We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful accommodations” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crystals

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Soufriere
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Crystals
Save Saved
You added Crystals to your Saves list
Columbette, Soufriere, St. Lucia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 12 hotels in Soufriere
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Beautiful accommodations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

My husband and I took a trip to St. Lucia recently for our honeymoon, and after reading the wonderful reviews of Crystals, we knew we had to try it out. We were not disappointed! We stayed in the Sugar Cane cottage, where the view was breath taking and the inside was charming and cozy. It felt like a home away from home. Monica and Martin were wonderful hosts and we always enjoyed chatting with them during cocktail hour. Monica even went above and beyond to help us out by running our credit card through her machine and writing a check for the jeep rental when our ATM card wouldn't work in town. My husband and I had an amazing trip, and we know staying at Crystals made the trip very special!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    221
    24
    14
    4
    6
See reviews for
16
211
5
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Asheville, North Carolina
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

My sweetie and I just got back from a most amazing adventure to Soufriere, St. Lucia and stayed in the Papaya Cottage at Crystals. What a wonderful experience! Thanks to Jessica for making these arrangements for us! She had Richie pick us up at the airport, and take us back and also had a jeep rental available for our 10 days there. The cottage is tucked into the forest in the most natural way with views of the Pitons that have to be seen to be believed. Pictures do not do justice to the beauty of the surroundings. Morning coffee with a fabulous, large breakfast of fresh fruit, coconut pancakes, eggs and hot bakes with butter and jam, while sitting on the covered porch watching the morning sun filter through the abundant trees was paradise! The sweet, friendly girls that delivered our breakfast daily was such a happy start to our day. The bed was so comfortable and the cottage is big and beautifully decorated by a true artist, our darling Monica. Martin's music and Monica's conversations were always a highlight to us every evening. Our excellent dinner one night at Crystals was so good, that before we knew it, three delightful hours had passed with laughter and stories amongst the sounds of the tree frogs in the jungle. We are already planning another visit soon to Crystals....we miss it so very much already! Penny and Jerry

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystals-Soufriere, Front Office Manager at Crystals, responded to this review, June 8, 2014
Thank you for the very kind and positive review and for appreciating the time and effort we put into the accommodations at Crystals.

All the furnishings are custom made or antique one of a kind pieces cared for and well looked after, made to last a life time(we hope)

We did not want your typical hotel type furnishing that is why we stay small with only 7 villas, when i mean small I do not mean in size of the properties on the contrary , we have been told time and time again how our Villas and cottages are so large and spacious, we wanted quality not quantity.


Like our dinner nights lots of though goes in to the dinner that evening to make sure everyone likes what we are serving again our 40 cover restaurant is large and spacious, but we are happy just to do intimate dinners for wonderful Guests like you Guys what a pleasure it was to have had you both here.

Crystals is perhaps from the outside like atypical Boutique hotel however as you know to all of us here at Crystals it is our baby so we try to keep it small intimate special and keeping the accommodations beautiful.

So happy that you are planning a trip back soon

will be looking forward to seeing you both

Martin Monica Jessica and all of us here at Crystals
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

This was our second trip to St. Lucia, to see our extended family at Crystals and stay again in our special Papaya Cottage. We were married on deck of papaya in May 2012.. so cottage is very close to our hearts and full of wonderful memories from first trip. We fell even more in love with our beloved Crystals family and cottage..truly our Home away from Home.. from the moment you arrive.. your spirit says, “IM HOME with Family” :o) It is just the most relaxing and magical cottage that uplifts the spirit and soul.. from the beautiful deck with majestic pitons, magical pool and fountain flowing with pretty flowers adorning deck, to the amazing craftsmanship throughout cottage, to the outdoor shower that makes u feel free spirited – one with nature, to the delicious breakfast served each morning by wonderful gals with bright smiles and beautiful spirits, we love all the kittens and dogs on property (were softhearted animal lovers) that greet you throughout day like family.. Monica, Martin, Kendal, Jessica are the sweetest people.. they're TRULY angels from above.. they strive to make everything so special… they do it to perfection! Tree Top Bar each evening is magical and FUN… laughing, sharing, singing, and drinking the BEST rum punch EVER.. while listening to grand music selection from Martin.. as he plays his guitar and keyboard.. can’t get better than that! If your blessed with Monica’s five-course meal she puts on for her Crystals guests.. it will blow you away… It is so good… your tongue will come out and slap your brains in delight! Happy Dance.. Happy Dance.. For Excursions – I would recommend going thru Crystals to setup excursions.. Monica and Jessica know the good ones.. from the bad ones.. that could scam and overcharge you… she truly cares and wants only the best excursion adventures for her guests that have reasonable rates and give you fun filled days soaking in all the beauty of the island.. whether land or sea based adventures. Crystals is one of a kind… True Gem in the island !! We miss it so much and counting days till we return home again!! Everyone at Crystals holds a Very Special place in our hearts now and always!!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystals-Soufriere, Manager at Crystals, responded to this review, May 31, 2014
Dear Kim and Ken

