). Fond Doux provides a complimentary shuttle. Other great beaches for snorkeling nearby are Soufriere Beach (Hummingbird) and Anse Chastenet - and each one of them is a little different.
- Rainforest hike to Enbas Saut Waterfall. Just a few miles outside of Soufriere near Fond St. Jacques. For that hike we needed a guide. Smith of Exciting Tours was recommended to us by Philip, and we can only pass on this recommendation. If you're interested in anything outdoorsy he's your man. He knows the island, the flora, the fauna, the culture, and he's pretty entertaining as well. You can reach him at 758-717-3172 or via his website http://climbgimie.wordpress.com.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fonddoux, Owner at Fond Doux Holiday Plantation, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
PARADISE AT IT’S BEST!!
Dear GregEF,
This truly is a great review – clearly spelling out all the reasons you enjoyed your stay at Fond Doux Holiday Plantation. We are happy to read that you share the same sentiments with the previous reviewers on this board and that you felt they were spot on.
From a careful reading of your posting, it is clear you have captured the relaxing atmosphere of this authentic plantation which is a direct function of your interaction with the friendly staff who obviously loves what they do. Positive reviews such as yours are a great staff motivator, offering many intrinsic rewards for those who tirelessly aim to please all guests.
The care you have taken to point out so many positive experiences during your stay is most appreciated, with your posting serving as an excellent potential guide for any person considering staying at our hotel. You have basically covered all the main elements which make Fond Doux Holiday Plantation a unique property unrivaled in its offerings.
We hope that you too will become part of the ever expanding Fond Doux family - who seem to have finally found just what they were looking for. Thank you for your continued support and we look forward to welcoming you back.
Best Regards
Eroline and Lyton Lamontagne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

402 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    306
    73
    17
    6
    0
See reviews for
70
269
13
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Roseau, Saint George, Dominica
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

If you love being one with nature, Fond Doux is the place to go to in St. Lucia. As regional tourist (coming from Dominica) being at Fond Doux was really like being at home, surrounded by nature with all its sounds and sights.
The staff there are really friendly, they make an effort to get to know you as a person and not just as a visitor. It was so much more than just your common manners, it was the laughs, the smiles, the communication on a whole, very much what you would expect from the people of the Caribbean. Spend some time with the bar-tender and you'll see.
I stayed in the double room cottage named Avocado. The trail to the cottage gives you time to take in the flora and even some of the wildlife along the way. Inside the cottage was surprisingly very open and the bedrooms were very spacious.
My most enjoyable experience was at the Trois Basin Pool, which are three small swimming pools that over look some areas of the property. The View of the property from the pools is rather amazing. At this vantage point you can see the many trees which call Fond Doux their home. My 13 year old sister particularly enjoyed being in the water.
I only stayed at Fond Doux for one night and gained a memory that will probably last a life time and being only 17, that's saying quite a lot.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fonddoux, Owner at Fond Doux Holiday Plantation, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
WELCOME TO THE FOND DOUX FAMILY!!
Thank you for taking the time and making the effort to post your valuable feedback following your recent stay.
We are passionate about the service that we deliver to our guests and are therefore pleased that our team members positively impacted your holiday experience. Your rewarding comments about the cottage and most importantly the magical atmosphere are all received with the highest degree of gratitude. Hopefully, all of these aspects will encourage you to revisit sometime soon and we too would love to have you back to relive all the pleasures of the plantation life.
Thank you for your overwhelming support.
Best Regards,
Eroline and Lyton Lamontagne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

My husband and I went to Fond Doux on our honeymoon and were immediately blown away by the scenery.

We were a little on edge due to the driving (getting used to driving on the left side of the road AND driving straight uphill on such narrow roads was a little daunting) and Fond Doux immediately felt like home. We spent nights hanging out on our secluded porch and visiting the bartender and staff at the restaurant.

I cannot say enough about the staff here. You can go to any resort you want in St. Lucia, but the staff at Fond Doux don't try to treat you like a tourist--I mean that in a good way-- they really make an attempt to get to know you, joke with you, remember who you are, offer advice on excursions, even offer to take you out into town.

Jared was just outstanding in terms of service. We began to feel a little isolated, so it was so nice to be able to walk down to the bar, hang out with Jared and Beverly (who was also amazing!), and joke around, often with other people at the hotel. We tried going elsewhere on the island, and really enjoyed ourselves, but always found ourself back at Fond Doux.

