We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful pool” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Haut Plantation

Save Saved
You added La Haut Plantation to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
La Haut Plantation
2.5 of 5 Guest house   |   West Coast Road, Soufriere, St. Lucia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 Soufriere B&B and Inns
langnau am Albis
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Wonderful pool”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

This pool is worth a stay in this hotel. The best pool view I have ever seen. The hotel is nice and the kitchen good. The view is breath-taking from nearly everywhere on the property.
On the homepage they write about a free shuttle to the village, this is true but the bus goes only twice a day and if you miss them you have to book a car at the reception. We booked such a driver to the village and had to pay 10USD for the 3minute drive together with other people. That was a little disappointing and not very customer friendly.

Room Tip: The rooms are old and you can hear your neighbour very good, maybe upstairs it would be better than...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Haut P, Front Office at La Haut Plantation, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear Caviezel

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at La Haut Resort.

We are ecstatic that you enjoyed the facilities especially the infinity pool which is one of our best features on property.

We provide a complimentary shuttle service at scheduled times during the day which is mentioned to guests upon checking into their rooms. However we deeply apologize for the inconvenience that you experienced.

Once again thank you and we look forward to welcoming you to La Haut Resort sometime in the near future.

Regards,
Cassandra Joseph
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    169
    76
    17
    10
    6
See reviews for
31
167
15
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Amriswil, Switzerland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We were allocated the room above the reception, which is in a separate building. This room is rather small and there is no stove in the „kitchenette“, which was awkward as we had bought groceries and wanted to cook. In addition, there is no table of any kind in the room and on the narrow veranda – they seem to expect you to put the tea cup on the floor. When we complained about these things, a receptionist offered us another room which was unoccupied for 2 days at an additional cost of US$ 115. When the manager heard that we refused this, she gave us the room at the same rate as the other one. It was room no 7, which is the cottage west of the main building. It is two-storey accommodation with a big lounge and adequately equipped kitchen (with stove) on the ground floor and a bedroom and bathroom in the first. There was no table of any mentionable size, but a low table (our knees did not fit under it, apparently a baggage rest), was put on the balcony. So we had to carry crockery and food up the narrow iron spiral stairs. There would be plenty of space for a table and chairs in the corner of the lounge next to the kitchen – I hope the hosts will read this and improve the situation. After two days we moved to room no 3 on the first floor of the main building (it seems that there had been a cancellation). This room was spacious with a big balcony and chairs and a sizeable round table, but no stove. All rooms are old and cheaply renovated, though generally cosy and pleasant. The rooms as such are not worth the rates charged – you are mainly paying for the view, which is admittedly stunning. We used the free shuttly service to Soufriere and back on two days. On the way back the driver was late 10 minutes on the first and 20 minutes on the second day. Not very pleasant when you are tired after a hike in the hot afternoon!We do not want to put off anyone from La Haut Resort, but do not recommend the room above the reception. If you decide to stay at La Haut, be prepared for the odd inconvenience. However, the staff seems to be willing to give remedy to complaints if you insist. Written by a Swiss guest, 66 of age.

Room Tip: Eastern or center room in first floor of main building. Room above the reception is rather small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Haut P, Front Office at La Haut Plantation, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Dear Heinrich,

Thank you for your comments following your recent stay at La Haut Resort!

We thank you for your good recommendation about improving the Country Room and shuttle service.

If you should consider a return visit, we should be happy to upgrade you to a better room.

Regards,
La Haut Team Member
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drayton Valley, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

La Haut was a fantastic experience! Went for the Christmas holidays, the staff and plantation owners were very welcoming and giving, even inviting all the guests to a dinner party in the main house. We had the Cashew 1 room, hummingbirds every morning and unforgettable views. The 3 cashew rooms are at mid-level of the plantation property, downhill walk to the infinity pool and up hill to the restaurant and reception. Food was great and breakfast was my favourite. Everyone was friendly and helpful. Water taxi with Daniel is exceptional and arranged by front desk, sunset cruise was amazing. My only complaint is the bug bites, despite the essential bed netting, but overall it is La Haut that provides a buzz of romance with the love bug bite. A return visit is much anticipated.

Room Tip: Cashew rooms have the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Haut P, Front Office at La Haut Plantation, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear Darren G,

Thank you for your lovely and positive comments about your recent stay at La Haut Resort!

We are delighted that you had the chance to experience our annual / traditional Christmas dinner at the owner’s house. Our Cashew rooms are the most requested because like you mentioned they offer the most unforgettable views on property.

