We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In much need of renovation” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mago Estate Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Soufriere
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mago Estate Hotel
Save
You added Mago Estate Hotel to your Saves list
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Upper Palmiste Road, Soufriere 00124, St. Lucia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 12 Hotels in Soufriere
London
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“In much need of renovation”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Although the location is stunning this place has seen much better days. We only stayed here for one night before joining friends in a house along the coast and on the whole did enjoy the experience - for one night!. The Mago offered an excellent price compared to everything except the Downtown hotel in the centre of town so you have to take that into account. The staff were also very friendly. We had the huge open 'Julius Ceasar' room above the bar area - an amazing experience as there are no screens or windows at all except for a net over the bed. The view was absolutely incredible looking directly over the town and the bay to the Pitons. One problem was that Friday is party night on the island and the noise coming up the hill was incredible for much of the night followed quickly by the cockerals till dawn! We ate fish for dinner at the hotel which was surprisingly good except that wine was a little random - a cold glass of red wine from an unknown bottle - thank heaven for Piton beer, which they had plenty of. Breakfast was good with eggs and lots of fruit.
One problem with the property is that it was badly damaged in the 2010 storms and still needs a lot of work. The steep paths are dangerously slippery after rain and we both fell badly leaving the property. The pool does not appear to be being maintained, beyond daily leaf removal and looked very unsanitary, so do not expect to swim. There are plans for a full refurb after which it could be amazing, but much more expensive! I hope they succeed.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    31
    18
    10
    24
See reviews for
6
77
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We stayed at the Mago Hotel in Soufriere for a weekend in February 2013.
The property is run down and deteriorating. The current owners do not appear to be interested in its upkeep.
The pool, shown on the website, was empty apparently due to cracking - there appeared no attempt to repair it. There was a wooden plank blocking access to it from the adjacent bar. There was no-one to run the bar, so dreams of sitting by the pool with a nice drink were dashed.
We had the Eden room at the bottom of the property - it should be noted that there are over 100 steps down to it from reception! There were minor maintenance issues in our room, including non-functioning ceiling fan, burnt out power adapter for the kettle.
The local staff were friendly and helpful, but limited by the state of the property and lack of owner support. There was a lack of attention to detail - there were no welcome drinks upon arrival, and nothing in the fridge which was switched off - not the sort of welcome expected of a reasonably expensive establishment.
We had an evening meal in the restaurant. The food was good. However, the wine had gone off due to being kept in a box in the open air bar.
The location of the hotel is great, with magnificent views out over the town and the Pitons.
However, the prices asked are far too high for the current standard of the facilities and what was provided. A shame.

Room Tip: The Eden rooms are the best but 100 steps down from reception!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

My wife and I chose St. Lucia as our honeymoon destination and Mago Estate as our place to celebrate it. Our initial booking was at Sandals Halcyon, but it was $3200 USD for ONE week (all-inclusive though lol) and when I saw how tiny that room was... NO DICE! We we looking for large American-style space and a naturally beautiful environment... Mago Estate delivered at a price that gained us an additional week in St. Lucia and still had cash to spare! In total, we spent two weeks on the estate and made daily excursions throughout the scenic places on the island… St. Lucia is more fun when you have the autonomy of a rental car (book through Drive-A-Matic).The property is located on a cliffside overlooking the town of Soufriere. In certain open-air rooms, there was a little local noise early in the morning, but we easily remediated that with earplugs... Not an issue for us at all since we were honeymooning anyway :P. In addition, we stayed in a glass-enclosed air-conditioned room (in the Eden suites) and heard NO NOISE from the town below. The picturesque view of the Petit Piton was "otherworldly" and more than made up for the numerous steps on the property taken to get to certain rooms. During meal time while scouting for local cuisine, we visited the neighboring luxury hotels that share the common view of the Pitons and they are all about the same... except for the SUPER expensive ~$1200/night Jade Mountain Resort. My wife is a true "girly girl", but she was able to quickly adapt to the rustic (but naturally beautiful) luxury accommodations at the Mago Estate. At check-in, were served with complimentary fresh squeezed "refreshments", which absolutely broke-the-ice with the staff and made us feel absolutely welcome to our St. Lucian residence. The staff was EXTREMELY attentive to all of our needs from private local tours (for free), daily room service inquiries, and even laundry service (huge savings)! The onsite chef is terrific and is the best chef in Soufriere and beyond (well worth the money). The property offers complimentary breakfast consisting of fresh bread, various fruit, coffee, tea, and fresh squeezed juice... VERY HEALTHY and a huge savings in the pocket! We ate everywhere on the island... One night we dined at Ladera's Desheene Restaurant and WASTED 375 ECD ($150 USD) on a meal that was NASTY and made our stomach hurt! Yes, there may be a few opportunities for improvement with the property, but bar none, this is the best value for Piton viewing and probably one of the best values on the island. For additional savings, book your stay DIRECTLY with Mago Estate’s front desk… Cheaper that way! There were sad faces when we loaded up for the airport to return to The United States (which was sweet :)... Our honeymoon was PERFECT in part due to the seductive environment of the Mago Estate property and the great staff!

