We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for "TRUE LOVERS OF NATURE"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Boucan by Hotel Chocolat

Save Saved
You added Boucan by Hotel Chocolat to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Boucan by Hotel Chocolat
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Rabot Estate | P.O. Box 312, Soufriere, St. Lucia   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 12 hotels in Soufriere
Alexandria, Virginia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Good for "TRUE LOVERS OF NATURE"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

They have excellent service and some outstanding field tours on their cocoa plantation which makes me want to go again and see how my cocoa plants are doing. Bernabie and Cothbert are my best people there. The restaurant and Kitchen served me unforgettable meals.

Room Tip: The rooms have no air condition so note when to go. Also don't think the place would be too hot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judy B, Head of Guest Relations at Boucan by Hotel Chocolat, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
It really is a natural paradise around the grounds of Rabot Estate, thanks for making this point for other nature lovers. Bernabe (our hotel manager) and Cuthbert (cocoa nursery manager) were delighted to be commended by you, thanks v much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    148
    51
    6
    2
    3
See reviews for
16
154
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

St Lucia is so beautiful, we really enjoyed our trip here. We spent the first 4 nights of our trip at the Carribbean Blue suite in the Marigot Bay area (which was also lovely - see separate review) before moving on to Hotel Chocolat for our last 2 nights.

The rooms were very nice, modern and clean with some nice touches like delicious complimentary cookies. We especially loved the open roof shower which was totally private yet still gave you the feeling of being outside. No A/C in the room but it wasn't really an issue for us in March, not sure how much warmer it gets.The breakfast here is AMAZING! Great selection of fresh fruit and other hot and cold options, and it's free for hotel guests! Everything we ate was delicious so it would be worth paying for it even if it wasn't included. Cocktails and dinner are also great, but I agree with the other reviewers that the cocoa themed menu is a bit tiresome, especially over a longer stay. We at at Boucan one night, then ventured across the street to Ladera for the next dinner (it was awful!) On our last day we also took part in the Bean to Bar experience which we would highly recommend. Our guide was very passionate and knowledgeable and it was fun to graft our own trees.

All that being said, the property is a bit secluded (not near the main towns or beaches) and there isn't much to do on site other than lounge by the pool, visit the spa, and walk around the beautiful property. I would recommend a stay of 2-3 nights to enjoy the food & the pampering and combine it with a stay elsewhere on the island, preferably with beach access.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judy B, Head of Guest Relations at Boucan by Hotel Chocolat, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Our aim at the beginning was to have legendary breakfasts which were free to guests - sounds like we are on our way. Our 'Boucanier' boat is a must-do next time you come. It's the best way to see the coast, snorkel, dolphin watch and much more.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Lucia
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Amazin' hotel. No air-conditioning and open rooms on one wall (with shutters). The showers are also outdoors. Unique and wonderful environment with an excellent restaurant. There are alot of steps so not for the physically-challenged. Not to be missed.

Room Tip: The Luxe rooms have a balcony and larger. If you are going to have people "over", get one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judy B, Head of Guest Relations at Boucan by Hotel Chocolat, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
A truly special environment, agreed! Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Wonderful, modern stylish hotel with villas where you could be in a top uk boutique hotel. Set within the cocoa plantation the hotel is all about the chocolate, with dozens of small carefully considered design touches and branding such as cocoa pods in the room, chocolate and cookies delivered to the room each day, and a complimentary cocktail and botle of wine waiting in your villa. The bean to bar chocolate making experience is well worth a go, with the end result of your own bar of handmade chocolate. The Ladera resort is over the road, but we never ventured off campus as everything we needed was there.

Room Tip: All luxury villas are raised at the back, normal villas are nearer the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judy B, Head of Guest Relations at Boucan by Hotel Chocolat, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Thanks for mentioning all the ‘attention to detail’ things which we provide free of charge. It was a great pleasure having you to stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013 via mobile

Omg - where do we start?
Our wedding was everything we could have wished for and more. The welsh crew arrive on this beautiful island with Welsh kilts, cloggins and and a heavily decorated wedding gown !
For a wedding, anniversary or birthday this is a truly magical beautiful place -

Thank you Judy and Lorna for making our dreams come true !
Including sourcing a violinist and cello player - for our special day (pearl and yanick ) and beautiful flowers, and a stunning location for our wedding ceremony.

