We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service, great food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Orlando's Restaurant & Bar

Orlando's Restaurant & Bar
Fond Bernier | Cemetery Road, Soufriere WI, St. Lucia
758-459-5955
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 26 restaurants in Soufriere
Price range: $45 - $100
Cuisines: Caribbean
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Denver, Colorado
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great service, great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Orlando's was like discovering a hidden gem. They were so friendly, giving us samples of courses we didn't order, etc.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando S, Owner at Orlando's Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to tell us you enjoyed your meal with us. The tasters are one of my ways of " sharing the love " by giving you the opportunity to taste some of my other dishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

90% Recommend
    178
    36
    10
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Perfect Caribbean food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Orlando's in Souffriere is a charming experience. From the moment you arrive to be greeted with a smile and a drink, this small restaurant serves perfectly judged dishes which are a contemporary interpretation of Caribbean ingredients including delicious fresh fish. There is a choice from the a la carte menu or a couple of set menus which offer great value. Chef Orlando greets every guest at some point during the evening and when I asked what the secret was in one of his dishes, he just said 'it's made with love'.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando S, Owner at Orlando's Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
I am so ploeased you enjoyed your meal with us and for " sharing the love " by taking the time to comment. Hope to see you again sometime
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairhope, Alabama
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Nice place for a date”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

This restaurant is the closest to the north end of Soufriere, which means it's near to both Jade Mountain and Anse Chastenet resorts. I had read reviews about poor service, but it's obvious that Orlando has been putting forth significant effort to remedy the problem. I found our service to be pretty good and very friendly. Orlando came out and greeted each couple personally, which is always nice. I found the meal quite good, especially considering he's doing everything with locally sourced ingredients. We both had one of his pre-set menus, which is a 5 course meal and ordered a good bottle of wine for around $150, including tip. I would eat here again.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando S, Owner at Orlando's Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to give us your positive feedback, training is ongoing as we want to be the best that we can. Glad you enjoyed your visit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Lucia
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Great Food and Local Environment”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Orlando used to be the chef at Ladera and recently opened this restaurant just over the bridge on the north side of Soufriere.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando S, Owner at Orlando's Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to comment and thanks for sharing the love with us, hope to see you again sometime
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Horrible”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Its just not all that, the service will not meet your expected standards nor will the food. Hummingbird a few meters away will definitely be value for your money with true local food, friendly staff and the best view.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando S, Owner at Orlando's Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
I am sorry you did not enjoy your visit to Orlando's , you do not appear to have a specific complaint, if there was something you did not like during your visit we would have appreciated the opportunity to rectify things on the spot as we like our guests to leave happy. Your implication that we do not serve local food is unfounded as all our ingredients are locally produced. Our staff too, are from the community, locally trained and are some of the best in Soufriere
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Orlando's Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Soufriere, Soufriere Quarter
Soufriere, Soufriere Quarter
 
Soufriere, Soufriere Quarter
 

Been to Orlando's Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Orlando's Restaurant & Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.