We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful praise for this amazing place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Boucan by Hotel Chocolat

Save Saved
You added Boucan by Hotel Chocolat to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Boucan by Hotel Chocolat
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Rabot Estate | P.O. Box 312, Soufriere, St. Lucia   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 12 hotels in Soufriere
Warrenton
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Wonderful praise for this amazing place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

I can't say enough about this amazing resort, the staff, the view, the experience. From the moment you arrive, you are treated like a first class guest. Everything is so well thought out, especially the design of the hotel. Who doesn't want to see the Pitons at every turn?
We were picked up from the airport by an extremely welcoming driver who provided us with drinks and ice cold, minty towels. Upon arriving at the resort, our bags were whisked away and we were immediately brought to the restaurant for a complimentary drink.
We had spa treatments daily and Barbara was wonderful, particularly with the massages. We had every single treatment on the menu, and hands down, my favorites were the massage and the facial. Everything was certainly relaxing though.
I plan to review the restaurant portion separately, but I will say that we never tired of the choices and certainly felt like there were enough options to benefit from a food plan that included 2 courses for lunch and 3 courses for dinner.
Although we didn't know that televisions and air conditioning weren't part of this resort, we both soon realized that both are completely unnecessary. If you want a chance to reconnect with yourself, to get out of the hustle of day to day life, or to just reset your internal sanity button, this is the place to go.
We took a number of walks while on the resort, and although you do need transportation to get around the island (which can be very costly), it doesn't feel like you are "trapped" while on the resort. Among other things, we enjoyed a walking trip to the sulfur springs, walks around the plantation, the Tree to Bar experience, a day at Sugar Beach, a snorkeling tour, and lunch in Soufriere.
The staff at Hotel Chocolat is superb. Several times throughout our stay, Judy came by to check in on us to make sure everything was going well. We wanted a shorter snorkeling trip, so she happily arranged this with the boat crew and made sure a taxi was available for us upon our return. After a morning trip to the market, Judy even came by guests' tables at breakfast one morning to share her fresh oranges. This is the type of hospitality and attentiveness every staff gives the guests. I definitely think the small, intimate setting of this resort allows for more specialized attention.
I traveled with a friend on this trip and while 90% of the other guests were couples, we were always welcomed and I feel like this is a great trip for friends to take together (as long as you are comfortable sharing space and a bed). We've already decided that we'll be back. Once you go you'll realize there is no way you won't want to go back.

Room Tip: I'm not sure you can have a bad room here :) We didn't have a luxe lodge though, so perhaps...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judy B, Head of Guest Relations at Boucan by Hotel Chocolat, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
We love your turn of phrase in describing the soothing effect of your stay with us:
‘ a chance to reconnect with yourself, to reset your internal sanity button’. Thanks too for the call out for Barbara in our spa team. Glad you are coming back, looking forward to it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    149
    52
    6
    2
    4
See reviews for
16
157
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada, United States
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This was part of an all day excursion from our Sandals hotel, called the Chocolate Decadence tour-we were told it was a new tour and after having cancelled with another tour company from the day before due to them being an hour late, I was nervous. From the start of the tour; pickup from our hotel was on time and the driver was courteous. We arrived at marina and boarded a catamaran (I was really nervous to get sea sick but the captain was a pro) we sailed around the island until we reached Soufriere. We and 1 other couple were driven to Hotel Chocolat where we were greeted by the wait staff and told to select food we would like as our lunch after the Chocolate plantation tour. We were then taken to a pre arranged area where we met Chef Ron who began to teach us all about making chocolate, we learned a lot and even had the chance to make our own chocolate bars. It was hard work! Afterwards the Chef took us to the restuarant where he personally assisted the staff in preparing the BEST meal I had on the island. I am a super picky eater and typically only eat healthy food. The food was TO DIE FOR! The desert was AMAZING! This is a MUST DO when in St Lucia.

After a very relaxing lunch that was set amidst the beautiful greenery and Piton mountains, we were driven to the famous mud baths and hot water springs. We toured the Sulpher springs and then were driven back to the dock where a catamaran was waiting to take us Snorkeling in between the Magestic Pitons & finished off with a sunset cruise back to our side of the country.

Such a great day! For 1st timers and return guests, I HIGHLY recommend this tour-if you don't want a full day, DO NOT miss the tour of Hotel Chocolat. Thanks again Chef Ron! You rock!