Gosh I do not know how to express the gratitude to you both for such a kind and thoughtful review.
Believe me having wonderful kind contented people like you staying with us is family(ha in fact better than some family hahah) its just a real pleasure to have you both here.

Kim wow you impressed us all with your opera singing at the bar what a night that was, never knew you were so talented.

I agree with you about the tours at Times we get Guests who book with online with tours that are 400 US$ when the same tour would be about 150 US $, we like our Guests to enjoy their stay here in St Lucia and not to be ripped off

Thank you so much again for returning to Crystals I do hope we will see you again in the near future

Love to you both from all of us here at Crystals
Martin Monica Jessica
xx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
2 reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

After getting back from our first trip to St Lucia, we immediately booked a return vacation back to the beautiful island. We had such an amazing time at Crystals during our first visit that we decided to spend our vacation there again. Crystals' staff met us at the airport and transported us up to Crystals. Upon arriving to Crystals, Monica and Martin greeted us into a fun and loving atmosphere. We chose to stay in the Papaya Cottage for this trip and it was beyond expectation. The view of the Pitons from the deck was breathtaking. The cottage was beautiful inside and out. It was set up with an airy open layout that gave a feeling of being outside. The outdoor shower was amazing and the bathroom was stocked with clean towels and toiletries. At night, Monica and Martin entertain the guests at their Tree Top Bar. Monica always had fresh bakes or fishcakes prepared to accompany the drinks severed by Martin (try his rum punch). Martin is also a well inclined musician and treated us to songs on his guitar or keyboard as he sang along. The energy and atmosphere was truly amazing. It was a great way to unwind from the exciting adventures that were done during the day and to share in laughs with Monica, Martin, and the other guests. Sadly, our vacation had to end. We arrived at the airport to depart on our return flight; however, we ended up being bumped from our flight. The next flight would not depart for two days. At a time of stress and panic, Monica and Martin were there to save the day--picking us back up from the airport and returning us back to Crystals. A few more days in paradise can't be bad. Back at Crystals, we had the nightly drinks with Monica, Martin, and the other guests. Additionally, Monica prepared a five-course meal that would rival any five star restaurant. Monica, Martin, and the whole Crystals' staff not only made the stay fun and exciting, but they also made us feel like family! We cannot thank them enough for all that they did and we will be returning soon!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystals-Soufriere, Front Office Manager at Crystals, responded to this review, May 31, 2014
First of all I do thank you for your very kind review and returning to visit us again and again it is indeed a real pleasure to have you both here.
Our dinner and cocktail nights are a bit of a blast i have to say, its so nice to mingle with different people from all round the world.
Hope we see you again SOON
ALL THE BEST
from all of us here at Crystals
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gros Islet, St. Lucia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

We've been to Crystals several times and it's truly one of our favourite places ever. The cottages are all different, all beautiful, quirky, charming, extravagant and super-comfortable. It's really hard to find the words for this place because it is so unique. Monica and Martin are great, the staff are lovely, having breakfast brought to you every morning is really special, the views are spectacular, the dinners that happen are delicious. If you're a creative person you'll absolutely love this place and if you're not…then in might just inspire you to be more creative! For an uber-chilled getaway this is definitely a must-do! Not to mention the 6pm happy hour everyday! They really know how to spoil their guests! Our most recent visit we were so lucky to be able to stay in the New Villa. Oh my gosh, what a stunning place! Thank you Monica and Martin!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystals-Soufriere, Front Office Manager at Crystals, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Oh thank you Guys for your very positive and kind review.

Indeed we did have some fun at dinner and I am happy to hear you enjoyed our home cooked food.

