We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just fine hotel - wouldn't pay full price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mago Estate Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Mago Estate Hotel to your Saves list
Mago Estate Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Upper Palmiste Road, Soufriere 00124, St. Lucia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Soufriere
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Just fine hotel - wouldn't pay full price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012

The Mago Hotel was the 3rd hotel we stayed at in St. Lucia.
Facts:
• We stayed in one of the “eco” rooms. Don’t be fooled that “eco” has anything to do with saving the environment besides the fact that they didn’t use any energy or materials to construct a fourth wall in your room. These rooms are totally open to the Soufriere air. Your privacy is somewhat protected though you may just be careful when having a shower. I didn’t mind because I was on vacation (what the hell!) but my partner was a little shy that maybe someone in the restaurant could see us.
• We paid $100USD/night for our room which is about half of the full price. Had we not known to barter, we would have paid a lot more. A family we met there were paying $250USD/night for a slightly larger room.
Pros:
• Its style and decor is lovely and very interesting. Lots of antiques and hand-carved statues/masks/etc. I really thought it was tastefully done.
• Rooms seemed cleaned although be prepared that you’ll find frogs and geckos in your bathroom – just part of being “eco”.
• The design of this hotel is truly spectacular. It photographs very well because it’s so unique and interesting. Be sure to take a walk around the property to see all the different walkways, rooms, pools, etc.
• Though it was loud, the beds were very comfortable.
• Maintenance guy was helpful with bags.
Cons:
• Like any Caribbean city... there are tons of roosters. Thousands it seems like. If you have one of the “eco” rooms you will 100% need ear plugs or else you’ll be up at 3 a.m. every morning. I’ve heard the rooms that are enclosed and nicely quiet.
• The restaurant was a little dirty. Its open concept, too so cats, ants, birds, etc. all have access to the plates, cups and silverware they keep out all day and night.
• Service at restaurant was below-par. They charge for every little thing. The continental breakfast is small and don’t bother asking for more toast because that’s another $3USD and it was a few days stale.
• Pools, though small weren’t well maintained.
• The damn room keys are intensely hard to use.
• The pipe in the shower backed-up a little bit one day – a stench that most people avoid when on vacation.
• You’ll need to rent a car if you’re staying here otherwise you’ll spend all your time walking up and down that hill. Whatever you do, don’t pay the atrocious cab fares. It’s a disservice to other travellers and gives those cabbies unrealistic expectations of how we value USD. A couple we met at the hotel paid $40 for a 5 minute cab ride up that hill. You’re so much better off renting a car in St. Lucia or taking the buses.
Overall:
If you’re staying in Soufriere, you’ll likely not be able to escape the roosters so this hotel is really no louder than any other in Soufriere. Don’t both with the restaurant go downtown instead,

Room Tip: Bring ear plugs and you'll enjoy your stay so much more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    31
    18
    10
    24
See reviews for
6
77
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012

We booked the Mago for the view and rooms looked an adventure being based in the forest on the hillside, despite some of the negative reviews on here. I found an excellent reduction on the Carib suites so was happy to try the hotel.

Pro's:
Huge room with beautiful decorations. Amazing view of Petit Piton from around the hotel (though our deck was blocked by trees that needed trimming). Very comfy bed. Excellent food.

Cons:
You cannot leave out the noise. Close to Soufriere and on Friday/Saturday night the local bar music was very loud until ~3am. Every night there are dogs and cockerills calling ALL NIGHT LONG. If you're a light sleeper this is not for you. Also, as the rooms and restaurant are open (no seales windows etc), you'll have ants and bugs verywhere. We didn't care but can believe some guests do. Restaurant is very expensive but long walk to another option. Climbing the steps to the rooms with luggage was hard work, and the steps can be treacherous after rain (it rained often for us), slipperly and not really enough lighting.

Overall we enjoyed our stay, some of the staff were wonderful and helpful. The view made it for me. But not sure I'll go back, that noise overnight was not nice. Would have been disappointed with facilities if we'd paid full price.

Final point, for some reason the carib suites use EU plug sockets. The island is UK and some resorts are USA style sockets, so the EU ones caught us out.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marble Falls, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2012

1-10-2012
We just stayed 7 nights at Mago Estates. I'm putting this review in the Excellent section as a WARNING. Mago Estates is misrepresented online. It is not 3 star. It is not a relaxing place to visit. You will have between 50 and 100 steps to go up and down every time you want to eat, go to the front desk, go to the bar or even catch a taxi. Mago is mismanaged, maybe under-financed, and needs a serious face lift. The comments under the Terrible category are very accurate. I hope someone will buy the place and make it the great property that it could be.

Room Tip: Air-condition is a must if humidity or bugs bother you!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2011

Pros:
The staff is the friendliest on the Island! They make you feel like family! If you have issues with your stay, they are all over it! The views, location to town, beauty of the property are fantastic! We stayed in one of the rooms with A/C and it was very spacious. The porch was awesome! The continental breakfast was great. Dinner is a bit pricy but good as well.
Cons:
The place needs some money reinvested. Ceiling fan burned out, tiles missing, pool old etc. It's not a new property. But in my opinion, that's a part of the charm there! The property showed that it was full on Tripadvisor. I had to call them to see if they had rooms when we wanted to stay there. That might be a cash issue because it wasn't full? The location is on the edge of town up a hill. (Lots of stairs) The steps and driveway leaving the property to town are slimy. The place needs a pressure washing real bad. If you are older, it is very dangerous and needs addressing in a big way!
Tip: No 110v American outlets. You will need a converter or get one from the resort.

