We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent choice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Still Beach House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Still Beach House to your Saves list
Still Beach House
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Anse Chastanet Road, Soufriere, St. Lucia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 6 Soufriere B&B and Inns
London
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Excellent choice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

I am very glad I chose this hotel and did not go to a resort.

It is in a beautiful location right on the beach with a view over the Pitons and just on the edge of Soufriere (which is really a village.)

The room was simple and clean with a good private balcony. Breakfast was nicely served, even if the cutlery did not always form a matching set (this is the Caribbean. St Lucia is a poor country. This is authentic.)

The staff were lovely, and kind and helpful. The locals used the beach. It is their beach. They were friendly and are nice people. They do not have easy lives. We have so much more, but we have lost something as well. Porgy organised the trips and acted as my guide. The car was owned by his uncle and driven by his cousin. He took me to the rain forest where he picked a fresh coconut and grapefruit from the trees for me and introduced me to a lovely old man who had nothing, but who had looked after him when he was a child.

The hotel is five minutes walk from Soufriere where there are chickens in the street and authentic Caribbean restaurants. Some days there is a choice of fruit juice. Other days there is not.

If you want a resort with imported sand and pampered, pristine luxury, isolated from the locals, then this hotel is not for you. I wanted a small, simple hotel in a good location away from the manufactured artificiality. This was a very good choice.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    22
    13
    6
    9
See reviews for
5
41
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
california
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

Booked trip through expedia for 8 nights at Still Beach, thank godness my husband change us to only 3 night there and the rest of the trip at a resort on the north side of the island.
Room was infested with live and dead bugs on floors and walls, along with lizards,I did not unpack any thing from my suitcase in fear of finding univited guest to take home.
There were fleas or whatever in the bed, that I reciceved at least 10 to 12 bites. I not only had to treat them with external ointments but also took antibiotics just in case they got infected. The hotel is located on a beach that is open to all and we were constantly bombarded with offers of tours and locals begging for money. We had to go to another hotel just to spend time on a beach without constant interuptions.
The hotel staff closes everything down at 6:00 pm and leave, a securty guard comes around 6 or 7. But we had one night were the locals were on the hotel property(right under our room) having a party. we were unable to sleep most of the night.
Free morning breakfast huh!, consisted of eggs, pancakes only and at times hotdogs with ketcup on them(sausage, as they called them)
We met the owner and he attempted to make us feel welcomed but he really needs to fix the rooms and clean up the issues.
We only stayed 2 nights, and lost money for one night at Still Beach, along with having to pay for a room at another hotel.
It was a terrible experience. Would NEVER, NEVER return to Still Beach.
St Lucia is a nice island the people we meet were very nice and helpful, but the terrible experience at this resort really makes me not want to return to St Lucia.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011

We had two weeks booked in June, but overall, for the last 3 nights of the holiday escaped to the north of the island. Couldn't stand the hassle from locals any more. The hotel stands right on the dark sand beach and locals usually hang about there all the time. They keep asking if you need a water taxi etc. etc. and sometimes I found this a bit annoying.

The actual room had shampoo, shower gel, towels were changed.
Poor breakfast, 3 options available every morning and no dinner served either. Fresh fruit in the room every day! awesome:) Not a single night the bar was open, so we were heading up to Hummingbird next door for a drinks. Other option is town, but you got to brave to wonder around at night in there...

Good views, perfect location, many things to see around. Not many rooms in the hotel either, which is good.

Overall I would say- average...

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2011

A wonderful stay! My husband & I stayed at the Still Beach House from 2 Aug - 8 Aug 2011. It is a beautiful place right on the beach - nothing beats the sound of falling asleep or waking up to the sound of ocean waves. With only five rooms, it is nice, quiet, and relatively remote, but still only a couple minutes walk to town. We had the breakfast option with our room - my husband regularly got pancakes, eggs, & fruit while they also accommodated my food allergies and vegetarianism with a lovely fruit plate each day. We also had the lunch buffet one day, which was wonderful with lots of options.

If you are going to do any tours, we highly recommend Thomas - he took us on the tour of the Ruby Plantation today (owned by David's family). He was so wonderful, friendly, generous, and hospitable. He gave us a quote to take with us: "there is no fear in love but perfect love cast out fear, because fear hath torment...he that fear is not made perfect in love". Another quote he gave us was about the biggest room in life being the room for improvement.

David, the owner, was also very friendly and accommodating to our needs. When our taxi that my husband arranged didn't show up tonight for dinner at the Boucan, David kindly arranged another ride for us. A few nights ago he also gave us a warm welcome to the hotel and spent quite a bit of time speaking with us. Additionally, he kindly gave us a ride back to the Hotel after spending the morning at the Ruby plantation. Very friendly, down to earth gentleman.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2011 via mobile

Overall I had a very good experience at the Still Beach house. The rooms are pretty with a gorgeous view of the Petit Piton. I thought that the owner was very helpful overall. The pros and the cons:

Pros- beautiful view, great value for the area, a/c, walking distance to town.

Cons- staff wasn't always super friendly (i found this true of most st. Lucians), wireless doesnt work in rooms, attractions aren't all walking distance.

Overall this is the best value in the Soufriere area. if you go, be sure to arrange a tour of Ruby Plantation,
The owners farm. It's the best place I went in St Lucia.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2011

Still Beach is in a prime spot for everything you would want to do in St. Lucia. Access to the Pitons, volcano, waterfalls, amazing beaches is all close by. The view from the rooms is amazing. The owner is nice and will help you out with whatever you want to do. Plus you get a more 'local' experience when you stay here than a resort.

All of that said, the rooms aren't amazing. There were tons of dead bugs on our canopy, the water went out for a while, they don't replace towels unless you ask, they don't have shampoo and other toiletries... Maybe a little more rustic than we expected but still a good hotel.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2011

This hotel is on the beach, but there aren't chairs or accomodations for spending time on the beach here. We walked up to Anse Chastanet, a large resort nearby, to utilize their beach facilities.

The room here is clean and reasonably priced. Breakfast is included with the room.
The bedroom has an air-conditioner, which is wonderful.
The server who works in the evenings is very kind. Otherwise, the service is moderate. There is no concierge service and very little help in the area of scheduling excursions, etc. So, if you stay here, just know that you will be on your own as far as entertainment/sightseeing, etc.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Still Beach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Still Beach House

Address: Anse Chastanet Road, Soufriere, St. Lucia
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Soufriere Quarter > Soufriere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Soufriere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Still Beach House 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Tingo so you can book your Still Beach House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Still Beach House Hotel
Still Beach House St. Lucia/Soufriere

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Still Beach House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.