We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent property and experience with owners who really care” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fond Doux Plantation & Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Fond Doux Plantation & Resort to your Saves list
Fond Doux Plantation & Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   PO Box 250, Soufriere 250, St. Lucia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Summerlicious 2015!!
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Soufriere
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersGold level
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“excellent property and experience with owners who really care”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights in February 2013, and thoroughly recommend this unusual and wonderful place. What really makes it different is that the owners, Eroline and Lyton Lamontagne really really care about the land and people here, and that includes all their valued guests. Unlike most resorts, the “bottom line” is not what is most important to them. Their home is in the centre of the main area, and they are dedicated to improving the 130 plus acres of land which is what they and a relative now own. It is amazing what they have been able to achieve, and income from guests and plantation tours for small outside groups is all put back into the land. They told us that the whole local community works together so that they are together self supporting, and everyone knows everyone else in a true spirit of community. The land produces many fruits and vegetables which are on the restaurant menu, and all are totally organic. Lyton told us ” We look after the land, and then it looks after us” They have 40 employees on the plantation and “resort”.

I use the word resort wishing I could think of a more suitable one. This is not your usual resort at all, but it is relaxing, comfortable, completely informal and laid back, and very friendly. The central area has 2 bamboo clean and comfortable restaurants, a small historic office and gift shop, all of which blend into the environment of narrow trails and bridges, and many plants, a cocoa processing area, and some chickens. The cottages are all very well spaced for privacy, and are spread out around pathways. Some are the authentic buildings their website mentions, some have been purpose built, but all have that historic look and appeal.

We stayed in Hillside Guava. There were 53 steps up the hill to it, and the other hillside cottages were either side, up separate paths and steps, with lots of privacy. I felt it was well worthwhile to climb up to the wonderful view of the rainforest valley below. The steps were somewhat uneven, but there was a good handrail, and an easy climb. We loved our cottage! The welcome on arrival is awesome, the welcome drink much better than anything experienced elsewhere. The bathroom was large, though there were a few plumbing issues, but everything else was so great, it did not matter. The view was right in front and clearly seen even from the comfortable king bed. The deck had comfortable seating, and again, the view. We saw no insects anywhere, including the room, which was well screened. There are no snakes in this area. There's plenty of fresh air in the room, with with windows open at night- no worries. The temperature is pleasantly cool at night.

The restaurant food was excellent and reasonably priced. ($72-91 US for 2 plus tax for 3 courses plus a glass of wine each) A full buffet breakfast, which includes lots of plantation fruit, cereal, juice, breads, or cake, sometimes yogurt, and cooked dishes and eggs is included. Eggs and omelettes are cooked to order. Lovely!

The pool area is soothing, and includes some loungers, a library and gazebo, but the water felt cold, and the pools are quite deep (1 x5ft, 1 x9ft, and one unlabelled, but it looked deep. They were little used, and as they are small would have been difficult to swim in.

Stay here, you won’t regret it.

Room Tip: The view from the Hillside cottages are well worth the easy climb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fonddoux, Owner at Fond Doux Plantation & Resort, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
THANK YOU FOR YOUR REVIEW!!!

Dear Madelinethoughtful,

We welcome you once again to our Fond Doux family and thank you for such an informative review of your recent stay at Fond Doux Holiday Plantation.

We believe in sustainable and responsible tourism and are passionate advocates in balancing the tourism industry and the negative effects of travel on our town of Soufriere and island of Saint Lucia. As a Green Globe certified property we are committed to preserving our island’s history and traditions.

Fond Doux carries the hallmark as an iconic property that represents all that is St Lucian. The lush and fertile plantation land, crowned with cocoa as king, along with so many other fruit trees and flowering plants, producing organic foods that nourish our guests with healthy sumptuous island cuisine.