Room Tip: Try the Eden Suites for air-conditioning and piece and quite (very nice) Try the Jr Carib Suites fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Top Contributor
308 reviews 308 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
141 helpful votes 141 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Mago is a very interesting property that could be so much more with a few little updates. The marketing is a bit misleading and dated. The hotel is on a hill overlooking Soufrière and has a earthy/green theme. The rooms are all in solid wood and apart from very few rooms, there is no air conditioning. Most of the rooms are open air (with screens). And here lies the problem. It gets very noisy in the rooms - music from Soufrière, local fauna and the wind that can whip in. The hotel should provide earplugs to its guests (FYI - bring some if you stay here to ensure a good night's sleep).

The food - I would recommend you look elsewhere than the hotel. The breakfast, which is included in the price, is very basic and you will need to supplement it - especially if you have a day packed with activities. Given the limited number of people enjoying dinner, I surmise the kitchen is pretty basic.

The staff is very pleasant and is willing to organize activities. The rooms are very clean.

Room Tip: Stay for a day or two - not your whole holiday. Ask for a local rate or last minute deal as the pub...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castries, Castries, St. Lucia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Although I only stayed for a weekend it was the best weekend I ever had. Two thumbs up; I would recommend this hotel any day. The staff are ever so friendly and willing to help you out in whatever way they can. I especially liked the fact the the pool was just outside my room. I am looking forward to my next trip. If you enjoy the outdoors/nature then Mago Estate Hotel is the place to be...see y'all soon ;)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

We stayed at the Mago Estate in our life pre-children, about 8 years ago, and in those days we specifically wanted peaceful boutiquey hotels, and this is what we found. We were collected at the airport, and it was quite a ride to get there, but this is the charm of St Lucia. The room we stayed in had incredible views, which I think is the case in most of the rooms. We showered and slept with views looking out onto the Pitons, over Soufriere "town", just high enough to be dreamily removed from it all. In the mornings we were woken to a chorus of dogs barking - so perhaps not ideal if you are a light sleeper, but at this was absolutely minor. The rooms were clean, spotless and comfortable. I would imagine that it would be perfect for a honeymoon. The staff were very helpful and polite, however we had to ask several times for condiments, which somehow could not all be brought at the same time ("salt and pepper and some chill sauce please" resulted in 4 separate trips to bring each item, and realise one had been forgotten). There were massages available in your room, and yoga and t'ai chi available - however given that I have been practicing yoga for 12 years, when I asked the yoga teacher what style he practised, he looked at me like I was from Mars, and bumbled, "a simple style of yoga", so I am guessing he really had little clue himself, besides being lovely all the same.

I'd definitely recommend staying at this hotel. Food was delicious, staff were great but could do with some polish, and the rooms and location were ideal. It was a short walk to the beach, but to be honest, the pool up in the hills looking over the bay was hard to top.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, FL
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

I was treated to a special night at the Mago for Mother's Day. My husband and I have stayed here previously, twice in 2003, and were married on their main pool deck in 2005, so we have special memories and knew what to expect. We stayed in a Carib suite with a kitchenette and sitting room. The views are tops, the meals were fabulous and the staff were as friendly as remembered. Waddy is the new manager and hopefully will have the financial backing from the owner to give the Mago the 'facelift' it needs. Desney is the bartender and has concocted a wonderful version of a local rum punch for the welcome drink. Friendly Jerma was our waitress for both dinner and breakfast and Budjoh (sp?) made the meals spectacular. I agree with the previous review that this property would be best marketed to active adults that are adventure travelers. Good Luck Waddy!

Room Tip: All rooms get noise from town - bring earplugs if you are a light sleeper. Negotiate the best rate p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MagoGM, General Manager at Mago Estate Hotel, responded to this review, May 17, 2012
Thank you so much for your good wishes. We really appreciate the support and compliments!! Great things are happening every day at Mago and it's very exciting. See our Facebook page by clicking on the link on our website and LIKE us. See you soon...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mago Estate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mago Estate Hotel

Address: Upper Palmiste Road, Soufriere 00124, St. Lucia
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Soufriere Quarter > Soufriere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 12 Hotels in Soufriere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mago Estate Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Also Known As:
Hotel Mago Estate
Mago Estate Soufrière
Mago Estate Hotel St. Lucia/Soufriere

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mago Estate Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.