Nothing was too much trouble -
The views and hotel and rooms are amazing !
Staff are very friendly and helpful - the food is to die for and the duck dish and Aberdeen fillet steak was out of this world -
Don't even get me started on the desserts it's the closest thing to heaven .

The tours - tree to bar with culthbert was fabulous a very knowledgable man -
If your fit, walk the gros piton it's a great morning out - the sulphur springs and mud bath is mad fun - and the sugar beach is pretty with a great snorkelling area.
Whispers bar has great food and friendly locals a true st Lucian experience ! With a BBQ on Friday nights for $20 is well worth it ! -
the Boucan- hotel chocolat is a relaxed place with one of the best views in the island.
Would we visit again ? most definitely - we plan to visit our coca trees And show off our wedding album. A great excuse to come back -
Ignore any stuffy reviews or bad comments - this is far better than sandals etc - a truly, unique boutique hotel !

Two observations I would like to see a matre d - with extensive wine knowledge - more choices of wines. - ie lighter calafornia wines rose and white for lunch plus more Spanish rjoca's and Italian wines - that would go with the meals available on the menu.
plus a Carribean dish on the menu to give a creole twist but of course with chocolate !

Thank you once again from Samantha and Dillon x

From a photographers point of view- it was a dream location due to the textures, styles and architecture there.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judy B, Head of Guest Relations at Boucan by Hotel Chocolat, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Our ridge site is the best view of the ‘8th wonder of the world’ and a dramatic place to take your marriage vows, Welsh style or any style! Best wishes from us all.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013 via mobile

Stylish design hotel, fantastic staff, outstanding food & breath-taking views; highly recommended.

Set in the ethically-minded Hotel Chocolat cocao hillside plantation, this intimate, relaxing hotel is 20-30mins drive from the nearest beach (Jalouise) but in an idyllic location. Quiet, bar the soothing forest sounds, it may almost be too remote for some for fortnight stays but is absolutely on the money for shorter breaks. Food is first class: healthy, well-presented & unbelievably tasty. The chocolate inspired theme works surprisingly & incredibly well although those less sweet-toothed may prefer to ask for some of the dressings etc on the side (I.e. white chocolate dressing with salad). Service faultless and always genuinely friendly.

My new favourite hotel ever; will definitely return! Thank you guys.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judy B, Head of Guest Relations at Boucan by Hotel Chocolat, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
“Healthy well-presented and unbelievably tasty”- we all loved this description of our Boucan cuisine, thank you!! Looking forward to your return visit already.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elgin, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013 via mobile

We were fortunate enough to have the opportunity to stay here for a week: we experienced the many wonders of the Boucan restaurant & enjoyed it all + many of the tours & learnt so much about the Rabot Estate and cacao growth/production.
We savoured pure luxury & indulgence & had the week of our lives......topped off by our Wedding Day; celebrated in the most perfect setting :)
Many thanks to everyone who made this an incredible time & the holiday of a lifetime....we are now saving to return & hope to celebrate our 5th anniversary here!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judy B, Head of Guest Relations at Boucan by Hotel Chocolat, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
We were privileged to host you for such an important event and look forward to helping you celebrate your 5th Wedding Anniversary too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Boucan by Hotel Chocolat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boucan by Hotel Chocolat

Address: Rabot Estate | P.O. Box 312, Soufriere, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Soufriere Quarter > Soufriere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Soufriere
#4 Luxury Hotel in Soufriere
#6 Family Hotel in Soufriere
#7 Romantic Hotel in Soufriere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Boucan by Hotel Chocolat 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover plantation chic - luxury, well-being & stunning natural beauty. Situated high in the hills near Soufriere, set in rainforest & cocoa groves with stunning views of the Piton mountains. A daily transfer is provided for guests to a stunning nearby beach by Hotel Sea Launch. Guests can enjoy trail walks around the cocoa estate, cacao inspired treatments in the spa, relaxation in Club Boucan with its private infinity pool & the exclusive cacao cuisine at Boucan Restaurant & Bar, free laundry service, room additions and Tree to Bean tour. Boucan by Hotel Chocolat offer 2 types of accommodation, both with 4 poster beds, preloaded iPods & docking stations, complimentary wireless, a mini-bar & open sky rainforest showers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, MrandMrsSmith, Jetsetter, Venere and Otel so you can book your Boucan by Hotel Chocolat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boucan By Hotel Chocolat St. Lucia/Soufriere

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boucan by Hotel Chocolat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.