As part of our efforts to support the social and cultural development in the community we have sponsored local schools , provide space for local craftsmen to display and sell their merchandise at our gift shop, hire local entertainers for music performances and purchase foods from local farmers and fishermen. We encourage our guests to sample the other tours and recreational offerings in the Soufriere area. We strive to do all within our power to conserve the natural ecosystems and habitats with special concerns for the diverse rainforest habitat. We try to limit the number of trees we cut during the construction of the cottages and in an effort to protect the natural environment we have implemented a tree planting exercise. We encourage our guests to participate and support us in our venture to protect “Mother Earth”.

We are pleased to know that overall you enjoyed your stay and that the courtesies and services you experienced positively contributed to a relaxing vacation. It is heartwarming when we receive such positive feedback from our guests as we are committed to providing the highest level of service at all times. We are also delighted to know that you were pleased with the amenities, accommodation, facilities, and food and beverage offerings.

Readers of this post are encouraged to read it carefully, for it is full of detailed observations relating to Fond Doux Holiday Plantation.

Once again, we thank you wholeheartedly for your support of Fond Doux Holiday Plantation and the effort you have put into this truly helpful review.
Best Regards,
Eroline and Lyton Lamontagne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

492 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    376
    89
    20
    7
    0
See reviews for
83
328
15
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Castries, St. Lucia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

I have been here several times over the years & have enjoyed the experience every time. The view is awesome, full of beautiful flowers & plants. The food is very tasty, the cocktails are too & Lyton/Eroline make you feel very welcome. I have not stayed here before but never say never! The cottages look the perfect retreat to get away from your every day routine and just go there to relax. They even have pools to take a dip & cool down in the hot sun. They also host events for the community so Fond Doux Plantation serves it purpose to everyone, whether it be guests, locals and even the kiddies.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fonddoux, Owner at Fond Doux Plantation & Resort, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear Janet04 12,

THANK YOU FOR YOUR REVIEW!!

Thank you for posting this concise, yet highly informative review relating to your numerous visits to Fond Doux Holiday Plantation .
We are glad to hear that that you have had a wonderful time on every visit to our Tropical Garden of Eden. We try to ensure that all of our guests, those that are staying with us as well as those that are just visiting for the day, are always given the best possible service.

Once again, thank you for your comments and your business. We look forward to serving you again, perhaps as a resident guest next time.

Best Regards,
Eroline and Lyton Lamontagne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for four nights, and we couldn't have been happier. The whole property is enchanting, with charming cottages (that have more privacy than many other resorts on the island) set in the lush hills. The working plantation gives this a live, earthy quality - there are chickens, there are cocoa beans drying in one of the main outbuildings, and then there's a big organic garden and trees (nutmeg, cinnamon, clove...). The owners, Lyton and Eroline, are really around and just natural lovely hosts who let everyone do their thing. There are plenty of staff to help with things as they come up, and everyone is lovely and goes the extra mile. Both the staff and other locals seem genuinely admiring of Fond Doux - it was fun to stay somewhere that felt a part of the local fabric of the island. The food is great - local dishes like fresh-caught fish, saltfish with sweet potatoes, great fresh greens - much better/healthier than a lot of food in the Caribbean, in my experience. And of course plenty of rum to go around. We stayed in the Tree House Cottage, which was romantic and spacious, really felt like our own tropical world. We ate at the other resorts - Viceroy Sugar Beach, Jade Mountain, Ladera - and all are beautiful, but I really think Fond Doux offers wonderful value, on top of everything else. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fonddoux, Owner at Fond Doux Plantation & Resort, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear Cate S,
A TRULY GREAT REVIEW- MOST APPRECIATED

We greatly appreciate your candid and favorable review covering your recent stay at Fond Doux Holiday Plantation.
It encapsulates all the important elements of Fond Doux Holiday Plantation accurately- "the working plantation gives this a live, earthy quality - there are chickens, there are cocoa beans drying in one of the main outbuildings, and then there's a big organic garden and trees (nutmeg, cinnamon, clove...). The owners, Lyton and Eroline, are really around and just natural lovely hosts who let everyone do their thing. There are plenty of staff to help with things as they come up, and everyone is lovely and goes the extra mile". Your rewarding comments about the plantation, cottage, the cuisine, and most importantly the staff- all are received with the highest degree of gratitude. Our team goes above and beyond to ensure that every guest get to experience Saint Lucia’s true heritage.
We are so pleased that you feel comfortable in recommending others to visit Fond Doux Holiday Plantation. We sincerely hope that you will decide to return to experience more of the authentic Caribbean hospitality which you witnessed .Thank you for your continued support.