As always a pleasure to have you Guys here I hope you will continue to visit and stay with us at Crystals
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

I can share most of the enthusiasm about this place. All that has been written about Jessica is absolutely true. She is an exceptional hotel manager who never gets tired to advice you and help you. Crystals is very special and the first impression when you enter one of the cottages is that this is just unbelievably beautiful and spacious. We chose Mango as we are a family of four and because Papaysa second bedroom doesnot have a real big bed and no mosquito nets. And you need mosquito nets, believe me, especially if you have hot nights with no wind, which is not the case normally. In such nights the disadvantages of the cottages come to light: not all windows are protected against mosquitos, but you have to open them anyway as there is no ventillation or climatisation in some of the rooms. As the apartments are full of decoration and dark corners you will not get a mosquito free room, no matter how hard you try. That shouldn't keep you from coming. We loved Mango as it has two floors and has not only Piton views like Papaya but also wonderful mountain and sea views in three directions. Amazing. Beds are very good, water pressure was very low so that you could not use the shower in the second floor. But thats not an issue as this is normal for an eco-resort depending on rain water. What really disappointed us was the quality of the food which gets praise in this forum. We took two dinners, they were nearly identical with no variation, and were certainly not as good as the food you get in town, at "Petit Peak" for exemple. Nevertheless its quite ok as all drinks, even wine and rum punch are included, as are some beignets for starters and an excellent dersert. As has been mentionned before you will not only need a car but a jeep to come here, but its easy to rent one through Jessica, and St. Lucia roads are excellent, far better than I thought (we have been to Tobago before,where roads are half the size...). We took a taxi all the time for reasonable prizes, thanks to Jessicas negotiations.
Soufriere certainly is the most spectacular part of st. Lucia and the views are breathtaking. But it is also the most overrun place you can imagine. To visit the mud baths between 12 and 3 pm certainly is not a good idea, you will be together with several hundred American cruise ship passengers. All the usual attractions are terribly overrun so its not easy to find a cozy plaze. Besides Crystal, which is a lovely refuge from the tourism madness in St. Lucia.
All in all a clear recommendation, with a little reservation about the mosquito situation and the food.

Room Tip: Mango if you are more than two - Papaya if you are a couple
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystals-Soufriere, Manager at Crystals, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Thank you for your review and kind comments.

I do not understand why you just did not close your windows and put on the air conditioning unit that would have solved any mosquito problem.

This time of year mind you every where on Island has Mosquito's

Papaya back Bedroom does have screens on the windows and doe have a mosquito net.

We have been open 9 years and everyone raves about our dinners night so one complaint in 9 years and the ref in a good eating establishment is petit peak, well that might say it all, we are not a burger and fries place and offer organic fresh food and authentic creole cuisine with a french fusion. Of course this might not be your kind of food.


Happy you enjoyed your stay and it was a pleasure to have you all here
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014 via mobile

We booked this holiday to celebrate my fiftieth birthday and we weren't disappointed.

Crystals is quirky, romantic, fun complete with a fabulous breakfast, my husband speaks highly of the coconut pancakes, with a good time and spectacular views added.

Monica and Martin and their staff make you feel welcome from the moment you arrive and the day after we arrived you get a tour of the area with one of the staff. This is a really good idea as the give you tips on where to go, and where everything you need is. There is also drinks at about 6.30 when the rum punch follows and if lucky Martin which play his guitar.

Whilst we were there on two occasions, Monica had two dinners which were fantastic and also we had the opportunity to mix with the other guests.

I would heartily recommend Crystals who doesn't want to stay on one of the resorts as it had everything we wanted.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystals-Soufriere, Manager at Crystals, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Hi Guys

thanks a million for your very kind review so appreciated, and may I add how great to hear you enjoyed your stay and our dinner nights.

Crystals is not a resort but a friendly Family run boutique villa hotel, we try to run it as a go green property so use nothing in a packet, nor ketchup here i am afraid.

we use rain water, solar heating fresh produce from the property, we keep Crystals simply and authentic

Hope we see you Darlings back her again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crystals? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crystals

Address: Columbette, Soufriere, St. Lucia
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Soufriere Quarter > Soufriere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Soufriere
#5 Family Hotel in Soufriere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A cluster of unique romantic Country Cottages in a lust tropical garden with magical views of the Pitons and Ocean. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Crystals Hotel Soufrière
Crystals St. Lucia/Soufriere

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crystals, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.