We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The fix I needed” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Boucan Restaurant & Bar by Hotel Chocolat

Boucan Restaurant & Bar by Hotel Chocolat
Rabot Estate, Soufriere 312, St. Lucia
+1-758-457-1624
Website
Update restaurant details
Ranked #8 of 25 restaurants in Soufriere
Cuisines: Caribbean, European, Contemporary, Eclectic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Perched high up between the Piton mountains, The Boucan Restaraunt is open to both residents and non residents. Boucan is The Hotel Chocolat’s own restaurant, where guests can experience Cacao Cuisine. The word “Boucan” refers to the traditional West Indian name for a cocoa drying facility. The restaurant is built on the site of the Rabot Estate’s original Boucan. Boucan is also linked to “boucaneer” or “buccaneer,” the local pirates that would smoke and dry their food to preserve it for long trips at sea. The Boucan offers a strong connection with cacao and chocolate. For over 3,000 years, cacao has been used as a savory ingredient and for 500 as a sweet ingredient. The menu explores both, with the chefs taking their inspiration from the fresh cacao growing all around the estate, together with amazing local fish and seafood, salad leaves, vegetables and plentiful fruit. However the cuisine is far from cocoa heavy. The menu often makes use of cacao as a light, subtle spice or as an infusion. The desserts make full and imaginative use of the estate cacao, with each evening meal rounded off with the day’s new chocolate creation. Boucan’s breathtaking minimalist design includes a soaring roof inspired by the shape of the cacao tree, with its branches reaching to the sky, and shaded by the lush rainforest canopy. Its high platform is a centre stage for the Big Nature views all around.Dining at the Hotel Chocolat's Boucan Restaurant, whether it be breakfast, lunch, dinner or the fabulous sundowner cocktails, is an experience to be shared and cherished.We passionately believe we are certainly offering something very different at Boucan. The dress code is smart/casual and ladies a cocktail dress is never out of place!
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“The fix I needed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

The deserts at the Plantation I was staying at really lacked in the chocolate department. Boy, did Boucan deliver!! I wanted to leave with several bottles of their chocolate/balsamic sauce but sadly, the chef hasn't yet realized the gold mine he has =( It was soooooo yummy! I was too excited about my lava cake desert to eat my burger but my husband seemed to enjoy it.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judy B, Head of Guest Relations at Boucan Restaurant & Bar by Hotel Chocolat, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Glad we hit the spot for you, desserts a bit of a speciality as you might expect!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

83% Recommend
    219
    79
    37
    18
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cedar Lake, Indiana, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Tried to have dinner”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

My husband and I spent a week in St Lucia, part of the week in the north and part in the south. Several people suggested that we have dinner here. Mind you we traveled during low season so not many people here at the time. We did not think about making a dinner reservation when we arrived there were not many cars in the lot from what we could see and the guard at the gate informed us that he could not let us in if we did not have a reservation. I would have thought they would have at the least allowed us to go have a drink but that was not the case. So we left and went to the Mango Tree at Stonefield Estate the food and service there were above and beyond. I will not return to Boucan because of the way we were treated by the guard. And I don't care for pretentiousness that I sensed

    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judy B, Head of Guest Relations at Boucan Restaurant & Bar by Hotel Chocolat, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
We were fully booked with a private function that evening. Apologies that our gatehouse team were not as forthcoming with the explanation as we would have expected. Booking is definitely recommended, such a pity that we couldn’t show you our true hospitality. Perhaps next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Loved our dinner date!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

This place has got it right! Our dinner date here was wonderful, probably our best meal while in St Lucia, oh and the best wine too (we were staying at the Sugar Beach resort)
I loved the open kitchen. The chefs took pride in their dishes - the smile said it all! The food was fabulous. Delicious chocolate twists here and there. The food is top class - this is a restaurant NOT to be missed while visiting St Lucia.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judy B, Head of Guest Relations at Boucan Restaurant & Bar by Hotel Chocolat, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Wow, bowled over with your lovely words. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merritt island, Florida
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“My chocolat hamburger”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

We had lunch here while visiting Soufriere. We didn't originally come to eat as we wanted to tour the chocolate factory but we arrived after 9:00am and that's the only tour time. So we went to Sugar beach and returned for lunch. The dining area is situated to get a beautiful view of the Petit Piton, dead center of the room. Dining is open air and very relaxing. Staff is very attentive to your needs and many varieties on the menu have some sort of chocolate touch to them. You are given different sauces to try the bread with, each with a special taste. The bread on my burger even has a chocolate taste to it. Many good drinks to try as well. I'm sure the evening meals are a delight as well. It might be a bit pricey however. But oh, what a view.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judy B, Head of Guest Relations at Boucan Restaurant & Bar by Hotel Chocolat, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
More cacao than chocolate, but so glad you enjoyed it and our view.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

everything about this place was great! nice cocktail menu and drinks, the wine selection and food were outstanding!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judy B, Head of Guest Relations at Boucan Restaurant & Bar by Hotel Chocolat, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Cocktails and wine list a bit of a speciality, so thanks v much for mentioning.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Boucan Restaurant & Bar by Hotel Chocolat also viewed

Soufriere, Soufriere Quarter
Soufriere, Soufriere Quarter
 
Soufriere, Soufriere Quarter
Soufriere, Soufriere Quarter
 

Been to Boucan Restaurant & Bar by Hotel Chocolat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boucan Restaurant & Bar by Hotel Chocolat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.