We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded Expectations!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fond Doux Holiday Plantation

Save Saved
You added Fond Doux Holiday Plantation to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fond Doux Holiday Plantation
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   PO Box 250, Soufriere 250, St. Lucia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Last Minute Summer Promo
Ranked #2 of 12 hotels in Soufriere
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Exceeded Expectations!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

My husband and I booked our trip to Fond Doux via Groupon. I did a lot of researching before booking and read mostly great reviews, but some concerns...

First: The hospitality on the plantation and the entire island amazed us. Everyone was SO nice and truly cared about your vacation. Especially, "Happiness" our great driver to and from beaches and restaurants and Katirina (hope I spelled that right) who called and made all of our reservations and any other little thing we needed for our room etc... We were very impressed!

Our Room: Besides being put into a different cottage that we signed up for everything was PERFECT! I did not expect the room to be as nice as it was. We signed up for "Hilltop Guava" and were put into "Hilltop Coconut". They were pretty much identical so it wasn't a big deal, but if we were put into a different lower cottage we would have been disappointed. Another thing people complained about that we were nervous for was the "climb" up to the hilltop cottages. Yes, we were panting at the top every time, but mostly laughing cause it showed how out of shape we were. It was 42 steps up, if you are under 40 years old you should have NO problem... unless youre realllly out of shape. The view and privacy were definitely worth it.

Food: The only thing we were disappointed in, only because I called ahead to ensure there was a vegetarian menu for my husband and when we got there we found out there wasn't. The chef was nice enough to create some stuff for us, but my husband didn't want to eat the same pasta dish every night. He wanted options too so we spent most of our meals out which included restaurant "Dasheene" at Hotel Ladera and "Boucon" at Hotel Chocolat. Our experiences at these restaurants were def. highlights of our trip along with the Sulfur Mud baths where we went through "Rainforest Spa" Sugar Beach's spa package "Sulfur Seduction". (best $374 we've ever spent:))

Bug Noises: The other complaint we read about was the noises from the outside jungle. We both really enjoyed it! I wouldn't have been able to sleep without it. We thought the nature noises were very relaxing. I am a person who has to sleep with a fan on so I loved a little background noise.

We had an amazing time in St. Lucia. Fond Doux Holiday Plantation was in the perfect location, had amazinnng service, views and was very clean! We enjoyed hanging by the pool after our beach days. One thing I would add is a hot tub, the nights get chilly and it would have been nice. Our honeymoon was so romantic and rejuvenating! Thank you Fond Foux:)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fonddoux, Owner at Fond Doux Holiday Plantation, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
EXCEEDED EXPECTATIONS REVIEW DOES JUST THAT- THANK YOU

Dear Mrsmort,

We are happy to know that you chose Fond Doux Holiday Plantation to celebrate this special occasion based on the positive comments posted on this board.
Our main concern is to ensure that the experiences we create for our guests are first class and from the subject line of your posting, we were able to do just that. We will be sure to share your review with the rest of the team and congratulate them for a job well done- especially Happiness and Katrina who clearly provided those extra special touches that enhanced your stay for all the right reasons.
We wish to apologize for the issue regarding the vegetarian menu which was promised prior to your arrival. We try to make it our priority to interact with our guests to ensure that any issues or concerns are addressed and had you brought this to our attention, we can assure you that we would have corrected the situation. You may wish to know that we have now created an exciting vegetarian menu. We are extremely pleased that this did not affect your overall stay, you enjoyed all we had to offer including the amenities, accommodation and Fond Doux Holiday Plantation was indeed the perfect location.
It is always a pleasure to receive such positive feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back. Your comments and support are greatly appreciated.
Best Regards
Eroline and Lyton Lamontagne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

394 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    299
    72
    17
    6
    0
See reviews for
69
265
13
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Castleton
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

A lovely place, very authentic. Excellent kitchen. We ate almost everymeal there with satisfaction for one week.
Make sure to speak with the owners. Their pride, knowledge, hard work, and passion make Fond Doux an exceptional experience. Mr. L was there to welcome and bid guests farewell. The Lord and Lady of the Manor seemed to be everywhere making sure the place fired on all cylinders. If St. Lucia had just two Eroline's and Lyton's, they could take over The Island.