I also cannot say enough about Philip, who gave us a tour of the plantation on one of our first days, we saw him around a lot and he was so helpful and kind.

One night Eroline came down and danced with her husband, and we got to talk to the both of them for quite some time. They are truly wonderful people who care very much about the hotel, the clientele, and the island. For example, I mentioned that I hadn't gotten a transformer and, in the middle of the night, got me one.

The plantation is stunning, I've never been able to experience this level of self-sufficient farming. Bananas, coffee, nutmeg, cinnamon... literally cut down from a tree in front of us. It was pretty amazing (considering everything I buy is in a bottle, at least.) The pools, though public, are pretty secluded and we often felt we had a pool to ourselves.

I can't wait to return to Fond Doux. Thank you for the best honeymoon ever!!

Room Tip: We slept in the Cinnamon Cottage! Highly recommended, gorgeous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fonddoux, Owner at Fond Doux Holiday Plantation, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
LOTS OF LOVE FROM FOND DOUX HOLIDAY PLANTATION!!!
Dear Kathleep,
We greatly appreciate your positive review of your recent honeymoon at Fond Doux Holiday Plantation. Thank you for sharing all your enthusiastic discoveries and experiences. We try to offer our guests nothing but the best quality in all areas, from our accommodation and facilities, to the services we offer and so we are delighted to read that you had an amazing experience. It is guests like you who appreciate what we do here and so we thank you wholeheartedly for your unwavering support. We make it our duty to interact with our guests to ensure that everyone feels at home. We believe that St. Lucians are very special people, and the management and staff of Fond Doux Holiday Plantation embodies all their positive characteristics, and we are happy that you picked up on that as well.
There are not enough thank you’ s we can provide to recognize the quality of this review and all of the positive light you have shed on this little gem in the Caribbean. We know the Caribbean and what it has to offer – there is something for everyone. Thank you for your commitment to return to paradise. We simply can’t wait to see you, and may you enjoy a lifetime of happiness together.
Best Regards
Eroline and Lyton Lamontagne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington,DC
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

We spent an amazingly relaxing week at Fond Doux. Great staff, attentive and very friendly. The resort is small (10 villas), isolated and secluded - in the middle of a cocoa plantation, with mango & papaya trees surrounding it, palm trees and lush vegetation. Perfect location if you want to go hiking. We stayed at Hilltop Papaya- that comes with a small pool on the deck and outdoors shower- just great! We used the spa twice - for massages and body wraps - competitive prices and good services (both Tania and Tracy were great!). I would recommend the all-inclusive- food is good, the chef cooks local cuisine. We met other couples who were complaining that the food at their resorts was too "Americanized" - this is not a problem at Fond Doux. Fresh fruit every day (falling from the trees) and local/ traditional dishes. Tropical storm delayed our departure by a few hours, and the staff handled it perfectly. I definitely recommend the resort!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fonddoux, Owner at Fond Doux Holiday Plantation, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
THANK YOU FOR YOUR REVIEW!!
Dear JustMi,
We truly appreciate your posting relating to your recent holiday experience at Fond Doux Holiday Plantation.
Fond Doux Holiday Plantation has twelve unique crafted cottages which are designed to give guests the option to be as connected or sequestered in natures embrace. The tropical setting at Fond Doux Holiday Plantation at once relaxes, enveloping you in completely natural surroundings with the unobtrusive convenience of modern amenities, attentive staff trained in St.Lucian hospitality, and access to a host of convenient services. Step out of your cottage and into the healing arms of nature in this tropical paradise.
We greatly appreciate all your comments about the staff, location, cottage and spa treatments. Your positive comments about the food are most interesting, and underscore the dilemma which we are often faced with in terms of cuisine style and service. We are constantly trying to keep on top of guest preferences, as more and more people are self-professed “foodies” and become more opinionated about what they expect.
In the same way you have thanked us for making your stay so wonderful, we too thank you for sharing your experiences so enthusiastically with the travelling public, providing an accurate depiction of what to expect as a guest of Fond Doux Holiday Plantation.
We look forward to welcoming you back to paradise.
Best Regards,
Eroline and Lyton Lamontagne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia, United States
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

We had an absolutely amazing time at Fond Doux. The staff was amazing - espeically Phillip's tour of the plantation, and Jarette's fantastic work behind the bar. When we needed anything, they provided it, and were hugely helpful as we tried to ensure we could get home in the midst of Tropical Storm Chantal. I can't recommend a stay here enough.

