We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My chocolat hamburger” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Boucan Restaurant & Bar by Hotel Chocolat

Boucan Restaurant & Bar by Hotel Chocolat
Rabot Estate, Soufriere 312, St. Lucia
+1-758-457-1624
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 25 restaurants in Soufriere
Cuisines: Caribbean, European, Contemporary, Eclectic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Perched high up between the Piton mountains, The Boucan Restaraunt is open to both residents and non residents. Boucan is The Hotel Chocolat’s own restaurant, where guests can experience Cacao Cuisine. The word “Boucan” refers to the traditional West Indian name for a cocoa drying facility. The restaurant is built on the site of the Rabot Estate’s original Boucan. Boucan is also linked to “boucaneer” or “buccaneer,” the local pirates that would smoke and dry their food to preserve it for long trips at sea. The Boucan offers a strong connection with cacao and chocolate. For over 3,000 years, cacao has been used as a savory ingredient and for 500 as a sweet ingredient. The menu explores both, with the chefs taking their inspiration from the fresh cacao growing all around the estate, together with amazing local fish and seafood, salad leaves, vegetables and plentiful fruit. However the cuisine is far from cocoa heavy. The menu often makes use of cacao as a light, subtle spice or as an infusion. The desserts make full and imaginative use of the estate cacao, with each evening meal rounded off with the day’s new chocolate creation. Boucan’s breathtaking minimalist design includes a soaring roof inspired by the shape of the cacao tree, with its branches reaching to the sky, and shaded by the lush rainforest canopy. Its high platform is a centre stage for the Big Nature views all around.Dining at the Hotel Chocolat's Boucan Restaurant, whether it be breakfast, lunch, dinner or the fabulous sundowner cocktails, is an experience to be shared and cherished.We passionately believe we are certainly offering something very different at Boucan. The dress code is smart/casual and ladies a cocktail dress is never out of place!
Merritt island, Florida
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“My chocolat hamburger”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

We had lunch here while visiting Soufriere. We didn't originally come to eat as we wanted to tour the chocolate factory but we arrived after 9:00am and that's the only tour time. So we went to Sugar beach and returned for lunch. The dining area is situated to get a beautiful view of the Petit Piton, dead center of the room. Dining is open air and very relaxing. Staff is very attentive to your needs and many varieties on the menu have some sort of chocolate touch to them. You are given different sauces to try the bread with, each with a special taste. The bread on my burger even has a chocolate taste to it. Many good drinks to try as well. I'm sure the evening meals are a delight as well. It might be a bit pricey however. But oh, what a view.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judy B, Head of Guest Relations at Boucan Restaurant & Bar by Hotel Chocolat, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
More cacao than chocolate, but so glad you enjoyed it and our view.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

83% Recommend
    243
    86
    40
    18
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

everything about this place was great! nice cocktail menu and drinks, the wine selection and food were outstanding!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judy B, Head of Guest Relations at Boucan Restaurant & Bar by Hotel Chocolat, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Cocktails and wine list a bit of a speciality, so thanks v much for mentioning.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“expected more”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Was there for my brothers wedding reception.Had a steak earlier in the day at Orlandos and was much better than the rib-eye I had here. The wedding party was around 30 people and for the amount of staff they had working back in the kitchen (at least 12) the food was slow coming out. The first table that got their food was done well before the 3rd table got their food. It was a nice place and had a great view. Drove by it many times and didn't realize it was as develpoed as it is. Wasn't impressed because of all the hype.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judy B, Head of Guest Relations at Boucan Restaurant & Bar by Hotel Chocolat, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Not sure where the hype is coming from! Just keeping our heads down and focusing on trying to build and maintain a reputation for unique and authentic food. Please give us another chance to impress but perhaps come with an open mind.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Chocolate!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Boucan offers superb views, well crafted cocktails, and an inventive menu. We enjoyed a lunch and all of the chocolate themed dishes were well balanced with the chocolate flavors coming through in surprising ways. I would recommend a visit to Boucan for any visitor to St. Lucia.
We had lunch following the Bean to Bar Chocolate tour that is also hosted on the grounds of Hotel Chocolat. Not to be missed!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judy B, Head of Guest Relations at Boucan Restaurant & Bar by Hotel Chocolat, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Can’t ask for more than you have mentioned. Truly thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lee, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

As soon as we walked in I loved the atmosphere of this place. We were staying at the Ladera Resort right across the street, so it was a quick walk there. The food was delicious! My husband was a little hesitant about the chocolate theme, but we soon found that everything does not taste like you are eating a chocolate bar. It only acts as a compliment to the other flavors infused into the dishes. We enjoyed our meal so much that we hoped we would get another chance to eat there during our visit, unfortunately we never got a chance to. I highly recommend the chicken curry and the ravioli... also the creme brulee for dessert was to die for!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judy B, Head of Guest Relations at Boucan Restaurant & Bar by Hotel Chocolat, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
First impressions are important and we try to create a unique feel when you step into Boucan, day or night. Thanks for mentioning this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Boucan Restaurant & Bar by Hotel Chocolat also viewed

Soufriere, Soufriere Quarter
Soufriere, Soufriere Quarter
 
Soufriere, Soufriere Quarter
Soufriere, Soufriere Quarter
 

Been to Boucan Restaurant & Bar by Hotel Chocolat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boucan Restaurant & Bar by Hotel Chocolat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.