The cottages are lovely, the staff warm and helpful. Don't expect posh in the resort sense of the word. But expect a lovely, clean, idyllic surrounding that is peaceful, well maintained and private. Each cottage is uniquely beautful and smartly situated.
High maintenance tourists can stay away from this lovely place, that is like home in the tropics. I was embarrassed to overhear some Russian tourists complaining about nonsense.

Please visit Fond Doux.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fonddoux, Owner at Fond Doux Holiday Plantation, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
THANK YOU FOR YOUR SUPPORT!!!

Dear Annabel45,

We are humbled by the sheer magnitude of the positive comments which we have received from previous reviews and yours is no exception. We greatly appreciate all your comments.
We take pride in what we offer here at Fond Doux Holiday Plantation as we understand that in order to run a successful unique property like ours it takes a lot of hard work, determination and passion which can have a positive impact on the social, environmental and cultural developments in our country. We make it our duty to interact with our guests to ensure that any issues or concerns can be addressed immediately as we believe that our guests are the first ambassadors for Fond Doux Holiday Plantation and ultimately Saint. Lucia depending on the quality of their experience.
We have a dedicated team on board who shares the same vision and will go above and beyond to ensure that all guests enjoy Saint Lucia’s Authentic Heritage at its best.
We understand the fact that Fond Doux Holiday Plantation is not a resort in its definition but has a profound appeal that caters to persons seeking to experience Saint Lucia’s true heritage.

Thank you for your overwhelming support and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Best Regards,
Eroline and Lyton Lamontagne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013 via mobile

My girlfriend and I stayed at Fond Doux for 5 days. It was amazing. After reading all of the reviews I had high expectations. My expectations were surpassed. The staff is wonderful and will do whatever to make your stay great. The food was really good. Fresh fish, fresh fruit, and vegetables were available with every meal. 3 meals a day and all of the meals were great. The drinks were nice, I recommend the custom rum punch, a local treat. The rooms were clean, the mattresses comfortable, the bathrooms nice, and nicely decorated. Each cabin feels like you are the only person staying at the plantation. The bugs were not bad at all. I packed bug spray and did not use it. I have no complaints. Oh and a bonus, Prince Charles and Camilla Parker Bowles stopped by fond Doux. Plus there are no snakes. It is a master planned rainforest. Acres and acres of beauty. I highly recommend fond Doux to everyone from families, couples, to a person who wants to go on vacation. I hope to get to come back soon.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fonddoux, Owner at Fond Doux Holiday Plantation, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
THANK YOU FOR YOUR REVIEW!!!

Dear Bill H,

At Fond Doux, we have the saying, ‘everyone wants to go to Heaven but no one wants to die: Just come to Fond Doux, Paradise on Earth! It is evident from the subject line of your posting that you experienced just that. It is most difficult to exceed the expectations of a first time visitor to the island and so it is heartwarming to read that we were able to surpass your overall expectations.
Thank you for saying all the wonderful things which you have –“The staff is wonderful and will do whatever to make your stay great”. “The food was really good”. “Fresh fish, fresh fruit, and vegetables were available with every meal”. “3 meals a day and all of the meals were great”. “The drinks were nice; I recommend the custom rum punch, a local treat”. “The rooms were clean, the mattresses comfortable, the bathrooms nice, and nicely decorated”. It is these key elements that are associated with the ever expanding Fond Doux Family.
Our team will be happy to read this posting and it will encourage them to continue delivering excellent service and outstanding Caribbean hospitality which they have now become renowned for.

Thank you for your endorsement and commitment to return. We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Best Regards,
Eroline and Lyton Lamontagne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virginia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

My husband and I went to St Lucia for a winter getaway in February. We loved Fond doux Estate. We stayed in two different cottages: Mango Hilltop- which was one of their honeymoon suites, and the Guava Hilltop. Both cottages were very clean, nicely decorated, and great views from the balcony. I would highly recommend staying at this quiet and relaxing resort. The honeymoon suite was my favorite because it has an outdoor shower and a private pool. This place has delicious food and a beautiful relaxing environment. This was the most relaxing and peaceful vacation ever. The service was like no other- very helpful front desk and wait staff. I would go here again.

