We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Boucan Restaurant & Bar by Hotel Chocolat

Boucan Restaurant & Bar by Hotel Chocolat
Rabot Estate, Soufriere 312, St. Lucia
+1-758-457-1624
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 25 restaurants in Soufriere
Cuisines: Caribbean, European, Contemporary, Eclectic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Perched high up between the Piton mountains, The Boucan Restaraunt is open to both residents and non residents. Boucan is The Hotel Chocolat’s own restaurant, where guests can experience Cacao Cuisine. The word “Boucan” refers to the traditional West Indian name for a cocoa drying facility. The restaurant is built on the site of the Rabot Estate’s original Boucan. Boucan is also linked to “boucaneer” or “buccaneer,” the local pirates that would smoke and dry their food to preserve it for long trips at sea. The Boucan offers a strong connection with cacao and chocolate. For over 3,000 years, cacao has been used as a savory ingredient and for 500 as a sweet ingredient. The menu explores both, with the chefs taking their inspiration from the fresh cacao growing all around the estate, together with amazing local fish and seafood, salad leaves, vegetables and plentiful fruit. However the cuisine is far from cocoa heavy. The menu often makes use of cacao as a light, subtle spice or as an infusion. The desserts make full and imaginative use of the estate cacao, with each evening meal rounded off with the day’s new chocolate creation. Boucan’s breathtaking minimalist design includes a soaring roof inspired by the shape of the cacao tree, with its branches reaching to the sky, and shaded by the lush rainforest canopy. Its high platform is a centre stage for the Big Nature views all around.Dining at the Hotel Chocolat's Boucan Restaurant, whether it be breakfast, lunch, dinner or the fabulous sundowner cocktails, is an experience to be shared and cherished.We passionately believe we are certainly offering something very different at Boucan. The dress code is smart/casual and ladies a cocktail dress is never out of place!
London
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Another winderful cocoa experience visiting for lunch. The staff were very friendly, food tasty and atmosphere perfectly relaxed. I would go out of my way to visit if you are on the island.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judy B, Head of Guest Relations at Boucan Restaurant & Bar by Hotel Chocolat, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thanks for dining with us again and for the recommendation. See you next time you are in the area we hope.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

83% Recommend
    242
    86
    39
    18
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Luxury hotel & restaurant, shame about the wait for the food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

We had arrived as part of the 'bean to bar' trip. We pre-ordered our food before chocolate making (which was fab & you get to keep it/eat it) and there was alot of hanging around. With that in mind I sort of assumed the food would be ready for us when we came back.

The quality of the food, and the restaurant is amazing. But as a party of approx 45 people the kitchen didn't seem geared up to cope with this amount of people at one time. It is obvious that this is a very nice hotel, in an amazing setting, I do wonder if they need to have this amount of people in on trips? Anyhow, the food was AWESOME! The only downside was that the sweet we had ordered was then suddenly unavailable, which was such as shame.

Every meal has some cocoa in it, as in my bun for my gourmet burger but it wasn't really noticeable.

I'd love to come and stay here....

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judy B, Head of Guest Relations at Boucan Restaurant & Bar by Hotel Chocolat, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thanks very much for the lovely comments about the food and the setting. It was a rather large party and all the food is prepared freshly from scratch, but your point is valid and we have discussed improvements we can make to address your point. We would love to have you come to stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westerham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Chocolate with everything!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We did the full Hotel Chocolat "bean to bar" tour - it was the best thing we did during our holiday on St Lucia. Iteresting, informative and fun. Afterwards we had lunch at the Boucan and it was delicious. Everything on the menu has a chocolate component - even the fish and chips (kid you not!). The food was excellent, as was the service and the setting. It is definately up there in top holiday experiences.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judy B, Head of Guest Relations at Boucan Restaurant & Bar by Hotel Chocolat, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
‘Best thing we did during our holiday in Saint Lucia’ – that’s what we aspire to and glad we got your ‘thumbs up’.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, Holland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Top notch food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We stayed in Ladera Resort, which is just across the road of Boucan Restaurant. We went a few times to Boucan during our 1 week stay in St Lucia. Very good service, high quality food and great location. During our stay, the French chef from their restaurant in London was there and you could see the passion in the open kitchen for great food. The chocolate theme in the menu is subtle and the cacao nibs are great with beef. Don't forget to do the tour in the plantation.
Highly recommend this restaurant!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judy B, Head of Guest Relations at Boucan Restaurant & Bar by Hotel Chocolat, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Really liked it that the passion from the open theatre kitchen caught your eye. We have an excellent kitchen brigade, many trained from scratch - -all we need is a true love of food, a good work ethic and a nice person. The rest we can train in!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Must go here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013 via mobile

I loved Bouchon, my favorite meal on the island. Atmosphere was great, they had entertainment the night we were there. Drinks were lovely and food even better. I had a chicken coconut stew dish which was delightful. You must get the chocolate plate for dessert with a glass of red wine. It's tells the story of the cacao bean in a series of chocolate treats. Yum! This place just had it all for me. Price was comparable to other places. Our meal with drinks was $125 US

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judy B, Head of Guest Relations at Boucan Restaurant & Bar by Hotel Chocolat, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
‘Favorite meal on the island’ – can’t ask for higher praise. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Boucan Restaurant & Bar by Hotel Chocolat also viewed

Soufriere, Soufriere Quarter
Soufriere, Soufriere Quarter
 
Soufriere, Soufriere Quarter
Soufriere, Soufriere Quarter
 

Been to Boucan Restaurant & Bar by Hotel Chocolat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boucan Restaurant & Bar by Hotel Chocolat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.