Best Regards
Eroline and Lyton Lamontagne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

My husband and I booked the treehouse for our honeymoon. We were extremely pleased with the location as it was not in the path of most of the residents yet it was only a 3 minute walk to the restaurant for breakfast. There are steps to the room but unless you make an effort to avoid steps in your daily life, just take your time and enjoy having a view. This place was all it promised and more. Cute cottages, welcoming staff, close to the beach, beautiful gardens, ... a real chance to experience the true St. Lucia. Definately worth it to go for the all inclusive because the food is really good and they offer plenty of variety. The free shuttle to the beach is worth it but also consider requesting the driver to take you to Anse Chastanet which is really affordable and can simply be added to your bill. Speaking of bills, all prices were laid out up front and no surprises at the end. The owners are very friendly and make every effort to help you enjoy your stay. We hope to return in 2014!

Room Tip: This place is in the middle of a botanical garden, so you have to expect to have the occasional butt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fonddoux, Owner at Fond Doux Plantation & Resort, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
AWESOME REVIEW GREATLY APPRECIATED !!
Dear Kaeon,
This truly is a wonderful review. The different aspects of Fond Doux Holiday Plantation which you comment upon in the most favorable of lights, is outstanding. The remark “This place was all it promised and more.” really says it all. “Cute cottages, welcoming staff, close to the beach, beautiful gardens, ranks right up there as well.
We are known for our quality service, accommodations, facilities and friendliness . We are pleased that you enjoyed everything that you experienced.
Thank you again for all your positive comments and support. We would love to have you back to experience “The True Saint Lucia”, which you have now discovered for yourself. It was so kind of you to share it with others.
Best Regards,
Eroline and Lyton Lamontagne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

This is an excellent place. There is a genuinely warm welcome, the cottages are spacious, clean and set in beautiful gardens. Not much more to add that hasn't already been said by others.

I would also add that the rooms are good value relative to St Lucia in general.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fonddoux, Owner at Fond Doux Plantation & Resort, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear Duncan13,

A WONDERFUL REVIEW!!!

Thank you for posting this concise, yet highly informative review relating to your stay at Fond Doux Holiday Plantation.

Your overall tone and remarks are most flattering – “This is an excellent place. There is a genuinely warm welcome, the cottages are spacious, clean and set in beautiful gardens”. warm”. Our team will be happy to hear that, as their main objective is to ensure that all guests have a wonderful vacation while visiting our “Simply Beautiful Island of St. Lucia”.

Once again, thank you for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back .

Best Regards
Eroline and Lyton Lamontagne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We chose the Fond Doux Estate because we were looking for something more peaceful and relaxing than the conventional holiday hotel and we were not disappointed. The cottages are dotted around the estate, with plenty of space between them for privacy. Some of them are located on the hillside overlooking the plantation and, although the climb up to them may appear a bit daunting, the views from the verandahs of these properties is stunning. Although this is a working plantation, the noise from the workforce is not offputting.
The cottages themselves are spacious with plenty of light. However, a little more storage space and a few more coat hangers would be worthwhile. The bathrooms are a good size with plenty of hot water and towels.
The pool complex has been well deisgned with plenty of space for guests to relax on sun loungers or sit within the rather splendid pavilion, with a good library.
The staff are most friendly and helpful and the whole place exudes the warmth of hospitality that is often so lacking in larger hotel complexes. The food was generally very good, with some delightful Creole cuisine.
Because the Estate is within the rainforest just above Soufriere, it can seem rather isolated if you have a desire to see as much of the wonderful island of St. Lucia during your stay. A shuttle bus service is provided each day either down to Sugar Beac, adjacent to the Jalousie Beach hotel or into Soufriere town itself, where there are local mini buses to Castries or Vieux Fort. The cost of car hire is not exorbitant and the main roads are not too busy and fairly well amintained. Driving on the left is also a bonus! However, if you venture onto the minor roads be prepared for some rather poor road surfaces and few road signs!
We thoroughly enjoyed our time spent at Fond Doux. We felt as if we had arrived as strangers but left as friends. We would heartily recommend Fond Doux to all those who want to have a taste of the real St. Lucia away from the rather busy resorts in the North of the island.