Room Tip: spend the extra money to stay in a honeymoon suite where you'll have privacy, and extra amenitie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fonddoux, Owner at Fond Doux Holiday Plantation, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
THANK YOU FOR THE MOST BEAUTIFUL REVIEW!!

Dear Ssghassem,

Thank you for taking time to write this beautiful review regarding your recent stay at our Tropical Garden of Eden.
It is evident that your overall expectations were exceeded with comments such as “We loved Fond Doux Estate”, “This place has delicious food and a beautiful relaxing environment. This was the most relaxing and peaceful vacation ever”. “The service was like no other- very helpful front desk and wait staff”. “I would go here again”.
We are delighted to know that you were happy with our accommodations, service and food and beverage offerings. You may wish to know that the newly constructed honeymoon suites (Hilltop Mango and Papaya) have now become famous with honeymooners.
Thank you for your commitment to return and we look forward to welcoming you back to experience more of the authentic Caribbean hospitality which you witnessed.

Best Regards,
Eroline and Lyton Lamontagne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

We stayed 7 nights here in February 2013 and had the most wonderful time. We stayed in Cinnamon Villa, which was one of the 12 beautiful detached houses dotted around the estate. It was incredibly comfortable, and secluded. We had a verandah where we could sit on comfy rocking chairs and watch hummingbirds feeding from the banana trees. The staff were charming, very laid back and really friendly. We'd never been to St Lucia before and although we definitely didn't want to rough it we were also desperate not to end up in a Sandals type resort which could be anywhere. So this place was perfect. The food was fabulous too - using produce grown on the estate. Fond Doux is a locally owned, ethically run business and an utterly charming place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fonddoux, Owner at Fond Doux Holiday Plantation, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
WONDERFUL REVIEW MOST GREATLY APPRECIATED!!

Dear Isobel W,

We greatly appreciate the time you have taken to “wholeheartedly endorse the very positive comments” about Fond Doux Holiday Plantation. Your complete satisfaction of the week you spent at the resort is perhaps best expressed by the statement “. So this place was perfect.” The food was fabulous too - using produce grown on the estate”.
We are committed to making every holiday experience a memorable one and from a careful reading of your posting, we did just that. We will definitely pass on your comments to the entire team for a job well done.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Thank you for your comments and business.

Best Regards
Eroline and Lyton Lamontagne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, Virginia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

We spent our honeymoon here and it was an wonderful, amazing time! St. Lucia is a beautiful country and the private cottages at Fond Doux really allowed us the time and space to enjoy it all in. We loved our balcony, where we could soak in the sights and sounds of the rainforest and the clear blue skies. Do not miss the walk up the mountains either - there is an amazing view of Gros Piton and the Carribean. We were caught in a tropical rain/spritz, and it definitely is amazing when it rains in the jungle.

We stayed at Fond Doux for six nights, and went to Jalousie Beach and Anse Chastenet 5 of those days - the highlights of our trip. A car is recommended if you would like some transportation flexibility and explore the nearby town of Soufriere, a hidden gem in St. Lucia where you can mix and interact with the locals.

The people working at Fond Doux are the best. We thoroughly enjoyed their company. Although we can't recall all the names here, we really enjoyed talking with Happiness, our driver, and Jonathan, the night guard - as well as our waiters and waitresses. They are friendly without exception and really made Fond Doux stand out as an outstanding plantation resort.

Lyton, the owner, drove us to Jalousie Beach one day when the driver was already making a trip to Anse Chastenet. I was impressed that the owner of the place would take on driving duties to ensure great service - a model for business success anywhere, any place. We also learned during that trip to Jalousie Beach about the plantation itself - the eco-friendly practices, variety of crops, and the assistance that it provides to the local St. Lucian farmers.

This brings us to food - which was simply amazing. Fresh fruits and vegetables, local cuisine, and variety - different options every night of the week - made us look forward to dinner every night. There was great music playing as well in the background. We could tell that Fond Doux takes pride in its food - and being on a farm plantation they definitely should.

We booked through Groupon but had to reschedule the timing of our trip to another month, at the last minute, and Fond Doux booked a new week without penalty. This was definitely impressive as well.