We are also ecstatic that you enjoyed the food especially breakfast. Our culinary team strives on offering healthy dishes to entice the palate. I will be sure to pass on your glowing comments to our team and Daniel for positively impacting your stay.

We sincerely apologize that you got bitten by mosquitoes although we do provide insecticide in addition to the mosquito netting in the rooms.

Once again thank you for wonderful comments and we look forward to hosting you again at our beautiful Plantation Paradise!

Regards,
La Haut Team Member
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We stayed one night at La Haut, would recommend it and go back there ourselves. The view of the Pitons is stunning and certainly equals some of the more expensive hotels and resorts on this side of Saint Lucia. Our room was spacious and clean. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We ate in the restaurant which was very good - the sugar cane shrimp and mahi mahi were delicious. There are two pools for guests, one at the hotel and the other which is an infinity pool at the owner's house which you can use and is definitely worth the walk down. If you are staying here a few days, a car would be useful as you are a little way out of Soufriere and taxis are expensive. Also, Saint Lucia in general is not great for sign posts so prepare to get lost but don't be afraid to ask for help. We were only ever met with helpful advice.

Room Tip: Make an effort to use the infinity pool, it's worth the walk. Hire a car to get out and about...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Haut P, Front Office at La Haut Plantation, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you for your compliments and feedback regarding your recent stay at La Haut Resort!

I am glad that you enjoyed the facilities especially the infinity pool. I will also pass on your compliments to our culinary team.

Once again thank you and we look forward to hosting you at our beautiful Plantation Paradise sometime in the near future.

Happy New Year.

Regards,
La Haut Team Member
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toulouse, France
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Arriving at La Haut in the dark you have no idea what you are going to see when you wake up and look out of the window. The view of the two Pitons - stunning. Nearly all of the rooms have the view which is also great from the restaurant and the two swimming pools. The hotel rooms are spread out over the plantation, so in some you feel like you are in a private residence rather than a hotel.

Room Tip: Room 6 is gets the road noise and is above reception, room 9 does not have the view, rooms 4, 4A and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lahaut_Plantation, Front Office at La Haut Plantation, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Hello Andrew,

Thank you for taking time out of your busy schedule to provide us with your feedback about your recent stay here with us at La Haut Plantation!

We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay especially waking up to the stunning view of the Pitons.

Once again thank you for your comments and we look forward to hosting you sometime in the not too distant future.

Regards,
La Haut Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

It rained our entire 3 days in Soufriere but this was still our favourite hotel on St Lucia. We were given an amazing room, very large with a similarly large terrace overlooking the sea and Pitons. Quite breathtaking. On the day we arrived small flowers had been placed on the bed and all the surfaces in the room which was very sweet. It was all a lot more than we had expected.

We ate dinner and breakfast in the hotel restaurant and both were excellent. The restaurant also had a lovely position. The staff were all friendly and went out of their way to assist us (including with a flat tyre). There are no other restaurants within walking distance but as the hotel restaurant was so good this didn't bother us. It is also a little bit out of Soufriere.

The dogs didn't bother us and were quiet at night, however we had a very noisy cockerel between about 3 and 4am

Room Tip: The large suite down by the owner's house was great and handy for the inifinity pool (although o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Stunning location, charming staff quiet and tranquil lots to explore in the grounds amazing views from the pools. I was stranded in St Lucia and cant imagine a better place to be stranded in! The guests were varied and all enjoyed the beauty to be found at this small plantation.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Haut Plantation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Haut Plantation

Address: West Coast Road, Soufriere, St. Lucia
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Soufriere Quarter > Soufriere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Soufriere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Haut Plantation 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Haut or Le Haut literally means "the height" in Patois, a French dialect that is commonly spoken by St. Lucians. La Haut sits on a hill overlooking Soufriere, one of the oldest towns in St Lucia.Part of a 52-acre former coconut and cocoa estate, the main Guest House possesses a unique history. Nearly 100 years old, the main guesthouse was originally a cocoa house used for fermenting and drying cocoa beans hand-picked on the estate. In 1995, the building was converted and refurbished into a 6-room guesthouse. The nearby cottage was a former copra house where coconuts were once processed.Although the rich aroma of cocoa beans no longer wafts through the air, at La Haut you can enjoy the perfume-scented, tropical fauna or the salty breeze that blows off the Caribbean Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your La Haut Plantation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Haut Plantation Hotel
La Haut Plantation St. Lucia/Soufriere

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Haut Plantation, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.