Room Tip: If you want good views and don't mind the climb to get there, choose a hillside cottage. You wil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fonddoux, Owner at Fond Doux Plantation & Resort, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
LEFT AS FRIENDS, SOON TO BECOME FAMILY!!

Dear AidenAbet,
Thank you for taking the time and making the effort to write this informative review about your recent stay at Fond Doux Holiday Plantation.
We are happy that you felt you made the right decision in choosing our little piece of paradise as your home away from home. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your visit and that the courtesies and services you experienced positively contributed to a relaxing vacation.
It is always gratifying to read such positive comments especially from a first time visitor. One of our main priorities here at Fond Doux Holiday Plantation is to ensure that all our guests feel welcome and that they leave our shores with memories that will last a lifetime. We strive to offer our guests St.Lucia’s Authentic Heritage at its best and from your posting it is evident that you’ve experienced just that. Given the genuine, acclaimed warmth and friendliness of our people, we are sure that this will not be your last visit therefore we look forward to welcoming you back to your second family.
We believe that that this review encapsulates everything about Fond Doux Holiday Plantation and potential guests to Saint Lucia should read it as it embodies some helpful tips.
Thank you for your commitment to recommend our Tropical Garden of Eden and we look forward to welcoming you back to experience the “Real Taste of Saint Lucia”.
Best Regards
Eroline and Lyton Lamontagne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We stay in the avocado room and it was just unbelievable. Two full bedroom, separated by a living room and a full kitchen. Each villa is isolated with no neighbourhood. We really feel in the jungle with a lot of beautiful plants. They offer a free shuttle to the jalousie beach located between the two pitons. We really enjoy this hotel.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fonddoux, Owner at Fond Doux Plantation & Resort, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
THANK YOU FOR YOUR REVIEW!!!

Dear Alain,
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments about your vacation experience at Fond Doux Holiday Plantation.
It is evident from your comments that you really enjoyed the rainforest ambiance, the seclusion of your cottage and most especially your cottage – “We stayed in the Avocado room and it was just unbelievable”.
Thank you for having chosen our Tropical Garden of Eden and we look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.
Best Regards,
Eroline and Lyton Lamontagne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Fond Doux Plantation & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fond Doux Plantation & Resort

Address: PO Box 250, Soufriere 250, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Soufriere Quarter > Soufriere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Soufriere
#1 Family Hotel in Soufriere
#2 Romantic Hotel in Soufriere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fond Doux Plantation & Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fond Doux Plantation & Resort is a 19th century eco-friendly colonial resort nestled in the heart of St. Lucia, best known for romantic, intimate, and private luxury cottages. The resort is situated amidst a 250 year old working plantation and features an assortment of 15 uniquely crafted cottages, two on-site restaurants, and a collage of outdoor swimming pools, as well as an organic spa. The resort is a scenic 45 minute drive from the island's international airport. As a guest of Fond Doux, you will be conveniently located just minutes away from St. Lucia's main attractions, including The Pitons, The Sulphur Springs - 'The Caribbean's only drive in volcano' - and the best diving sites on the island, all within a prestigious UNESCO World Heritage Site. Whether you're traveling for business, a romantic honeymoon or wedding escape, or for a fun-filled family vacation, Fond Doux Plantation & Resort offers the perfect ambiance in St. Lucia for all travel types. A mere glance out your cottage door will evoke both tranquillity and a journey into the land of adventure! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, T4B, Regatta Hotels, Splendia and Priceline so you can book your Fond Doux Plantation & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fond Doux Holiday Plantation Hotel
Fond Doux Plantation & Resort St. Lucia/Soufriere

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fond Doux Plantation & Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.