Room Tip: If it's available, get a cottage higher up on the hill - coconut or guava. The views are great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fonddoux, Owner at Fond Doux Holiday Plantation, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
THANK YOU FOR YOUR SUPPORT !!!
Dear Justin,
Reading your first sentence just about says it all – thank you for posting your comments on Fond Doux Holiday Plantation for all to enjoy. Giving us a perfect review is extremely humbling, and we thank you for that.
We have a dedicated team on board who go above and beyond to ensure that they create memorable experiences for all guests. We are delighted to read that they were able to deliver once again especially Jarette and Philip.

Hopefully, you will feel compelled to return to paradise in the near future. We would be so pleased to welcome you back to experience more of the St. Lucian hospitality.
Best Regards,
Eroline and Lyton Lamontagne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

i am definitely going to return for another vacation!! the staff was so friendly and the food was great!! the rooms and grounds were beautiful...there was free wifi and the food was great!! as a parent, i thought the place was kid friendly...the scene was beautiful and so relaxing!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fonddoux, Owner at Fond Doux Holiday Plantation, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
THANK YOU FOR YOUR RELAXING REVIEW!!!
Dear Neyney1,
We are most appreciative of your kind and thoughtful review of your experience at Fond Doux Holiday Plantation.
We are happy that we were able to accommodate you and that our team members when above and beyond to ensure that you had an enjoyable stay.
Your comments about the rooms, grounds and food are greatly appreciated. It is gratifying to read that in your view you found Fond Doux Holiday Plantation to be child friendly.
Thank you for your commitment to return and we look forward to welcoming you back to your second family.
Best Regards,
Eroline and Lyton Lamontagne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

We loved Fond Doux! The cottages are fun and rustic. Each cottage stands by itself and there is plenty of separation between them. No A/C, just screens and ceiling fans, but that was just fine with us, the evening breezes and the fans kept us comfortable (and I like a cool room to sleep in). You may have a few bugs and mosquitos gain entry into the cottages, but the resort does a good job spraying the rooms and we had almost no problems. The food at the restaurant was very good and the chefs really went out of their way to prepare some good vegetarian choices for our friends that were there on honeymoon and my wife. We loved the tropical rainforests and lush plantation that was ALL around us. We were encouraged to eat and pick whatever we found growing on trees and in the gardens (and we did)! There were a couple plantation tour hikes and a rainforest hike right from the resort. Beaches, the Pitons and other activities like diving were about 20-40 minutes away by car. GREAT if you don't want a run-of-the-mill all inclusive sit on the beach and do nothing type resort.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fonddoux, Owner at Fond Doux Holiday Plantation, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
FANTASTIC REVIEW-MOST APPRECIATED!!
Dear Skiflyplay,
What a fantastic review you have posted on your recent stay at Fond Doux Holiday Plantation – thank you ever so much for all your comments. We are very enthusiastic and passionate about ensuring the happiness and satisfaction of our guests so it is always pleasing when we receive a positive review such as yours.
Your positive comments about the food are most interesting, and underscore the dilemma which we are often faced with in terms of cuisine style and service. We are constantly trying to keep on top of guest preferences, as more and more people are self-professed “foodies” and become more opinionated about what they expect. All the staff who worked so diligently to please you and all our other guests will be very happy to read your comments.
Thank you once again for your review and we hope that you too will become part of the ever expanding Fond Doux Family.
Best Regards
Eroline and Lyton Lamontagne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Fond Doux Holiday Plantation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fond Doux Holiday Plantation

Address: PO Box 250, Soufriere 250, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Soufriere Quarter > Soufriere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Soufriere
#1 Spa Hotel in Soufriere
#5 Romantic Hotel in Soufriere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fond Doux Holiday Plantation 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fond Doux Plantation House and Cottages are designed to give guests the option to be as connected or sequestered in nature’s embrace as desired. The tropical setting at Fond Doux Holiday Plantation at once relaxes, enveloping you in completely natural surroundings with the unobtrusive convenience of modern amenities, attentive professional staff trained in tropical hospitality, and access to a host of convenient services. Step out of your plantation cottage or suite and into the healing arms of nature in this tropical paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Splendia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Regatta Hotels, Orbitz and Otel so you can book your Fond Doux Holiday Plantation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fond Doux Holiday Plantation Hotel
Fond Doux Holiday Plantation St. Lucia/Soufriere

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fond Doux Holiday Plantation, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;