We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get-away to St. Lucia” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Dauphine Estate

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save Saved
You added La Dauphine Estate to your Saves list
La Dauphine Estate
3.5 of 5 Inn   |   Etangs Road, Soufriere, St. Lucia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
50% off for 2 months only
Ranked #2 of 6 Soufriere B&B and Inns
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Get-away to St. Lucia”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2011

La Dauphine Estate is a remarkable place to stay in St. Lucia. The setting, while removed from the beaches, is quickly made up by its outstanding placement within a working plantation and away from hustle and bustle. All staff on the premise - especially Antonia the housekeeper and Charles the estate manager - are outstandingly hospitable. The beauty, value, and comfort of La Dauphine made for an outstanding vacation. I highly recommend it!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
9
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2011

My significant other and two other couples wanted to take a tropical vacation. We had all done the all-inclusive resort type vacation and wanted something different. We decided on La Dauphine Estate, which is a large plantation house on the Southern portion of the island in Soufriere. I definitely recommend renting a car for this house. The beaches, town, restaurants, springs, and pitons, are all very close, but you do not want to be walking on the Saint Lucia roads because they are very windy and hilly. That concerned me at first, but they work with Austin at Coconut Car Rental and made the process very easy. Austin picked us up directly from the airport, stopped at the grocery store with us, provided the local drivers permit, and even picked the car up at the airport at the end of our stay. Antonia was so friendly and helpful. She gave us the best advice of what to do each day. She helped us book a boat trip, a hike up the pitons, and her brother even has a cab company if you want to go out at night and not drive. She is also able to cook delicious meals! Charles is the Estate Manager and gave us a wonderful history of the house and plantation. It was so interesting learn more about the Plantation and the products they grow. This house is perfect for larger groups, but is still affordable if you have less people. The new pool is very beautiful and the wrap around porch and hammock are perfect for reading in the morning. There are some really great restaurants just minutes from the Estate. Don't miss Anse Chasenet Beach and La Jalousie Beach. They are absolutely amazing. All in all, Saint Lucia is a beautiful island and Soufriere was a perfect mix of beauty and adventure. There is so much to do whether you just want a relaxing trip, or would like to mix in more active activities too.

Room Tip: Call them directly
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2011

We stayed at La Dauphine for 3 nights. Antonia and Charles provided the warmest of welcomes. Make sure to have Antonia prepare a meal for you...delicious. The Estate is very clean and has a fantastic new pool. Very quiet and relaxing. It makes for a great base of operations for visiting the Pitons and other great attractions in the Soufriere area. A car would be a good idea (included with Adventure package). Be sure to bring the food you will require as it is difficult, but not impossible, to find stores close by. Bug spray a good idea as well. Don't miss this one.

Room Tip: Adventure package with Villa Beach. Great value!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2011

We stayed at Chateau Lafitte for four nights on the La Dauphine estate with our two children. It was a very unique experience to stay on a working cocoa plantation. The cottage was clean but rustic. The entire estate is yours to explore, including a short hiking trail and an explanation of how cocoa is grown. Antonia and Charles are very nice and friendly. We enjoyed our conversations with them and getting to know them. Antonia cooked us a lovely Creole meal that was tasty and much appreciated. We did not have a car but Anthony, Antonia's husband was our 'taxi' driver for the time of our stay and was very helpful. The new pool was lovely and enjoyable, as were all the lovely flowers. The estate is close to Ladera, Jalousie, Fond D'oux and Hotel Chocolat, where we had lovely meals.
Do take bug spray, we had many 'no see um' bites.
The bed was quite small but it was a very quiet night's sleep.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2011

We stayed in the former overseer's house for only one night before climbing the nearby Gros Piton the next morning, and found it peaceful and charming, a wonderful antidote to the polished tourist accommodations near Rodney Bay in the north of the island. This place is the real thing, and totally unaffected by the hurricane that hit St. Lucia in October 2010.

I loved the brightness of the house, with its shutters and cross ventilation, sleeping with only a fan under a mosquito net. It has the best equipped kitchen I've ever seen in a housekeeping cottage. I walked the trails, picking up grapefruits for our breakfast from the lushly-producing trees. The articulate and pleasant young man who was the night watchman very unassumingly answered my questions on how cocoa production worked, and which trees were which--much better than the packaged tour experiences.

As we were starting out early for our climb, we brought our own breakfast and didn't taste Antonia's cooking or use her to arrange events, but can tell you that she is a very welcoming person.

Come here if you want absolute quiet and privacy, like to be on your own and/or with your family in a comfortable self-contained house, and want to get a feel of life in St. Lucia before tourists and air conditioning. Don't come if polish and every modern convenience is important to you eg lighting not great to read in bed, and furnishings are not plantation-trendy. Charming and good value.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrboro, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2010

Antonia at La Dauphine went above and beyond to make our stay perfect. She came at the ideal time each morning to check on us and gave us daily guidance to make the nest of our stay.

I really loved all of the things to eat in the front and backyard there, plus the wrap-around porch are jalousie windows were lovely. The estate is an amazing getaway from TV, phones, and busyness, and yet it's a great location to reach the nearby Pitons, Sulpher Springs, great beaches, hiking, and restaurants.

I think it'll be even better when the pool is build in the next few months!

We left feeling refreshed and grateful. I recommend La Dauphine to anyone!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2009

We stayed here for 4 nights before our stay at Jade Mountain. It is a great value if you are going to be doing day trips. Antonia is wonderful! She is super nice and attentive. You can arrange for her to cook with advance notice. Her brother Junior provided us with great taxi service around the island since we didn't want to bother with renting a car. He was ALWAYS punctual! The main house is quite big and has a full kitchen. The decor is a little like grandma's house but comfortable and clean. It's basic but a good value for the money! There is not much to do around the plantation except relax and read on the veranda and you aren't walking distance to anything (the road is narrow and they advised us not to walk, especially at night) so you are a bit isolated.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Dauphine Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Dauphine Estate

Address: Etangs Road, Soufriere, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Soufriere Quarter > Soufriere
Amenities:
Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Soufriere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — La Dauphine Estate 3.5*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Dauphine Estate is a cocoa plantation dating back to the 18th century located in the mountains, four miles from the picturesque, town of Soufriere, in the shadow the Pitons, a World Heritage Site. La Dauphine Great House and Chateau Laffitte are two estate houses located in the heart of this 75-acre tropical plantation nestled in a lush green hillside surrounded by luxuriant gardens, fragrant with exotic flowers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Venere so you can book your La Dauphine Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Dauphine Estate Hotel
La Dauphine Estate St. Lucia/Soufriere

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Dauphine Estate, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.