XO, The cool people from Las Vegas ;o)

Room Tip: We did not stay in the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judy B, Head of Guest Relations at Boucan by Hotel Chocolat, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Glad we put on a good show to even impress folks from Las Vegas. Much appreciated
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

We stayed at Hotel Chocolat St Lucia over the New Year’s period for 1 week and were certainly not disappointed. Our expectations were as high as the price tag and the incredible location, friendly staff and innovative food meant every day of our stay was enjoyable. From cocoa nib butter with breakfast to roti and delicious curries for lunch to the more elaborate NYE 6 course meal, the food was truly one of our highlights. Some folks might find being stranded in a giant plantation far from bars/restaurants a bit of a downer but we relished the remote surroundings and went off walking every morning in a different direction exploring lakes, waterfalls, hot springs and enjoying the abundant locally growing produce. It is worth hiring a car for at least a few days so you can drive to the closest town Soufriere, a little further to Rodney Bay and to the capital Castries- you won't get a real feel for the island if you just stay in the hotel (however tempted you may be!). We were upgraded to a luxe lodge and the little touches are what made it special - a thoughtful can of insect repellent, a free bottle of sparkling rose and fresh nuts, chocolates and cookies replenished daily. I have been recommending this hotel to everyone I know and hope to return one day to sit in the beautiful restaurant and enjoy the view of petit piton over a cocoa pulp martini with my love.

  • Liked — The food
  • Disliked — Everything ran a little bit slow
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judy B, Head of Guest Relations at Boucan by Hotel Chocolat, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
There is a romantic slant to your fab review and its true that the special feeling of Rabot Estate has always evoked this. Hope to serve you another Cocoa Pulp Martini again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We just returned from a wonderful experience at Hotel Chocolat. We purchased the three night, all inclusive chocolate experience. We were warmly greeted at the airport by a driver, Herod, provided by the hotel. He had a cold cloth and Piton beer for my wife and I. The position of the hotel is on a hillside with a direct view of Petit Piton, just uphill and across the road from another famous resort, Ladera. The front desk, restaurant (Boucan), bar, and kitchen are all under the same roof in an open air, no solid walls, huge deck-like building above the reflecting pool. The grounds are very lush, with cacao trees, papaya, trees, etc. all around. It is an intimate property with a friendly but reserved staff. We stayed in a bungalow complete with a netted canopy bed, nice sitting area, and large bathroom. The stone shower was large enough for at least two and extended out from the bathroom area with an open, but private slatted roof. We experienced no insects in December, although we had a tiny tree frog or two on a windowsill. Their sounds at night were charming for us, maybe loud for others. The WiFi worked well; there was no AC, nor TV in our bungalow. The ceiling fan was quiet and cooled us perfectly. We had a tour of the plantation, learned about grafting trees and fermenting and drying cacao beans. We ground some beans and made chocolate bars. Most of the food (three meals a day) and drinks are prepared with some degree of cacao that is mostly subtle and not candy bar sweet. We ate well, had fun in the optional mud baths/volcano/falls excursion, and enjoyed the views. We loved the place, would recommend it, and would go back. It is the opposite of a Sandals resort experience (which we have visited and enjoyed, too) because it is small, quiet, intimate, and romantic.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judy B, Head of Guest Relations at Boucan by Hotel Chocolat, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
‘Friendly but reserved staff’ – I think that’s a fair description of us but, then again, we chose our team for genuine niceness and we are anglo-lucian as a business! Thanks you very much indeed for such a lovely review, would love to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Having been a long standing fan of the extensive range of superb chocolates that Hotel Chocolat have at our local shop in the UK, and as a lover of quality, imaginative food, we were drawn to look at the website menus for the Hotel Chocolat in St Lucia and thought, this is for us! Great food with a chocolate twist! And indeed, we were not disappointed. The evening meals were imaginative in concept, delicious and creative. Breakfast, with the freshly picked fruit platter, wonderful smoothies, yoghourt, (try adding fruit from the platter and some of their granola with cocoa nibs on to the yoghourt - yummy!) juices, interesting breads and muffins, followed by perfectly presented eggs, bacon or porridge meant that you hardly needed anything else to eat until the evening! We liked the idea of the chef using all fresh local produce that has been grown by local farmers, supporting local jobs. The restaurant setting with its open sides and view to the Piton Mountains must be one of the most unusual and beautiful restaurants we have ever eaten in - and we have eaten in many around the world. Even when it rained, it was magical to be listening to the sounds of the forest whilst eating our meticulously prepared food.
Whilst mentioning rainforest sounds, it was a huge surprise to me, as a light sleeper, that the night time forest cacophony of sounds was so very relaxing and I easily fell asleep on the wonderfully comfortable beds. Although mosquito nets covered our beds I never saw any, nor did we have any need, to use protective sprays -an added bonus. The open aspect of the lodges did mean that the forest creatures sometimes came in, but they soon went out again! That was also the attraction of staying in interesting accommodation that did not have, or need, air conditioning, like a hotel room that otherwise could be like any other hotel room anywhere in the world. The luxe lodges were outstanding and kept very clean. The open showers really are as amazing as they sound, especially at night with the soft lighting and again, listening to the sounds of the rain forest as you shower.
We loved the setting of the Hotel in the forest (we are not ones for just sitting on the beach all week) and enjoyed being able to take walks from the Hotel. The small size of the Hotel in terms of lodges is just right and I hope that it chooses not to develop the site further - that is also part of the appeal and charm. In the beautiful grounds there are many different areas on various levels to sit/lay and relax without anywhere feeling crowded. Often there would be few people by the pools and loungers. But head for the restaurant or bar if you want company. There is plenty to do and see for the six nights we stayed. Excursions were interesting and well run. The Hotel exudes a quiet, relaxing atmosphere with friendly staff, yet gives great attention to detail with quality all around, and when we stayed, friendly guests who would chat if you wanted, or not, if you preferred.