Room Tip: If you want to have A/C, make sure you get the right room! It rains there quite a bit. So its not ju...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2011

Loved this hotel, especially as it is not a typical all inclusive resort where the hotel and food is molded to fit the 'typical American tourist'. It is for those who wish to experience something different. This hotel is amazing, with a charm I probably will not see anywhere else.

On arrival we were given a room upgrade, the Carib Suite Zum Zum, which was absolutely gorgeous with breathtaking views of the Petit Piton & Soufriere town, and a semi private pool right outside our room. We dined in the hotel restaurant from day 1 and we could not get enough of the food, especially the soups. (It's a little on the pricey side, but is worth every cent). We met the owner a few times, and even though he may be a bit on the eccentric side, he was rather pleasant and great conversationalist. The staff was also very pleasant and helpful. We absolutely loved Jerma, and Najumah who helped us with arranging for transport to other parts of the island.

Downside:
1. The loud music that comes from the town especially on the weekend. (It didn't really bother us that much, probably because we were prepared for it - after reading previous reviews).
2. You have to be relatively fit to climb the steep inclines leading to the hotel (unless you plan to drive everywhere) and the stairs to get from your room to the restaurant or to the front desk.

All in all I would recommend this hotel to anyone who is looking to experience something different and for those who will not get upset over a few lizards sneaking into your room, or occasional noise resonating from below, or even over the extra effort needed to move about.

p.s. Also wanted to say thank you once again to the owner and the staff for the best birthday. We got a complimentary, absolutely delicious dinner and a bottle of wine + a little birthday cake baked just for the occasion. :)

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2011

Love the young lady at the desk. Najumar, Eddie. The staff was very friendly. Najumar was the best she help us to get around the area by foot. told us about the little buses and sites to see. She gave uss a very nice room in your place the view was spectacular of the pitons. Love the out door feel. Eddie was a real gentelman. Najumar is a real asset to your hotel.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken_HLTI, General Manager at Mago Estate Hotel, responded to this review, September 2, 2011
Greetings from Sunny St. Lucia.

Thank you so much for your kind review, and for your special comments about Najumar. It is most gratifying to see a member of our team being so appreciated.

We are all so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us here at Mago Estate on the beautiful island of St. Lucia, and we hope that you visit us again one day soon.

Ken Watson.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelbouch
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2011

We already fell in love with the hotel while we were planning our vacation, just by seeing the photos on their website. And the photos hadn't promised to much: It is a lovely hotel built right on a hill and within the nature, with a beautiful sight on the pitons, Soufriere and the carribean sea.
If you love nature and just want to chill out, the Mago Estate Hotel is the right place for you.

We stayed there for 8 nights, from the 21st to the 29th of May 2011. We had one of the "New Carib a/c Suites" (Inriri) with a private pool and an amazing view of the pitons and the blue sea.
Every morning we got a delicous breakfast and in the evening we had always a delicious dinner. The taste of the fresh fruit, especially of the mango, which grows around the hotel, is uncomparable to the taste of those we get in our supermarkets here in Luxemburg.

During our breakfast, we were sometimes visited by one of the local birds. (But don't matter, they are to shy to annoy you.) We enjoyed that visit. :)
We also saw cute lizzards and heard planty of birds singing the hole day.
In the evening, the little treefrogs (max. 3-4 cm long) began to "sing" and some of them sat around at the open-space restaurant. They were so cute!

During our 8-days-stay we were served at the restaurant all in all by three lovely women, who let us feel very comfortable from the first day to the last. Also the men who kept clean the hotel and the pools every day, were very kind. On our arrival day, the housekeeper had decorated our room so lovely :flowers on the bed and on everywhere in the bathroom.
You have to know that you can hear the treefrogs all over the night, but that's an experience we don't regret. The only disadvantage is that the people in Soufriere make party the hole weekend, so you could perhaps be disturbed a little bit by the noise coming up from the town. But that's the St. Lucian way of life! ;)


At least a big big thank for that great and unforgetable stay to the hole staff, espacially to Vanessa, Shanna, Jerma and Ken Watson.

Room Tip: Every room has the same beautiful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken_HLTI, General Manager at Mago Estate Hotel, responded to this review, July 3, 2011
Greetings from all your friends in St. Lucia.

Thank you so much for your fantastic review of Mago Estate, my team and I are all delighted that you had such a wonderful time here in Soufriere on the beautiful island of St. Lucia.

It is especially nice that you really appreciated what Mago has to offer, and truly embraced our culture and wildlife. The birds, lizards & tree frogs are all still here and waiting for you to return and visit us again one day.

Ken Watson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mago Estate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mago Estate Hotel

Address: Upper Palmiste Road, Soufriere 00124, St. Lucia
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Soufriere Quarter > Soufriere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Soufriere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mago Estate Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Mago Estate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Mago Estate
Mago Estate Soufrière
Mago Estate Hotel St. Lucia/Soufriere

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mago Estate Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.