We definitely encourage you to tip, if you come here. In St. Lucia, tipping is discretionary, but in a place with as wonderful employees as Fond Doux (and such an amazing value), tipping is definitely the right and natural thing to do.

In summary, a great place to visit for a honeymoon - and for a family vacation. Fond Doux is tucked away near Soufriere, which is right by the Pitons, and lovely stretches of rainforest and natural scenery. It's a different feel, more private, than the north of St. Lucia which has more resorts and tourists, and is more commercialized.

Thank you Fond Doux for providing the location for a wonderful honeymoon with memories to last a lifetime!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fonddoux, Owner at Fond Doux Holiday Plantation, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
THANK YOU FOR YOUR BEAUTIFUL REVIEW!!!

Dear Roland P,

Thank you for taking the time to write and post this very extensive review of your honeymoon at Fond Doux Holiday Plantation.

This review is truly outstanding in every way. You have basically covered all the main aspects at Fond Doux Holiday Plantation and there is not much to be expanded on. Readers of this post are encouraged to read it carefully, for it is full of detailed observations relating to Fond Doux Holiday Plantation and St. Lucia in general. Some of our favorite remarks include “We spent our honeymoon here and it was a wonderful, amazing time!”, “The people working at Fond Doux are the best”, and “ I was impressed that the owner of the place would take on driving duties to ensure great service - a model for business success anywhere, any place”.

We the owners make it our priority to introduce and interact with every guest to ensure that they all feel welcome. Our aim is to consistently deliver excellent service and so we try to help in whatever way possible, whether it is taking our guests to the beach when our driver is busy on another trip, taking our guests around the plantation or touring guests to the neighboring communities to get a better feel of the island life.

We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your visit and that the courtesies and services you experienced positively contributed to a relaxing vacation. We are committed to providing our guests with the highest level of service and it is satisfying that your overall expectations were exceeded. We are also delighted to know that you were pleased with the amenities, accommodation and facilities.

Once again thank you for having chosen Fond Doux Holiday Plantation for this special occasion and we look forward to welcoming you back perhaps for your first wedding anniversary.

Thank you for your support and endorsement.

Best Regards,
Eroline and Lyton Lamontagne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

My friend and I just returned from a most enjoyable 5 night stay in the Avacado cottage and can't say enough great things about the plantation, the Lamontagnes and the staff that make the stay a very unique, welcoming, and relaxing place to stay. The Avacado cottage has a short trail that leads up to it, and it is very secluded and surrounded by rainforest. One of our favorite things to do each day was lounge on the large porch, read, and watch the hummingbirds in the mornings, or listen to the frogs at night. Thanks to all for making us feel so welcomed!

Room Tip: The avacado room was a two bed, two bath, with central living area with a kitchenette. There are no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fonddoux, Owner at Fond Doux Holiday Plantation, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
THANK YOU FOR YOUR RELAXING REVIEW!!

Dear Beth30196,

Thank you for your glowing comments about Fond Doux Holiday Plantation.
We are happy to hear that you really enjoyed your holiday with us as we try to offer our guests nothing but the best quality in all areas from our accommodations and facilities, to the services we offer.
It is gratifying to read that you felt welcome as we are committed to ensuring that each guest who visits our Tropical Garden of Eden becomes part of our ever expanding Fond Doux Family.

Once again, thank you for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Best Regards,
Eroline and Lyton Lamontagne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fond Doux Holiday Plantation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fond Doux Holiday Plantation

Address: PO Box 250, Soufriere 250, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Soufriere Quarter > Soufriere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Soufriere
#1 Family Hotel in Soufriere
#4 Romantic Hotel in Soufriere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fond Doux Holiday Plantation 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fond Doux Plantation House and Cottages are designed to give guests the option to be as connected or sequestered in nature’s embrace as desired. The tropical setting at Fond Doux Holiday Plantation at once relaxes, enveloping you in completely natural surroundings with the unobtrusive convenience of modern amenities, attentive professional staff trained in tropical hospitality, and access to a host of convenient services. Step out of your plantation cottage or suite and into the healing arms of nature in this tropical paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Splendia, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Fond Doux Holiday Plantation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fond Doux Holiday Plantation Hotel
Fond Doux Holiday Plantation St. Lucia/Soufriere

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fond Doux Holiday Plantation, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.