We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely local food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Martha's Tables

Martha's Tables
Malgretoute | Jalousie Road, Soufriere, St. Lucia
758 459 7270
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 25 Restaurants in Soufriere
Cuisines: Caribbean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout
London
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Lovely local food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Only open for lunch, so worth calling ahead to check first. At the foot of petit piton, nearish to Stonefield resort. friendly service with a simple menu but fantastic local food. We ate here twice, with delicious chicken stew and fresh fish. Mains come with all local sides, dasheen, Christophene, rice etc and cost from 10 to 15 US. Recommended!!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    128
    40
    13
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“When can I go back?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

This was a great restaurant St. Lucia. Our taxi driver stopped us there when we said we wanted lunch and if we didn't need to be back for our boat charter I would have ordered a second plate. Fantastic food, wonderful setting. We told them we liked spicy food and we were not disappointed! I can't wait to return!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good little restaurant outside of Soufriere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Ate there at lunch - possibly the best lunchtime restaurant we ate at in Soufriere. Healthy, local food, carefully prepared.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Let me tell you about Martha”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Firstly, the food was amazing, fresh, and good sized portions. Excellent value for money and, without a doubt, the best meal I had during my stay. I had the king fish with creole sauce, served with rice & peas, salad, and vegetables. Also, don't forget to try some local cherry juice, it is delicious! My eating buddy had the chicken stew which was tender and delicious. You cannot miss this place if you're in the area - you must eat here!
They only serve lunch as Martha's doctor advised her to cut back on the hours. 12 hours on her feet every day were taking their toll. In any event, I am happy to report that she is in very good health, and a very young lady at 55 yrs of age. I half expected an old granny after reading some of the reviews LOL. She's gonna be around for a long time, and her daughter is also a great chef in the making. Enjoy!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armonk, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great local place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

My husband loved his creole fish, macaroni and cheese and sides. I thought it was all a little bland, but it was definitely a local place that showed you the true colors of the island.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Martha's Tables also viewed

Soufriere, Soufriere Quarter
Soufriere, Soufriere Quarter
 

Been to Martha's Tables? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Martha's Tables, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.