We were celebrating three momentous events in our lives, which is why we chose The Hotel Chocolat as being somewhere different and special. It was!

Room Tip: I'm sure all the lodges are lovely, but the Luxe ones are quite high up so have magnificent view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judy B, Head of Guest Relations at Boucan by Hotel Chocolat, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
So glad you enjoyed your stay with us. The idea for the restaurant design was simple – let the ‘big nature’ view do the talking with bold, minimalist architecture. Thanks for being real appreciators of nature and responsible luxury!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
germany
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

We stayed six wonderfull days at Hotel chocolat over Christmas 2012. We had a very good and relaxing time - Even if there were some issues we did not like that much.
First the pros:
- The Hotel is beautiful, starting from the rooms, the Restaurant, the plantation, everything is decorated tastefully in a minimalistic, but very warm and nice decor.
- the Staff is simply great. Very friendly, very helpful and fun. You can tell they like working for Hotel chocolat and you can see their camaderie.
- the Food is good and really special, Drinks are nice too :-)
...which leads me to the cons...
- White the Food really is good there are two things that became a bit tiresome after a few days: They put chocolate in everything dish. Even it is only a subtle hint after some days it becomes too much and it would be nice to see a chocolate free dish on the menu. And if you stay a couple of days the choices on the menu become repetitive.
- The hotel is quite remote, there are no other restaurants or bars in Walking distance.
- the Rooms are Open Plan and so you are really close to nature. We had birds, geckos and a little frog in our room. We did not mind, as we liked them, but some people might.

We did some of the walks and tours they offer and enjoyed every one of them.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judy B, Head of Guest Relations at Boucan by Hotel Chocolat, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Some lovely comments here, thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

Visited this fantastic hotel/restaurant/shrine to chocolate on a day trip which included how to make chocolate.

What can we say but 'wow!' it is a wonderful location, the food for lunch was fantastic with every course having something to do with chocolate - which certainly seemed to work. One felt that we were on top of the world with the infinity views of the petit piton and rainforest from the restaurant. Also very impressed with the wine list which came from Berry Brothers of St James, London.

The visit started with a talk acquainting us with the concept of Hotel Chocolat and then the chocolate making was explained in detail by a delightful chef who regailed us with facts & figures interspersed with laughter while we pummelled away at the cocoa beans in the pestle and mortar - this actually took over an hour but we hardly noticed ! We left clutching our own hand made chocolat bar made with our own fair hands and a big smile on our faces.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judy B, Head of Guest Relations at Boucan by Hotel Chocolat, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Our Tree to Bar experience with lunch at Boucan has become very popular. Your description is extremely kind, thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Boucan by Hotel Chocolat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boucan by Hotel Chocolat

Address: Rabot Estate | P.O. Box 312, Soufriere, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Soufriere Quarter > Soufriere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Soufriere
#5 Luxury Hotel in Soufriere
#6 Family Hotel in Soufriere
#7 Romantic Hotel in Soufriere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Boucan by Hotel Chocolat 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover plantation chic - luxury, well-being & stunning natural beauty. Situated high in the hills near Soufriere, set in rainforest & cocoa groves with stunning views of the Piton mountains. A daily transfer is provided for guests to a stunning nearby beach by Hotel Sea Launch. Guests can enjoy trail walks around the cocoa estate, cacao inspired treatments in the spa, relaxation in Club Boucan with its private infinity pool & the exclusive cacao cuisine at Boucan Restaurant & Bar, free laundry service, room additions and Tree to Bean tour. Boucan by Hotel Chocolat offer 2 types of accommodation, both with 4 poster beds, preloaded iPods & docking stations, complimentary wireless, a mini-bar & open sky rainforest showers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, MrandMrsSmith, Venere, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Boucan by Hotel Chocolat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boucan By Hotel Chocolat St. Lucia/Soufriere

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boucan by Hotel Chocolat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.